We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel.”
Review of Lovat Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lovat Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Beauly
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel.”
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Although we didn't stay here we had a lovely meal here. The young barman was pleasant & very helpful,especially when my Partner needed an ambulance & he phoned the emergency services for us.Would recommend here.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marina179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    48
    20
    16
    10
See reviews for
29
47
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Waregem, Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

A very warm familiar hotel, friendly staff, great food, very English breakfast, wonderful room, everything reminds you of the Scottish hospitality, we will certainly go back there. We spent some time in the bar after dinner, and had a good time, feels like home:)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

The room was comfortable, shower no bath, decor (lots of faded tartan) 1970's price 2070's.

Wouldn't choose to stay again, staff were friendly except the breakfast waiter, but this hotel is well overpriced for what it is offering.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdrianCreweEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Went out for a family meal, we have eaten here many times but the standard is slipping!!
Service is slow, food average ( tonight was below average, 2 out of 3 meals were eaten).
To sum up, cooks cook, chefs should be so much more and this one disappoints. Scotland has some of the finest foods, I would try using them and throw the tinned and packaged food out.
The waiters need to listen to their customers and see when things are not right.
The plus side, it took ages to get the bill....
The is another hotel where the owners need to address the management and sort the issues. Summer may be busy but the winter is coming and you need the locals. A business without customers will eventually fail and the cracks are showing!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Packman_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Beauly hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We stayed 5 nights at the Lovat Arms. Tina was amazing in organizing our rooms and our family reunion events. We had great food, and exceptional service during our 34 person reunion meal. The lobby and bar were great gathering places for our group. The rooms were neat and tidy. Breakfast was included and that was a great way to start the day. Everyone made us feel welcome and this was the perfect home base for our reunion. Special shout out to our head watier during our reunion meal--I believe his name was Jacob. He was exceptional and he was helped by the lovely Felicia. In the bar, we had great service from Martin. And Angus went out of his way for us during our morning breakfasts. All in all, Lovat Arms made our family reunion one of the best ever. 23 years ago we stayed at the Lovat Arms during our first Scotland visit and both times we experienced the same charm and friendliness from all. Thank you!

Room Tip: Our room was over the bar and this was not a problem until Friday night rolled around. We like to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank InvernessGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Both my sister and I thought the Lovat Arms was great. The hotel is beautifully situated in the heart of Beauly in the Highlands of Scotland. We found a very warm and welcoming atmosphere (very friendly staff). We loved the tartan decor which is tastefully done and not "over the top". This suited our requirements for our family reunion perfectly. Last but not least, the food was very very good.

Dorothy P, and Sandra G.

Room Tip: We did not stay in hotel as we had other accommodation. We had no need to use the swimming pool or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorothy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Wonderful venue for our recent Family reunion. The food, service and hospitality were fantastic.The overseas family also loved the tartan decor and altogether great atmosphere. The staff were efficient and friendly. The food was delicious and very good value for money. Thank you Lovat Arms!

Room Tip: I did not stay here but some of the family did and said it was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beauly
0.1 mi away
Priory Hotel
Priory Hotel
#1 of 4 in Beauly
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
6.0 mi away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#4 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
7.4 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
24.1 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chrialdon House
Chrialdon House
#1 of 10 in Beauly
5.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lovat Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lovat Arms Hotel

Property: Lovat Arms Hotel
Address: High Street | Inverness-shire, Beauly IV4 7BS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Beauly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Beauly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lovat Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lovat Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lovat Arms Beauly
Lovat Arms Hotel Beauly, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing