We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious high tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Priory Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Priory Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Beauly
Certificate of Excellence
Nairn
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delicious high tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

About 35 of us came here after an outing down Loch Ness for high tea and I can honestly say it was the ideal ending to a pleasant day out. There was a choice of four cooked items all of which looked very tempting. I personally had macaroni cheese which was delicious. We had toast, and tea or coffee and then huge home baked scones, a selection of cakes and to crown it all wonder ful meringues which were popular with everyone.There was more than enough to eat and I heard nothing but good reports from people in the party. The staff were very efficient, helpful and pleasant. Most enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FeeNairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    95
    30
    16
    6
See reviews for
59
133
15
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

Having been forced to stay at the Conan bridge hotel (AVOID AT ALL COSTS) for three nights I was delighted to stay at The Priory for my fourth, the room was fantastic, the food was amazing (try the salmon and cray fish tagliatelle, perfection on a plate) the staff are extremely helpful and friendly, the barman even bought me a drink with his own cash, great place to stay after an extremely hard days graft.

Back up next week :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluevanman1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmw535i, Manager at Priory Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Thank you for your comments.
Glad you enjoyed your stay and hopefully will see you in the future.

Blair Sinclair
Manager
Priory Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

This is a delightful hotel with many traditional touches, such as a fine Scottish high tea, but has also been modernised with excellent rooms. Breakfast was very good and the hotel was centrally situated in the charming small town of Beauly. Our only complaint came about because we were part of a group that included two older people with physical disabilities. In spite of being an up market hotel, there was no night porter, so the front door was locked and the lift switched off at 11.00 pm We were attending an anniversary party on the Black Isle and so got back shortly after 11.00 pm. We had been given a key, so got in by the back door, past a very rowdy group in the Bistro Bar, so hotel staff were on the premises. Our unfortunate friends had to struggle up the stairs with sticks and crutches on their own, with some help from us, as the lift was switched off. This is not acceptable in the 21st century, particularly as the back bar was still busy and open.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajcdundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmw535i, Manager at Priory Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thank you for your review.

I personally had discussed the late night process with the guests and offered to wait for them to return, realising that they had some walking difficulty and they said they would be OK.

If as stated you were back before we closed, then the lift would still have been accessible from the bar area you described walking through, the lift does not get turned off.

I am sorry if there was some confusion over the situation I thought I had described the situation
clearly with the guests.

Apologies for any inconvenience, hopefully it will not deter you from visiting us again.

Blair Sinclair
Manager
Priory Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellon
Level Contributor
107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

My wife, a friend and I have been enjoying this hotel's accommodation for 15 or more years while attending the local event of the weekend, The Highland Cross. Other members of the family join us on the Saturday evening, while we arrive on the Friday. For some reason the hotel was unable to accomodate us this year and left us to our own devices to find a local bed and breakfast for the Friday. We were very lucky to find one. Despite the feeling of being dumped, we joined our family on the Saturday and enjoyed and excellent dinner. The hotel's recent upgrading of the use of space has been very successful and the decor is very pleasant. Despite being busy, our party enjoyed excellent service. The only slight disappointment was the chef's fish special wasn't quite up to standard. But this is a very good hotel with acceptable accommodation and would gladly recommend it.

Room Tip: Double check on booking and dont' take anything for granted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donhawthorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmw535i, Manager at Priory Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Very sorry that we could not get you accommodated Don.

Glad to see you are all booked up for next year.

Hopefully all back to normal.

Blair
Priory Hotel
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orkney
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay and were very pleased with it. Lovely room with balcony, superb shower, food lovely and very reasonably priced . Only small complaint were the waitresses who were very young and not very experienced. But apart from that we will definately return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmw535i, Manager at Priory Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
Thank you for your positive review, glad you enjoyed your stay.
We do have some new young seasonal staff who are being trained who will hopefully be more experienced when you next visit.

Thank You

Blair Sinclair
Manager
Priory Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilbarchan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

I visit the Beauly area from time to time due to family connections and have always stayed at the Priory Hotel. Beauly is a lovely town, charming to look at and with good shops. The hotel has been constant over the years, providing comfortable modern rooms and a good situation. The food this time was both excellent and good value. The dining room was busy both nights which tells you everything you need to know.
Will I stay again? Of course I will.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front could be noisy at week ends
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peterferguson546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmw535i, Manager at Priory Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thank you very much for your review.

Really glad you enjoyed your stay, hopefully will see you back in the near future.

Blair Sinclair
Priory Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

A warm welcome as we checked in and were shown to our rooms, clean comfortable and a great shower. Dining Room bustles and so do the staff, great food and good selection of dishes, breakfast is first class. Great coffee and beautiful orange yolked eggs.
My second visit and I'll be back again given the opportunity.

Scottishlandscapes

Room Tip: If your a light sleeper choose room at the back of the hotel. But the highland air and the good food...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snappertorridon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmw535i, Manager at Priory Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments, they are much appreciated
Hopefully will see you back at The Priory again

Blair Sinclair
Manager
Priory Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beauly
0.1 mi away
Lovat Arms Hotel
Lovat Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beauly
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
7.4 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
5.9 mi away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#6 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
8.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
12.1 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Priory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Priory Hotel

Property: Priory Hotel
Address: Priory Hotel High Street, Beauly IV4 7BX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Beauly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Beauly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Priory Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run hotel located in the busy village of Beauly. 12 miles west of Inverness The Priory is ideally located for touring the surrounding areas and close enough to take advantage of the facilities in the city of Inverness. Excellent transport links are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Priory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Priory Hotel Beauly, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing