We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Self catering apartment”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aviemore
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ravenscraig Guest House
Ranked #7 of 29 Aviemore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Self catering apartment”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We called to book 2 rooms at Ravenscraig Guest House but Jill said that it was booked being bank holiday weekend. So, we rented their self catering apartment 5 minutes from there at 24 Corbett Place.

It was extremely nice. Jill was sweet enough to arrange everything nicely for both the rooms and also kept bread butter jam and juice for us as she knew we may go there late and after a long journey.

We had a question about hot water in the spare bathroom. We had called them and Jonathan was helpful. But, I think the hot water would get used up after one person taking bath there. Hence, that may need some fixing. The attached bath in the bedroom had it's own geyser and so worked properly.

Great space. Great views from the window and very relaxing apartment. Vey convenient to visit Cairngorm Mountains. We also did the distillery tour while we stayed there. In fact, Jonathan gave us good suggestions - we went to Glenfarclas distillery after talking to him.

Will see if I can add pictures later once we download from the camera.

Perfect for 4 adults in a family. It is kid friendly although we didn't have kids with us. Really hope we get to stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nkt2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    54
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
80
111
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Strachur, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Called to book a double room for one night 24th May 2014 extremely rude man said that he would not take booking for one night... surely one night is better than an empty room!! At this late stage surely the owner would have preferred the room being booked for one night!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineHighlands, Owner at Ravenscraig Guest House, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Many thanks for your concern about our business and we are sorry if you felt it rude of us not to take your booking for a one night stay. However, I would like to put your mind at rest by letting you know that we weren't actually left with any empty rooms on the very busy Bank Holiday weekend. I do hope that you found somewhere suitable to stay and enjoyed your visit to our beautiful area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Just returned from a great trip to Aviemore and a fab stay at Ravenscraig! The people are absolutely wonderful here ( the owner's lovely mum and dad looked after us) and the rooms in the chalets are really perfect. Clean, gorgeous beds, new shower and sparkling bathroom; big flat screen tv. Nothing is too much trouble. Oh and btw, Suemus in the Tourist Info Centre is a fount of all knowledge and a Gaelic speaker to boot. Had great sleeps in the chalets (single and double bed for two of us) My husband needed some medicine heating in their microwave and they did it no problem. Excellent breakfast; lovely salmon and two friendly hens! Parking at the back fine, too. Just one thing; if there could be a at least one bath to use in the house. Nice after a long day's walking!! Go on the Strathspey Railway; to Lochs Morlich and an Eilein and up CairnGorm on the funicular. Ballindalloch Castle not far either! Rothermurchie cafe a treat, too.

Room Tip: Go for the chalets!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MollyMargulies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gifford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

This was our third visit to Aviemore in the last 8 months. On both previous occasions we had stayed at the Hilton Coylumbridge and while not perfect, it provided what we wanted. We would have stayed there again, however, they wanted £215 per night for diner, B & B and we wanted a room only or B&B rate as we were joining family in the evening who were staying in a cottage. The Hilton would not offer a room only rate so we decided to try somewhere else. The reviews for the Ravenscraig were good so we decided to give it a try. We were not disappointed.

We made a last minute decision to add an extra night to our stay and they were able to accomodate us in the same room we had booked. On arrival we were shown around and taken to our room. It was in the chalet block at the rear and had a double and single bed. It was well decorated, very warm and very clean. The owner gave us some advice as to where we could get a quick bite to eat as it was getting late and we didn't ant our 6 year old being too late. The excellent Ski-ing Doo is a 5 minute walk away so we headed there.

On getting in to bed I noticed that a spring box had failed and when pressure was put on the edge it stuck out of the side. It didn't make it unbearable but it wasn't very comfortable. As it was late I decided to leave it to morning.

At breakfast I mentioned the problem with the mattress and was promised it would be looked at. Breakfast itself was good. A small choice of cereal and fruit and a selection of hot items (cooked to order) were available. The hot items were well cooked and tasty and the service very friendly.

When we arrived back that evening I checked the bed and was delighted to see the mattress had been replaced.

Judging this purely as a B&B it is difficult to give anything other than 5 out of 5. It offers good value and we will certainly consider it again for any other trips to Aviemore.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank DiscoGaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Bute
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in the chalet. Lovely , friendly staff. Breakfasts tasty , well presented and a great choice. The chalet had a db bed. Single bed ,and ensuite facilities , good accommodation . It also had a seating area under the window of the chalet. Lovely to sit out with a glass of wine. I would recommend this BB for cost , value and comfort

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janmax99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed here in September 2013 as a one night stop cycling the length of the UK. We had had a terrible day in freezing rain cycling over the Cairngorms and arrived pretty unhappy. The owner had a place for our bikes and made the hugely generous offer of washing and drying our clothes overnight which was invaluable to us. The breakfast was great and the we slept fantastically in the bed. We would love to stay again in the future.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Robo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Spacious, warm, comfortable room, with a great shower room en-suite, a heated lobby area to dry off your ski gear, great breakfasts, and friendly hosts and staff. Couldn't ask for anything more. Delighted.
We stayed here for 3 nights as part of a Cairngorms ski break, and really enjoyed our stay. We had one of the chalet rooms at the back, which was quiet, extremely well insulated, and had a great heated lobby where you could put all your ski gear to dry off after coming in from the hill. The room was really spacious, with a double and single bed, and had a large shower room en-suite with a very effective shower.
The breakfast choice was extensive, a good selection of porridge, cereals etc and a choice of several well prepared and presented hot options ranging from toasted muffins with bacon and poached eggs; scrambled eggs with smoked salmon, and full Scottish. Lots of locally sourced ingredients and well presented by friendly and helpful staff. Hosts Jill and Jonathan gave lots of advice for local activities and places to go for apres ski and evening meals. ( See review of Old Bridge Inn - fantastic food and atmosphere)
A perfect B & B experience.

Room Tip: Chalet rooms at the back are warm, spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weenieScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
6.1 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
242 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
4.6 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ardlogie Guest House
Ardlogie Guest House
#1 of 29 in Aviemore
485 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Park Guest House
The Park Guest House
#9 of 29 in Aviemore
262 reviews
0.6 mi away
Carn Mhor Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravenscraig Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenscraig Guest House

Property: Ravenscraig Guest House
Address: 141 Grampian Road, Aviemore PH22 1RP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Aviemore
Hotel Class:4 star — Ravenscraig Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Ravenscraig Guest House Hotel Aviemore
Ravenscraig Guest House Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing