We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Food”
Review of Tomich Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tomich Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Beauly B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We have stayed here before further into the holiday season but when we stayed in March 2014 the food was terrible , a real shame as we had lovely food last time . My guess is that out of season not much effort is made even though the room prices remain the same , not good when you have stayed before you expect it to be the same so very disappointing that it wasn't.

Room Tip: pay the extra £10 for better room as the bed in the slightly cheaper room was quite hard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayneychic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2014

Having just got back from Safari in Africa,. Snow In Aberdeen, . Two Months work a break was required,. And Mine Host opened the hotel for us,. A GREAT LONG WEEK END.,
A ROOM WTH THE OBLIGATORY JACUZI, in the Annex,.
Heating full blast,. A welcome drink and the room spot on,. A few hours in the Jacuzzi, 2 bottles of , champagne and we emerged for a meal in the bar and welcoming log fire,.
10 out of ten,. A walk up to plodha falls and you have guessed it, Jacuzzi champagne time.
A brilliant bolt hole. Mine host to die for and a special deal. This Hotel is clean, has Jacuzzis, a romantic setting I am yet to beat. . Walks to die for. We had on our second visit a champagne picnic, undere a big oak tree,. See my photos on Scotster

Room Tip: If you ask for an excelsior or coach house room,. All yours needs will be met
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scorpio139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We had a walking holiday around Glen Affric at the end of November/start of December, and stayed at the Tomich for one night.

The service and food were outstanding.

They have a cosy log burning fire, nice rooms, and a good range of wines, but the star of the night was a delicious 3 course gourmet styled (but not priced) meal (we think their chef is Eastern European). If it's not served automatically ask for the red pickled cabbage - amazing!

Service from the owner and waiter were excellent and friendly ---- oh and a good breakfast too!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shirlham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We stayed at the Tomich in July 2013. This hotel is perfectly placed for travelers seeking to explore the West Highlands and looking to ramble around the Glens. It really is in a remote location, but what a location! Rooms are clean and spacious. The building is a little old and creaky but this adds character and did not in anyway detract from our stay. As a previous reviewer has stated it did not so much feel like a hotel - more like a distant family member's house that you had been invited to stay at. The restaurant was surprisingly good and the staff were extremely helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zerobajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We have been visiting the Glen Affric area for about 20 years now and for the last 10 years staying in and around the village of Tomich. We always visit the Tomich Hotel for a meal and/or drinks and it has always had that homely feeling to it.
Glen Affric is very special to us and, although we come from the Edinburgh area, my daughter decided she wanted to have her wedding along the road in Cannich and have the reception in the Tomich Hotel.
From the very start of the planning the owners, Bernard and Jackie, could not have been more friendly and helpful. Everything we wanted they provided. Nothing was too much trouble to them. Even providing contacts for a florist and hairdresser etc.
They even provided good weather, as the wedding was at the end of November, but I am not entirely certain that was down to them, :-)
We booked the full eight rooms for the weekend and they even closed the Hotel to the public on the day of the wedding to give us the run of the place.
The food was, as ever, excellent as was the service.
We wanted an informal wedding in a homely environment and they delivered that but with a completely professional touch.
A huge thank-you to them, and the staff, for their help in giving my daughter and son-in-law a memorable wedding.
If anyone is planning a small, highland wedding then take a look at the Tomich Hotel !!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

First time in Glen Affric and first visit to the Tomich. I found the staff and owner to be really friendly, interested in my trip and only too happy to accommodate my requests. Rooms clean and comfortable. Bar cosy with fire so didn't make it to the residents lounge. I would recommend to my mates without question

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tourist04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

A beautiful picture of Glen Affric in Scottish Field took us away from our usual pilgrimage to Glen Clova. The Tomich Hotel seemed the closest in character to the Clova Hotel so we decided to give it a bash. How glad we were of our choice. The location is perfect. We instantly were made to feel at home by the owners, despite arriving rather late in the evening. We were offered two rooms in the Coach House as we had a dog. The room was large, comfortable and well appointed. The beds were wonderful and comfortable while the whirlpool bath eased the stresses of the walking away. The kids were next door in a smaller twin ( Rm7) which may be a bit small for some. The bar was comfortable and welcoming. The Ales were excellent. The wine list was surprisingly good and reasonably priced. The food at the bar was quite excellent. In our opinion, it was up there with the best that we have been offered outwith a formal restaurant setting. All of this was complemented by the relaxed banter of the owners, their terrific bar staff and the regulars.
Our overall impression was of a relaxed, informal hotel which catered well for the walking, fishing and perhaps field sporting fraternity. Talking to the owners, they seem content to develope the hotel in that manner. We will be back and recommend it to anyone who either shares these pursuits or wishes a genuine, welcoming Highland " wee hotel".

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beauly
18.0 mi away
Priory Hotel
Priory Hotel
#1 of 4 in Beauly
351 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,235 reviews
16.4 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#1 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
428 reviews
3.4 mi away
Glen Affric Holiday Park
11.1 mi away
Cnoc Hotel
Cnoc Hotel
#1 of 1 in Struy
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tomich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tomich Hotel

Address: Tomich | Near Cannich, Beauly IV4 7LY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Beauly
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Beauly
Price Range: £83 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tomich Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tomich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tomich Hotel Beauly, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing