We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff”
Review of The Old School Beauly - CLOSED

The Old School Beauly
Price range: US$4 - US$24
Cuisines: Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: We are an award winning department store based in beautiful Beauly in The Highlands of Scotland. We are the Best Gift Retailer Scotland 2015 and also Finalist Best Lifestyle, Homewares and Gifts 2016. Our shop is a mini, bespoke department store with a tendency towards being slightly bonkers. We showcase the very best selection of clothing, gifts, books, music and smellies so make sure you have plenty time to spare when you step through our doors. You could be with us for some time. We are shopping heaven. As Roald Dahl said "Tremendous things are in store for you! Wonderful surprises await you!"
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff”
Reviewed 22 July 2012

I went in there primarily to ask about printing off a letter I needed to send; they obliged without requiring me to buy anything from the shop though I did anyway! Thanks very much!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterGrant38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldSchoolBeauly, Owner at The Old School Beauly, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
Hello Peter,

It was a pleasure to see you and to show you around the whole building that day. Haste ye back!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    56
    21
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Shetland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cake to die for!”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Coffe was wonderful and the muffins were the best i've ever tasted!
If you want cake, there can be nowhere to rival The Old School.
Shop was really good too

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank feemcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldSchoolBeauly, Manager at The Old School Beauly, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
Hello,

As cake fanatics, we are truly delighted to hear your comments!

Many thanks and please do call again soon.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Super cafe tucked away in Beauly”
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We always visit the Old School House to go to the gift and book shop but thought we would try the cafe for lunch and really enjoyed our visit. It is a lovely setting and has a seating area outside for sunny days. The menu has a good selection and is very child friendly but the specials board is a delight with good choices for vegetarians and we had to restrain ourselves from ordering some of the delicious desserts and cakes. The staff were excellent and very accommodating towards our toddler. She enjoyed her special 'Kids Platter' and ate it all, so a good sign of approval! This is one of the outstanding eateries of our week long holiday in the Highlands and I would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma_Darbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldSchoolBeauly, Owner at The Old School Beauly, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Hello,

Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted your wee one was looked after so well and hope you manage another holiday in this part of the world again soon.

Many kind thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Impressive”
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We visited the shop and cafe yesterday and were most impressed with the helpfulness and knowledge of the staff. The lady I spoke to in the gift shop had background information on the product and the cafe staff were equally friendly.

I was terribly tempted by the beautiful cakes and traybakes and the scones looked homemade and delicious. Everything looked fresh and clean, as were the toilets.
Well worth a visit

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Loreen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldSchoolBeauly, Public Relations Manager at The Old School Beauly, responded to this review, 17 June 2012
Hello,
Many thanks for your lovely review. We are new to Trip Advisor and are really excited to see that we are now listed. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit to our cafe and shop and hope you will call by again soon. We really do hope that next time you will indulge in one of our delicious cakes!
Many thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“No complaints”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Nice little shop/cafe.
Larger than expected selection of books and cd.
Food was good and well priced.
No complaints at all.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old School Beauly also viewed

Beauly, Scottish Highlands
 
Beauly, Scottish Highlands
Beauly, Scottish Highlands
 
Beauly, Scottish Highlands
Beauly, Scottish Highlands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing