We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot praise highly enough”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aviemore
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ravenscraig Guest House
Ranked #6 of 29 Aviemore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cannot praise highly enough”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

This is a brilliant little B&B run by such lovely people. I'm looking forward to returning for the breakfasts and the great shower! - just what you need before and after skiing! Great location- within walking distance of loads of great pubs and restaurants in Aviemore. A very comfortable stay indeed.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    55
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
82
115
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Stayed here for two nights in one of the chalet twin rooms with my brother. Room very comfortable, clean and warm with possibly the best shower I have ever had! Owner Richard very helpful and hospitable. Breakfast delicious and I loved that they had both Marmite and Vegemite on offer. Lots of nice little touches like the toiletries in the bathroom, fluffy towels and quality coffee in the rooms. Recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrillsoThrillso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We stayed at the Ravenscraig for two nights whilst skiing in feb 2013. What a find!
Warmly welcomed by Jonathan, who was taking a break from making bread (which immediately impressed us and had us looking forward to breakfast). He gave us some restaurant ideas, including The Cairngorm hotel (very good, btw).
My sister had a single room which was a good size and nicely put together. We have two kids and were in rooms 14/15 (I think) which are 2 bedrooms in their own part of the house each with a bath/shower room. Great size. Very clean. Wi-fi. Bedrooms were well looked after each day.
The living room with its wood-burning fire is lovely - lots of books, some games (and our bottle of wine for the evening). Jill popped her head round the door to say hello and see if we needed anything.
Breakfast did not disappoint - juice, good range of cereals, lots of local produce for the fantastic fry up, real (slightly salted) porridge (being southern softies we prefer sweet porridge). I meant to ask if the eggs came from their own chickens.
We will be back - can't see us having as much fun or attention at some other local and huge establishments.
Well done guys!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpstewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in one of the chalets - it was warm enough for my wife and she likes warm! - clean / tidy and well equipped (quiet location was a benefit - the chalets are very well insulated for both heat and sound) - home made bread in the morning with a good breakfast - what more can you want? Location is good and within walking distance of the main high street. Great value. thanks

Room Tip: We stayed in the chalet which is behind the main house - with parking area - there are 5 chalets in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We spent 3 very comfortable nights here in November. Chalet was lovely and warm, too warm sometimes! breakfasts kept you going all morning. Super hosts, very helpful and friendly. pointed out offers in the local paper. we'll be back

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantown-on-Spey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

My partner and I stayed for two nights early in January. Jill and Jonathan were excellent hosts who both had good knowledge of the local area to share with us. The accommodation (we had one of the chalets to the rear of the B&B) was very comfortable, warm and spacious supported by an excellent breakfast. The lounge had a lovely open fire with games available. Ravenscraig is within easy walking distance of local restaurants and pubs (we appreciated not being right in the middle of Aviemore).

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Booked 5 rooms for 8 adults and 4 children.Price was good.
The owners were welcoming and friendly.
We all loved the clean fully equiped rooms,our beds were comfy.The lounge with log fire was cosy and has a lovely games table equipped with several games ( scrabble,draughts etc).
The breakfast choice was excellent as was the standard of the food.
If we stay in Aviemore again we will book the Ravenscraig.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
6.1 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
251 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
4.6 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ardlogie Guest House
Ardlogie Guest House
#1 of 29 in Aviemore
496 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Park Guest House
The Park Guest House
#9 of 29 in Aviemore
263 reviews
0.5 mi away
Carn Mhor Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravenscraig Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenscraig Guest House

Property: Ravenscraig Guest House
Address: 141 Grampian Road, Aviemore PH22 1RP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Aviemore
Hotel Class:4 star — Ravenscraig Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Ravenscraig Guest House Hotel Aviemore
Ravenscraig Guest House Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing