We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old School”
Review of The Old School Beauly - CLOSED

The Old School Beauly
Price range: US$4 - US$25
Cuisines: Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: We are an award winning department store based in beautiful Beauly in The Highlands of Scotland. We are the Best Gift Retailer Scotland 2015 and also Finalist Best Lifestyle, Homewares and Gifts 2016. Our shop is a mini, bespoke department store with a tendency towards being slightly bonkers. We showcase the very best selection of clothing, gifts, books, music and smellies so make sure you have plenty time to spare when you step through our doors. You could be with us for some time. We are shopping heaven. As Roald Dahl said "Tremendous things are in store for you! Wonderful surprises await you!"
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Old School”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Don't know about you, but these days I take decent food as being a given - just the choice and presentation to be argued over - and focus on the service. I thought the Old School had the service absolutely right - pleasant, attentive and well-trained staff; no rush to eat up and get out. So 5/5 for that.

We had the breakfast - croissant, scrambled egg and bacon - all nicely done - excellent local bacon, though with the egg cooked to safety standard (overdone from my point of view). Decent coffee (repeated, as the standard cup is a bit on the small side) finished it off. Hmm - 3.5/5.

The total bill was just shy of £20 - maybe a wee bit steep considering...

To improve: don't nuke the eggs, and offer free coffee refills. Then 5/5.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarsach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    56
    21
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dingwall, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“good value”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

The coffee is excellent as is the home baking.The seats aren't the most comfortable but I suppose they like to simulate a school effect! The shop is interesting with a good selection of unusual gifts and books.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mofos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant little Cafe”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Really nice Cafe at the back of the Old School House in Beauly. Located to the rear of the building as there is a pleasant gift shop at the front, the cafe serves lovely lunches including sandwichs, soups and cakes. they also offer High Tea. Great place will be visiting again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Granthassan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
444 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Still as good”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

First let me say how much improved the entrance is now. Shop offers a good selection of quality items from soaps to clothes. The restaurant is bright and airey with doors that open into a small outside seating area. Both cakes and drinks have a good selection with a separate menu with a special drinks selection. Cakes come with a pot of cream and sliced fresh fruit which is probably why the prices are on the high side. A choice should be offered! Sandwiches looked substantial as did the soups. All in all, a very pleasant cafe with nice and friendly staff. Will always go back.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tain, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
338 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Nice selection of cakes. Great coffee.”
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

First visit after recommendation by friends. First impression, very clean lovely setting very friendly staff, one of whom I recognised from her time at The Storehouse Restaurant. Excellent coffee, well made and most importantly, hot. Good selection of cakes. My only reason for not giving 5* was I thought the cakes were a little on the expensive side. Anything over £3 I think is excessive anywhere in the UK. Having said that highly recommended.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Highland-Birder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old School Beauly also viewed

Beauly, Scottish Highlands
 
Beauly, Scottish Highlands
Beauly, Scottish Highlands
 
Beauly, Scottish Highlands
Beauly, Scottish Highlands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing