We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colld food - standards dropped off a cliff”

Ski-Ing Doo Restaurant
Ranked #21 of 67 Restaurants in Aviemore
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 4 November 2018

Visited this steak restaurant for the last 30 years when in aviemore. It always served really good steak and chips. Was somewhat concerned when I saw the for sale advert on Rightmove website. Well if they are selling this as a thriving business, the buyer better beware. They now serve cold steak, cold chips and cold onion rings. We both ordered sirloin steak and chips that both come with salad and onion rings. When it arrived they had put the chips on a stone cold plate then sat the steak on top of them. Do they really think that is what you are meant to do. What resulted was soggy chips. We instantly lifted the steak off and moved the soggy chips to the side. Cutting into the steak led to a mouthful of cold rare steak - yuk. Tried the soggy chips next and they were cold and then the onion rings - cold. The salad was surprisingly luke warm!! We sent it back and what returned was medium to well done streaks with some of them eaten, yes they had just put them back on to cook some more. To make things worse it wasn’t mine that I got back, but was it my husbands or one someone else had sent back. It was just terrible. Is it really that difficult to cook a steak, fry some pre-bought frozen chips and serve them right away. This restaurant changed hands in 2014 and the steak quality lowered to more fatty meats (that presumably cost less), it has now got worse with numerous people commenting on cold food. Will not be returning unless ithe current owners do manage to sell and get some staff who can cook and serve hot good quality food.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Isabelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (747)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 747 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2018

I have visited aviemore for 16 years and tried the ski-ing doo each year. The Doo now has new management and a new chef.
What a difference!
Visited twice this week and steak cooked perfectly each time :D
The Doo of old is BACK...yippeeee
II can recommend giving the Doo another go.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mrs-haggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2018

The place has lots of atmosphere, skiing items adorn walls/ceiling and feels like a small alpine venue.

Food was good, menu choice good for adults and kids. Central location with a basement level bar.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2018 via mobile

This used to be a good restaurant and it still has a bit of atmosphere but the food is pretty awful. Garlic mushrooms were served barely warm on soggy bread. Steak was almost too tough to cut and it and the accompanying fries were lukewarm. Salad was very nice and service was quick but the quality of food very poor.

Date of visit: October 2018
2  Thank dumelarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018

We booked a table earlier on today and were welcomed by a lovely gentleman who took care of our booking with no problems. When we arrived back at dinner time we were seated by the same gentleman who was very friendly. Soon a young girl arrived and took our order promptly- Off to a great start. However 15 minutes had passed and no drinks arrived. It was only when our food arrived that we informed the girl we still didn't have our drinks. Halfway through our dinner our drinks arrived with an apology and a smile. The main courses were delicious homemade comfort food and went down a treat. However desserts were average as the sundaes were made up of 70% cream. Sticky toffee arrived lukewarm. Would return to give another go.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ben A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ski-Ing Doo Restaurant also viewed

Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
 
Boat of Garten, Aviemore
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
 
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
Aviemore, Badenoch and Strathspey
 

Been to Ski-Ing Doo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing