We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely beds & a great breakfast!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aviemore
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ravenscraig Guest House
Ranked #5 of 29 Aviemore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“lovely beds & a great breakfast!”
Reviewed 24 December 2011

had a lovely but very brief stay just before Christmas. The rooms were lovely with super comfy beds. And the breakfast was excellent. Having a lazy teenager with us who wouldn't get out of bed was no problem - bacon baps to go were produced! Can't recommend too highly. At £80 a night though it is not cheap.

Room Tip: the chalet rooms were spacious - big enough for a family of four. I believe there are adjoining room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drjillb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    53
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
78
111
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 26 November 2011

We initially stayed here for one night with the intention of walking around the local lochs and forests and finding somewhere else further on for the next night but we were so impressed we checked in for another night.
Ravenscraig provide clean, spacious and high quality rooms and an excellent breakfast. Very good value. I also found it very welcoming and they provided lots of good advice on where to visit and eat.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CallumNJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

nice B&B on main road into Avimore ... 5 mins walk from centre of the vilage/town -Good base for hiking etc in the area. Friendly owner and nice house ..we were actually in the seperate rooms out the back of the house, which suited us fine but I would have preferred if they had told us this when we booked ..some peope may have preference to stay in main house. Great breakfast and choice. It wasn't cheapest B&B (£130 for double room) and while it was v. nice, I didn;t think that was great value in mid week October ..surely off season- although Avimore was reasonably busy.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry2Orkney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineHighlands, Owner at Ravenscraig Guest House, responded to this review, 20 November 2011
Thank you for your review and I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Ravenscraig. October is a busy time here in Aviemore as it is the school half term holidays - however, despite being busy, we would never charge £130 for a one night stay in a double room - please get in contact with me and we will be happy to rectify any problem.
info@aviemoreonline.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

The wife and I stayed at Ravenscraig for 6 nights between 28th Oct and 3rd Nov 2011. We used it as a base for touring the Highlands and walking in the areas around Aviemore.

I have stayed in lots of B&B's and this was without doubt the best. Good food, good rooms, great staff and good value.

We paid £60 per night per room. I thought this was outstanding value. The room was fabulously clean. The breakfast was great quality with several different options and the 'full scottish' would satisfy any appetite. Ravenscraig is situated in a good location only a 5 minute walk from the village centre. The staff were all great and very friendly. You won't be disappointed

If we visit Aviemore again we will definately stay at the Ravenscraig.

Room Tip: We had one of the mini-lodges (room no.7) at the rear of the guest house and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TONY_T_500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We kind of took over the whole B&B earlier this year as there were 16 of us. I stayed in the main house, but we had the rooms round the back as well in the annex. The staff were very welcoming. Very relaxed atmosphere. I think we used a whole tree in the real log fire! We were allowed to use the sitting room with the open fire both nights. The guys were keen on the whisky, so the owner supplied us with glasses and ice bucket. Nothing was too much trouble.
Breakfast was great - lots of options as well as the usual full breakfast.
Rooms in main house - nice soft duvets, pretty throws and cushions, proper coffee, hot water, very clean, white towels. Can't comment on rooms in annex - didn't go into them. House is on the main road so easy distance to centre of Aviemore.
Would definately recommend this B&B and will be returning is ever back in Aviemore. Great value too.
PS - thanks for making us (and our bikes) so welcome.!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBRchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2011

This is such a nice place to stay. Was made to feel very welcome by all the staff. Stayed in one of the chalets at the back of the house, which is spacious and warm. As everyone else has commented on, the breakfast is superb. Plenty of choices served up in a very friendly atmosphere. Already looking forward to going back next year. Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 11, a triple room at the back of the guest house, A warm spacious room. Definitely re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelBainEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Ravenscraig Guest House is a great place to stay in beautiful Aviemore.

Ravenscraig has a very friendly staff, delicious breakfast and very clean and beautiful rooms. Also the living room with the fireplace is so great! :)

We recommend warmly and will be back!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariHML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
0.5 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
736 reviews
6.1 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
235 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cairngorm Guest House
Cairngorm Guest House
#13 of 29 in Aviemore
276 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Park Guest House
The Park Guest House
#9 of 29 in Aviemore
259 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ardlogie Guest House
Ardlogie Guest House
#1 of 29 in Aviemore
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravenscraig Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenscraig Guest House

Property: Ravenscraig Guest House
Address: 141 Grampian Road, Aviemore PH22 1RP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Aviemore
Hotel Class:4 star — Ravenscraig Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Ravenscraig Guest House Hotel Aviemore
Ravenscraig Guest House Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing