We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best ever afternoon tea.”
Review of Lovat Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lovat Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Beauly
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Last week four of us had afternoon tea at the Loval Arms. We had booked as it was a special occasion for one of the ladies.This is not necesary though.
We were given the Garden room to ourselves which was perfect. We had an amazing selection of sandwiches and homemade cakes, shortbread, profiteroles and meringues to die for.The tea pot kept getting topped up and to crown all this, we were given containers to take home what we didn't finish ! All this for under £5 per head. What more can I say ?

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanetteG69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
There are newer reviews for Lovat Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2013

Thought we would see if this hotel takes customer feedback seriously. Well we gave it a try and the food was really good. The presentation and taste was 10 out of 10. Its like the chef has got his spark back. Well done. Service still needs slighly improved but still an 8 out of 10. This is well worth a second chance, i hope the keep the standards we experienced.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Packman_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Great ambience with antiques and huge but relaxed rooms.have stayed here 7 times and it never fails to charm and provide a haven with good facilities nearby.Very reasonable prices,good food and a bar to enjoy.The surrounding countryside offers a lot.Hotel is a flat comfortable walk from the railway station and this would be a good place for a winter weekend break via rail from any major scottish city.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mhicail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

On arrival we were told cases would only be taken to rooms if we paid a Pound a case with a further Pound to be paid for bringing them down. I don't mind paying a gratuity but don't expect to have payment demanded in advance! Given a room on floor 2, no lift! Nothing on the hotel web site forewarns of the lack of this facility. The room had a sagging floor, torn wall paper hanging from the wall, dirty and stained carpet and a faded dusty curtain. No shower, just a bath.The wooden toilet seat was chipped. Many drawers but only a broom cupboard in which to hang clothes, no wardrobe, no case stand.
On top of all this we had to endure the music of a Wedding party until 10 past 11.00. Either the hotel is catering for parties or for traveller's/tourists, not both at the same time!
Downstairs the "warm and comfortable" foyer was cold and cluttered. The main front door opened directly into this area and the cold air was therefore constantly refreshed!
The price of a pint of 3.6% Scottish Bitter was £4.15 in the hotel bar and a 330ml bottle of Becks £4.10.
Cooked breakfast served to our party consisted of 1 egg (fried no choice despite asking for scrambled this was refused) 1 rasher of bacon and 1 sausage.
There was tea and coffee in the bedroom but this was hidden away in the bottom of the bedside cabinet perhaps in the hope we didn't find it!
Regretfully I cannot think of any redeeming features and I am surprised at this Hotel's 3 star rating.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank seenthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Although we didn't stay here we had a lovely meal here. The young barman was pleasant & very helpful,especially when my Partner needed an ambulance & he phoned the emergency services for us.Would recommend here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marina179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

A very warm familiar hotel, friendly staff, great food, very English breakfast, wonderful room, everything reminds you of the Scottish hospitality, we will certainly go back there. We spent some time in the bar after dinner, and had a good time, feels like home:)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

The room was comfortable, shower no bath, decor (lots of faded tartan) 1970's price 2070's.

Wouldn't choose to stay again, staff were friendly except the breakfast waiter, but this hotel is well overpriced for what it is offering.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdrianCreweEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beauly
0.1 mi away
Priory Hotel
Priory Hotel
#1 of 4 in Beauly
345 reviews
24.9 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,222 reviews
6.0 mi away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#5 of 35 in Inverness
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
420 reviews
7.8 mi away
Bay Highland Hotel
Bay Highland Hotel
#1 of 7 in Strathpeffer
782 reviews
6.3 mi away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lovat Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lovat Arms Hotel

Address: High Street | Inverness-shire, Beauly IV4 7BS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Beauly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Beauly
Price Range: £113 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lovat Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lovat Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lovat Arms Beauly
Lovat Arms Hotel Beauly, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing