We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely Fantastic”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ardlogie Bothy

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Winter
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
hoopsHarw...
Harwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic”
Reviewed 5 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Location - Fantastic : just behind the railway station, 5 mins walk away and therefore also 5 mins walk away from the bus stop and the centre of Aviemore.

Facilities - Fantastic : cozy, warm, everything needed for a self catering stay. Great touch on arrival with the gift hamper (milk, tea, coffee, sugar, Processco, pate, biscuits, oatcakes, beers, etc etc..).

Owners - Fantastic : friendly, helpful (wifi signal inside the Bothy was not good during our stay because of the weather and of course the superb insulation - I needed to do some work during my trip but really easy to sit in the guest house foyer to work when I needed to).

Overall - yes, you guessed it..... Fantastic!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2017
Many thanks for your kind comments and for the lovely card. It was lovely to meet you both and we're delighted that you both enjoyed your stay at the Bothy over the Festive period. We think the outside Wi-Fi extender had been knocked off kilter during the bad weather which impacted the signal but we've hopefully resolved this now. We hope to see you both again soon!

Haste Ye Back!

Kirsty & Kevin
Ardlogie Self Catering
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lauraglas...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cosy getaway”
Reviewed 22 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

I can't recommend this place enough. Location is perfect and very close to the main street. We arrived to prosecco, chocolates, pate and crackers which was a lovely touch. The bothy is spacious and very clean and warm. After a long day of driving, we visited the local butchers on the main road and bought a delicious steak pie, and had a night in the bothy enjoying the complimentary prosecco. The self catering facilities were great, with oil, tea, coffee, milk and all basics available. There are board games and dvds in the bothy so we saved some money and had a cosy night in. The shower is fine, very soft and comfortable bed. I really can't fault this place. There is also a guest book which gives ideas of things to do in the area. We will definitely be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2017
Many thanks for your kind comments and taking the time to post a review. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Bothy & hope to see you again!

Haste Ye Back!

Kirsty & Kevin
Ardlogie Self Catering
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodie M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely and cozy!”
Reviewed 8 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Was a really nice few days stay! Bothy was very clean and cozy! Had everything we could have needed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2017
Many thanks for your kind comments and taking the time to post a review. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Bothy & hope to see you again!

Haste Ye Back!

Kirsty & Kevin
Ardlogie Self Catering
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 22 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Had a fantastic stay at the Ardlogie bothy. We were greeted by a lovely bottle of white wine and some fresh bread upon arrival. The lodge was very clean and tidy and we felt very comfortable from the start. The lodge is such a warm and homely place to stay when visiting Aviemore and I would highly recommend it to anyone. The hot tub was a very welcome addition as well!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2016
Many thanks for your kind comments and taking the time to post a review. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay in the wee Bothy and your trip to Aviemore and sorry we didn't get a chance to meet you both.

We hope that you come and visit us again if you're in the area.

Best Wishes
Kirsty & Kevin
Ardlogie Self Catering
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra S
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 16 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely location near the Strathspey Railway and Aviemore shops, restaurants and cafes. This Bothy is very cute and cosy for one or two people and has everything equipment wise you need for a week long stay or less. It is decorated in a cosy Scottish way with a homely feel. Maybe being picky but we didn't find the bed very comfortable (dipped in the middle) and the shower cubicle space not easy to get into (quite narrow) but we had a good week seeing family and it sufficed. We were greeted with a gift of cheese, milk, wine and bread which was very nice indeed. We didn't try the hot tub but appreciated the fluffy white dressing gowns. Kirsty the owner was very welcoming.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: location
Liked least: bed and shower
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2016
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review and for your comments. We're really glad you enjoyed your stay in the Bothy and we'll be sure to look into your comments regarding the bed as although the mattress was replaced recently there maybe an issue with the actual bed frame that needs addressing. Thanks again, Best Wishes Kirsty & Kevin Ardlogie Self Catering
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael T
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mr & Mrs”
Reviewed 28 July 2016 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Probably not what you would think was a great honeymoon destination, but having just tied the knot and three days later finding out my pregnant bride was not allowed to fly, meaning the trip to Austria was a no no..and my new brides request of mountains, snow and a log cabin!; this far outweighed our expectations.

The owners were absolutely fantastic and completely lovely and welcoming. The cabin was an absolute delight..and far more romantic than just a ski chalet as I suspect it is normally used for.

As luck would have it there was snow on the ground, and although the owners had no control over the weather, it could not have been more perfect for shutting ourselves away for a few nights to enjoy our mini-moon (as we called it!)..

We will definitely be returning with our baby boy, as we promised

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2016
Thanks so much for the lovely review. We're absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Bothy and it was lovely to meet you both. We hope to see you again soon! Haste Ye Back! Best Wishes Kirsty & Kevin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathfan
Wiesbaden
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cute and comfy accommodation in the center of Aviemore”
Reviewed 3 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We have spent 4 lovely days at Ardlogie Bothy in Aviemore. The accommodation is very well located as it is only a short walk from the town center on a quiet road. The owners are very friendly and made us feel at home. They even left for us some wine, pâté and oatcakes as a welcome present. The Bothy is nicely decorated and has everything you would need. It is a nice and warm place to come to in the evening after some great walks. Aviemore has a good amount of walks and distractions to offer. Highly recommended!

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2016
Thanks so much for the lovely review. We're absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Bothy and it was lovely to meet you both. We hope to see you again soon!
Haste Ye Back!
Best Wishes
Kirsty & Kevin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing