We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of Priory Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Priory Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Beauly
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Very comfortable bed. nice clean and beautifully decorated room. The bathroom had a wonderful walk in shower. We didn't have it booked before we went. We arrived about 4 o'clock and asked if they had a room available. They did and appologised it was at the back and quite a walk, It was worth it, we even had a small balcony. We had a lovely meal in the bistro, and a good breakfast. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. It looks a lovely old building outside but is nice and modern inside.

Room Tip: We had room 37. The balcony looked down on outside benches in a little courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosaline55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmw535i, Manager at Priory Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you for your positive review, glad you enjoyed your stay.

Look forward to seeing you back at The Priory.

Blair Sinclair
Priory Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    96
    30
    17
    6
See reviews for
59
135
17
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Menstrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Isabel and I found the Priory, thankfully, after trying hotels in Dingwall and Conon Bridge which were uninviting, to put it mildly. Efficient reception service, a large, clean, comfortable room, friendly bar with good food and drinks,good breakfast, newspapers available. Nice clean bathroom as well. A lovely hotel in a nice town.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmw535i, Manager at Priory Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Thank you for your positive review, really glad you enjoyed your stay.

Thanks for taking the time to post.

Blair Sinclair
Manager
Priory Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Molton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

room was adequate could not havewindows open due to the loud noise of the air conditioning on the other end of the hotel if your room is above the dot comm bar dont expect to get to sleep until four in the morning at the weekend .food and service very poor ,eg cold porrage for breakfast ,glad to leave .

Room Tip: don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fielding r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmw535i, Manager at Priory Hotel, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Thank you for your review - I am really sorry you did not enjoy your stay.
We have taken on board the negative aspects you describe and we will be ensuring that action will be taken to rectify.

My apologies

Blair Sinclair
Manager
Priory Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
130 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We got a less than pleasant welcome, more like a tick box; Eating with us? Out late?
Our host walked us to our room with out a word. Other than that, this is a very very nice hotel, we were in room 38 which was huge, and the toilet/shower/bathroom is humungous and most comfortable.
We were coming back late so were furnished with a key. The breakfast next morning was nothing like the usual greasy Scots fair, high quality products, well cooked and politely served. I thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for room 38!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yermanonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmw535i, Manager at Priory Hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for your positive review.
Really sorry about the welcome - not our norm as we always strive to be as friendly as possible.

Glad it did not detract from your overall impression of the Hotel.

Hopefully will see you back at The Priory in the future.

Blair Sinclair
Priory Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
highlands
Level Contributor
59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

After a day at Inverness then heading for a long journey up north, we often stop at Beauly and have a meal in the Priory hotel. It is always delicious - Freshly cooked and large portions. We used to have the high tea, but had to stop as there is so much to eat! The cakes are fantastic, all home made, and the meringues!!!!!!!!!!!!!amazing! Very nice attentive staff, and all the meals are very good value. Would certainly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank comfortlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmw535i, Manager at Priory Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you for your review regarding our meals. Really glad you enjoyed them and have obviously in the past.

It is always good to get positive feedback.

Than You

Blair Sinclair

Priory Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed here for the night. Our room was dated, not our style, but clean and functional, so no complaints. All staff encountered were pleasant, professional and helpful in their manner and service. We would stay here again as it is conveniently located to where we wanted to be and the standard is about right for what we paid, which you can't always be certain of these days.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angus_Plum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmw535i, Manager at Priory Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you for your comments - I am glad you felt most aspects were up to scratch.

We are currently working our way through the rooms - moving them all forward so hopefully if you return - you will not feel they are dated.

Look forward to seeing you again

Blair Sinclair
Priory Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

The hotel is fine, service is great, location is brilliant but cleanliness on the room we stayed did not satisfied my expectations as tiles needs cleaning. Towels are not changed even if I put in the floor and came back they just hang it again with marks on it. Bed sheets and pillow cases not changed as well for the 3 days we spent there. Wifi is always disconnected every minute so not worth connecting with it. It's not ideal too if you wanted to stay in bed late than 8am as the busy road is your alarm. We only like the foods they serve although cooked breakfast was floating in oil. Haha. Count the sausages and bacons they serve too in case menu is not been followed as we experience some shortage during busy
hours in the morning. Will we stay again? We read your reviews in the future..!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chester T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmw535i, Manager at Priory Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Thank you for your review, I have read your comments and appreciate there were some shortcomings. It is good to get this type of feedback and be assured these issues will be
brought to the attention of the relevant departments. Unfortunately due to our location there is not a lot we can do about the traffic noise, although guests can request rear facing rooms, where this is less of an issue.

Than You again

Blair Sinclair
Manager
Priory Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beauly
0.1 mi away
Lovat Arms Hotel
Lovat Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beauly
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
7.4 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
5.9 mi away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#6 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
8.6 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
12.0 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Priory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Priory Hotel

Property: Priory Hotel
Address: Priory Hotel High Street, Beauly IV4 7BX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Beauly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Beauly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Priory Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run hotel located in the busy village of Beauly. 12 miles west of Inverness The Priory is ideally located for touring the surrounding areas and close enough to take advantage of the facilities in the city of Inverness. Excellent transport links are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Priory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Priory Hotel Beauly, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing