We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yum yum”

Ski-Ing Doo Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 60 Restaurants in Aviemore
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“yum yum”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

at first glance the skiing do restaurant looks quiet, however if you actually put your head in the door, you will find a very cosy eating place (there is also seating downstairs which we didnt realise), decorated with traditional ski type stuff, postcards and even cartoon strips.
The food is delicious and plentiful, and staff friendly. My favourite thing was the creamy sauce, unfortunately I couldnt get enough of dipping my chips in it so had no room for dessert. Oh well we will have to visit again....

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sazzer2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    179
    69
    35
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just awesome!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I went there twice and it was perfect both times! Staff was great and friendly, food was awesome, funny looking things all around to keep your eyes busy while waiting for the food (which was super fast!).

Both times we came in when there were only one other couple and left when the place was full to every single corner!

Even the staff got busy, they did not seem to stress about it and smiled and did not rush with us. I could do almost about anything to get the chocolate fudge cake with ice cream one more time..

If we visit Aviemore again, this is a place were we will definetly go again! Don't mind that it looks a bit old outside, inside is what matters! ;)

Ps. Try the funny different mustards they bring to table, it was part of the adventure to go a bit crazy with tasting. ;)
Pps. Greetings to the nice dark haired young woman working there, it was nice that you chatted with us for a minute even you must have been busy. It was nice to feel like we were guests at someones home rather than just restaurant customers. ;)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Milla P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penallt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lively and good value”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Recommended to us by locals. Good hearty, meaty meals, but doesn't look quite a vegetarian's venue, however, two of our party had a good mushroom rissotto. service good and friendly.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Allen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not in restaurant only in downstairs bar”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Had already eaten by the time we got here but kinda wished we had room for more. The plates looked very full and portion size had not been scrimped on, all plates returning to kitchen were empty!!!

The barmaid/barmen were all very nice and friendly (thanks for charging my phone at no extra cost)

Loved the choice of absolute vodka! I accepted my own challenge to try them all!!

Good atmosphere, will look forward to a return visit!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Toenailrust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtonmore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good no-nonsense food, with friendly service”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We ate here on a Tuesday evening at about 6pm and were among the only people there, so it was very quiet. Having said that, it's easy to imagine that if it were full of people it would have a great atmosphere, with lots of things to look at and a warm wood interior. It seems to be geared towards skiers and other outdoors types. Being quiet, the service was quick and attentive, as well as very friendly. The food was ok - not brilliant, but then this place is not trying to do Haut-cuisine... The chili burger comes in either 6oz or 12oz (I had the 6oz), and was acceptably good, although I don't think the burger was home made (I could be wrong about this). My dining companion had the vegetarian risotto, which she described as flavourful and filling. Both dishes were of good portion sizes. Overall Ski-ing Doo provided good, uncomplicated dining, at a cost of around £24 (including tip) for two main courses and 2 soft drinks.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robertxc98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ski-Ing Doo Restaurant also viewed

Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
 
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
 
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
 

Been to Ski-Ing Doo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing