We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst night's stay I've ever had”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aviemore
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ravenscraig Guest House
Ranked #4 of 28 Aviemore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night of our honeymoon.

Good points:
The breakfast was decent
The actual look, layout and cleanliness of the room was fine
It is a central location
They provide one dressing gown in a room for two - half way there!

The bits I'd like to forget:
The room was so hot, it was unbearable. We had the radiator off but the hot pipes running all the way through the room was something we were stuck with - not great for June! We had to have the window open all night long - not great on a busy main road!
We weren't the only guests to think this, the heat of the rooms were mentioned by most at breakfast.
Needless to say we did not sleep well (unusual for us!)
The service was poor (except for the breakfast staff)
You got spoken to and ushered like a child.
When checking out, we didn't even get asked how our stay was, we were just asked for our £80 so we weren't given the chance to give this feedback face to face and to be fair, we just wanted to get out of there!

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Futureharg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineHighlands, Owner at Ravenscraig Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

I am so sorry that you had such a bad experience staying at the Ravenscraig. Unfortunately we were away for a few days at the time of your stay but only wish we had been there so we could have handled the situation differently. As I'm sure you can see from past reviewers - we pride ourselves in trying to make everyone welcome and ensuring they have an enjoyable stay.
We have taken onboard your comment about the room, only two of our double rooms are close to the road and we have already looked at installing airconditioning systems in them.
If you ever get the chance to visit this beautiful area again I hope you will give us another chance - and let us prove that we do listen and we do care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 320 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

The service and breakfast were great. We had a double room on the street side and it was louder than preferred since we had to keep the window open to cool the room. The bed was quite comfortable and the bathroom was very modern. Thicker curtains on the windows would be nice to block the early morning sunrise (430am). The location is in easy walking distance to pubs and shops in town.

Room Tip: Rooms on street side have traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Candice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We drove down from the Black Isle getting there much earlier than expected. We were greeted very warmly and they put us into a room that was available right away. It was a lovely, clean and large room with all the necessary bits and bobs. The Guest House is in a good location on the main street within easy walking distance of the town centre. There is plenty of parking at the back which gave us a sense of security for one cannot always completely empty the car. There was a large and somewhat boisterous crowd for breakfast, all very friendly and cheerful. The breakfast was really anything you wanted it to be. It seems they had most everything on offer. We settled for the simple stuff, loads of good coffee and some toast. We thought the pricing very reasonable and the entire staff a pleasure to meet. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJ&ERtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Good location near the centre of Aviemore and easy to find on the road from Inverness. Our chalet room at the rear was fantastic - comfortable, spacious, well-appointed with a lovely large en-suite shower room, private entrance with parking just outside. Friendly and helpful owners; good breakfast menu with lots of choice; welcoming residents' lounge; all very clean and well-presented

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

On arrival for our two night stay we were greeted with a smile and shown to a spacious twin room in a chalet with double and single beds. Everything thought of, from excellent tea and coffee to flannels and dressing gowns. Room was disabled friendly and also came with a shower stool if required. The room was quiet with no noise from next door and Los an area to dry out our soaking coats! Breakfast was delicious and served with a smile. I definitely would stay again. Good value for money and staff couldn't be more helpful. Well done!

Room Tip: Go on the guesthouse website and pick your own room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dramanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We were a party of 18, 13 of whom stayed at the Ravenscraig, We were on a walking holiday, trekking the hills around Aviemore. We were made very welcome at the Ravenscraig. It is situated a 10mins walk from the railway station at the quieter end of the town. The staff were friendly and helpful and coped well when we all turned up for breakfast at the same time. The rooms are comfortable and modern and the shower rooms spacious. Perhaps some rooms were lacking storage space for clothes but this wasn't much of a problem. The breakfasts were cooked to order with quality ingredients and served hot. Thank you Ravenscraig for helping to make our stay in Aviemore memorable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelatheorganiser6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Had the chalet out the back and what a lovely experience, chickens roaming, the views of the hills. Able to park outside the chalet. Friendly owners gave good tips for eating and walking in the area. Breakfast was a good start to our day served by cheerful staff. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank ljay100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
0.5 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
827 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
6.1 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ardlogie Guest House
Ardlogie Guest House
#1 of 28 in Aviemore
538 reviews
0 mi away
Cairngorm Guest House
Cairngorm Guest House
#12 of 28 in Aviemore
298 reviews
6 mi away
Carrmoor Guest House
Carrmoor Guest House
#1 of 8 in Carrbridge
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravenscraig Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenscraig Guest House

Address: 141 Grampian Road, Aviemore PH22 1RP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Aviemore
Hotel Class:4 star — Ravenscraig Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IN THE HEART OF THE CAIRNGORM NATIONAL PARK Ravenscraig Guest House has 14 bedrooms providing 4 star bed and breakfast accommodation in Aviemore. It is ideally situated on the main street just a short stroll from the town centre with its numerous shops, bars and restaurants. - Comfortable ensuite rooms - Free wireless internet access - Short stroll from all the amenitiesFree - Off-road parking - Wonderful breakfast menu - Friendly staff and personal service ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ravenscraig Guest House Hotel Aviemore
Ravenscraig Guest House Aviemore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing