We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent Holiday House.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sunbury

Kitchen with Dishwasher, Washing Machine and Large Farmhouse Table
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen with Dishwasher, Washing Machine and Large Farmhouse Table
Master bedroom with TV  and DVD player, large wardobe, looks on to Cairngorms Family Bathroom with Electric Shower
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Kitchen with Dishwasher, Washing Machine and Large Farmhouse Table
Master bedroom with TV  and DVD player, large wardobe, looks on to Cairngorms
Family Bathroom with Electric Shower
Family Bathroom top floor overlooking the Cairngorms
Downstairs Bathroom
Great lounge, big LG tv with Freesat, marble fireplace for some class
one of the two bedrooms upstairs , two twin beds with are very comfy
Zanussi Wahing machine, John Lewis Dishwasher, Great view to the Cairngorms
Smeg Oven and Microwave
Top landing looking into bedroom 3
Two brilliant leather sofas
Loch Morlich - 20 minutes from Sunbury.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rover6Gla...
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Holiday House.”
Reviewed 25 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Sunbury is a spacious and very comfortable 3 bedroom house which is an excellent base for exploring Aviemore and the Spey Valley area.

The kitchen is fully equipped with all of the mod cons, there is wi-fi internet and there is a smart television in the living room which meant that we could watch films on our Netflix account on several evenings.

The beds are very comfortable - I suffer from a back problem so I was glad to enjoy a restful sleep.

The bedding and the towels that were provided are very good. The towels are certainly a bonus as not all holiday lets will provide towels.

There are four garden chairs for sitting in the back garden.

The house is a 3 minutes walk from a local Co-op store which was ideal for buying food, drinks and household items.

Adjacent to the Co-op there is fish & chip shop and pizza restaurant/take away - both of which we visited and the food was very good.

The town centre is a 15 minutes walk for additional shops, restaurants, etc.

I would recommend Macdui's Bar & Restaurant (adjacent to the train station) for excellent food and service.

We (2 adults and 2 teenagers) have holidayed throughout the UK over the past 8 years and we all agreed that this was the best holiday rental in which we have stayed.

All things being well we will return next year as there is so much to do in this area.

Paul, the owner, is to be complimented for an excellent holiday house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very comfortable.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2016
Thanks Joe im glad it was enjoyable for you and yours I hope you come back again Kind regards Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adeline P
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday”
Reviewed 17 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is our 6 visit to sunbury ,just love sunbury villa
Property tip top condition ,home from home
Plenty to do shopping swimming ,walking cycling
Grandchildren loved it

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2016
Hi Adeline
Really pleased you and the family want to spend your holiday time at Sunbury
Look forward to seeing you next year
Kind regards Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alinab181...
Pittenweem, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great short stay”
Reviewed 28 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We enjoyed our stay at Sunbury. It was a very well equipped home, especially for small children, and we were only a stone's throw away from the Speyside Way, a lovely walk towards the Boat of Garden. Highly recommend it!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2016
Thanks for coming Alina I'm glad you had a great time
I hope you can come again some day
Kind Rgds Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie S
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“modern and conveniently located”
Reviewed 2 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We had a very enjoyable long weekend at Sunbury. The property had everything we needed, was comfortable and clean. Good location for all Aviemore has to offer.

We would definitely rent again.

If looking to improve, I would suggest black out curtains or blinds so you can keep your kids in their beds a bit longer on these sunny mornings!

Many thanks

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2016
Hi Melanie
Thanks for staying with us and i hope you got some cycling done as well
You picked a great weekend to come up and at this time of year it really doesn't get dark for too long I always think it's amazing the difference between Aviemore and the central belt for daylight hours at this time I hope you come back again Kind regards Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nichola C
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lucky Us”
Reviewed 11 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

I decided last minute that we needed a post Christmas break. I looked for accommodation between 2/1/16 & 5/1/16. Most self catering accommodation was booked for the holidays departing on the 4th Jan. Lucky for us this accommodation was available and Paul accepted our booking very quickly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Availability, proximity to Aviemore, views, warmth
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2016
Hi Nicola,
I'm glad you had a great time. Hopefully see you later on this year again
Rgds Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frances S
Rosemount
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great family getaway with superb views”
Reviewed 1 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Just spent a short break at Sunbury and could not fault a thing.Wonderful house with everything you need for a short break or even a couple of weeks.Very clean,laundry included and you can even do the washing for coming home if you wish.Scenery fantastic and plenty car parking for 2 cars.All in all a wonderful time was had by U.S. And would def.recommend this to anyone visiting Aviemore.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2015
Hi Frances. Thankyou for your review I do hope you and the family come back next year. Kind regards Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adeline P
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for a week at sunbury this is our 5th visit we return every year ,house is always tip top condition it's like home from home , love the peace and quiet lovely garden for our grandchildren to play safe ,great shops only 5 min away lots to do swimming tennis long walks ,can't wait for our return visit next year which is already booked

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house is just perfect for our needs
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing