We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but is full price value for money”
Review of Priory Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Priory Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Beauly
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good but is full price value for money”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Only enjoy submitting positive reviews, this is a positive review but not to overboard. I suppose the main issue is value for money, at almost £100 for a double, the room simply did not match many others at a lesser price. The room was a bit dated, however main complaint is the all to familiar black mould around the bath and shower area. (why do hotels not see this and do something about it-it can be cleaned and looks disgusting and is unhygienic) Carpets are also a bit dirty. Notwithstanding these issues the room was fairly big and had a very comfortable bed. Due to the noise and music from the bar, it is difficult to sleep before 13 00, but accept that this is part of village life and did not really bother us as we were in late anyway but may be an issue with others.Staff are as previous reviews lovely and helpful. Breakfast is in a nice dining room and is hot excellent and varied. Good location for Belladrum Glen Affric, Glenfarrar-all beautiful. Thursday evening is great with dancers pipers etc entertaining right outside the hotel, somehow managing while the car park and the great chip shop are fully functioning. All in all a good hotel which we enjoyed, just some minor cleaning and upgrading would justify the price, although regardless of price there should be no black mould in shower areas. Overall an enjoyable hotel in a good location, nothing is to much trouble for the staff which is the key asset for any hotel, would recommend, I understand that there is better deals available us understandably there were no saver deals etc during Belladrum and the local show.

Room Tip: Probably a room not above the public bar would be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmw535i, Manager at Priory Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for your review - I am sorry all was not up yo our usual standard in your room, be assured these issues will be dealt with and we thank you for making the comments.

Regarding the tariff at certain times of the year we do offer deals on our accommodation, unfortunately this period is the busiest of the season so discounts were not available.

Overall you enjoyed your stay so hopefully we will see you back in the future and maybe I can offer you a special deal

Blair Sinclair
Priory Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    108
    31
    17
    7
See reviews for
66
146
17
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

When we arrived late, after travelling 12 hours from the SE England, the recptionist not only said she'd hav picked us up from the station had she known we weren't driving (and indeed, dropped us back there on our departure day at 7.15am), but also had a hot meal rustled up for us despite it being 'after-hours'. Our room was spacious and immaculately clean but was a twin, not the double we'd asked for. But we were switched to a double next day with no fuss, and that room was also excellent. We had a smaller, though perfectly adequate bathroom, but benfited from a balcony too. The hotel was good value though it's a shame there is no discount for staying 3 or 4 nights, and the food seemed very expensive, but then that was so throughout the region. All the staff were friendly and helpful and really seemed to care.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LM2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmw535i, Manager at Priory Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for your review - your comments are much appreciated

We are happy you enjoyed the stay and hospitality.

Blair Sinclair
Priory Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and were very pleased with it in every way. Our room was a reasonable size and well equipped. The staff were the most friendly and helpful that I have met for several years. There was a good choice of meals (high-tea, pizza, and evening dinner menu) and the quality, presentation, service, and price were most acceptable.

We travel between northern England and northern Scotland most years and usually break our journey with an overnight stop in Inverness. This time we wanted 2 nights so that we could take a trip on the railway to Kyle of Lochalsh (which is considered one of the most scenic routes in the UK). Rather than use the station in Inverness we thought it would be better (and it proved to be so) to catch the train in Beauly - no congestion getting to the station and FREE parking!

The hotel is in the centre of a small (and interesting) town not far off the main A9 north-south route and quite close to Inverness. Access is easy. We will certainly use this hotel again when we need to break our journey in the Inverness area.

The train journey from Beauly to Kyle is, indeed, well worth the effort. For the record, Beauly station has the shortest platform of any station in the UK and you must be at the correct door to disembark the train on your return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmw535i, Manager at Priory Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for your positive review we are glad you enjoyed The Priory and your visit to Beauly.

Hopefully will see you back in the future

Blair Sinclair
Manager
Priory Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellon
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I reviewed this last year under the title 'Dumped' because we failed to secure our normal booking. But I also explained the excellent service received at the family meal which we enjoyed in the evening. Well this year provided us with the best accommodation they have to offer and we thoroughly enjoyed the well-fitted, spacious, and comfortable bedrooms. Our usual post Highland-Cross family and friends meal took place yet again and the food, wine and service were excellent. This included Saturday early morning 6.00am breakfast for those of us taking part in the Highland Cross and boarding the race bus at 6.45am. Staff were wearing attractive uniforms and they could not have been more helpful. Fiona on the desk this year looked after us well. Coffees and drinks ere later enjoyed accompanied by one of the hotel fun games that had to do with spotting the spies and a hilarious time was had by all. Well done, to Blair, the hotel Manager.

Room Tip: Keep clear of roof top ventilators or heating sounds, at back of the building, but even if near thos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donhawthorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmw535i, Manager at Priory Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Hi Don

Glad everything was OK this year and we have booked for 2015.

Best Regards

Blair
Priory
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I just wish to tell guests what room to avoid because if you have a problem during the nights there is no one on duty---I did phone a number & woke up a member of staff but she didn't offer to come down to the hotel --the room we had it is also in the roof area so it get VERY HOT & only one window opens .Bed linen could be updated though towels were ok. Owner was very polite next morning & would did not charge the full rate for the nights stay---

Room Tip: Avoid room 30 as there is a pillar in the bathroom that one can knock oneself on (god alone knows wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank lesleya887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmw535i, Manager at Priory Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your review

Really sorry all was not up to standard.
I will be looking into what happened when you phoned for assistance as there is someone on the premises at all times - seems odd.

Regarding the pillar in the bathroom - unfortunately it was an architectual error when building these new rooms - and we cannot get rid of it.

Blair Sinclair
Priory Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

First visit here for dinner and pleasantly surprised. A very extensive menu with plenty of choice which was good for the four of us. Lots of haggis incorporated, a monumental mixed grill and superb stir fry. Tables are nicely placed so that diners are not on top of each other and I loved the art work. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmw535i, Manager at Priory Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank You for review

Glad you enjoyed your visit and liked the varied choice and surroundings

Hopefully will see you back in the future.

Blair Sinclair
Priory Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My wife and I had lunch in the Priory recently, having often eaten other meals there in the past. We had deep fried plaice. It was simply delicious. The batter was perfect and the fish itself miles ahead of haddock. The helping was generous. Chips accompanied the meal and were of a pretty high standard. We also had a melon starter which was excellent. Most surprising was the price: £7.95. This must be the best meal and the best value meal we ever had in the Priory. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redpriest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmw535i, Manager at Priory Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your review

Really glad you enjoyed your lunch.

The set price menu been very positive for us since we introduced it and it is good to get such positive feedback


Blair Sinclair
Priory Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beauly
6.3 mi away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
146 reviews
7.4 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
792 reviews
8.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.0 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,201 reviews
8.6 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
7.2 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Priory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Priory Hotel

Property: Priory Hotel
Address: Priory Hotel High Street, Beauly IV4 7BX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Beauly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Beauly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Priory Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run hotel located in the busy village of Beauly. 12 miles west of Inverness The Priory is ideally located for touring the surrounding areas and close enough to take advantage of the facilities in the city of Inverness. Excellent transport links are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Priory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Priory Hotel Beauly, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing