We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“lovely cottage in a peaceful location”
Fern Cottage on a hot summer's day
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Fern Cottage on a hot summer's day
The sun begins to rise behind Fern Cottage The downstairs living area with a blazing log fire.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Fern Cottage on a hot summer's day
The sun begins to rise behind Fern Cottage
The downstairs living area with a blazing log fire.
Looking across the upstairs mezzanine area.
Looking across the main living area towards the west
Looking down to the main living area from the mezzanine.
View to the mountain range to the west on a summer's evening,
The local Pine Marten raiding the bird feeders
Looking out towards the west window of the main bedroom.
A walk through the woods in the north of grounds.
Fern Cottage at night with the fire bowl ablaze.
Looking across the upstairs mezzanine area.
Fern Cottage on a crisp March morning.
Looking across the upstairs mezzanine area.
Fern Cottage's bedroom
Autumn colours on the grounds.
Fern cottage in winter's sunset.
Looking across the upstairs mezzanine area.
A red deer outside Fern Cottage
Sunset viewed from Fern Cottage's patio.
Looking across the upstairs mezzanine area towards the large double bed settee
An early evening's sky over Fern Cottage.
Approaching Fern Cottage from the woodland on a winter's day.
Sunset from the western edge of the grounds
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Beauly, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kitty700
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely cottage in a peaceful location”
Reviewed 9 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Fern cottage is set back from the quiet road in a beautiful woodland location. The cottage is very light, airy and spacious. Its very homely and very tranquil. We saw a pine marten in the garden everyday and sometimes 3 badgers during the evening. We also loved watching the birds on the feeders. If you enjoy nature and beautiful surroundings this is the place for you.
We did a lot of walking in the area and even managed a couple of runs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: wildlife
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2016
Thank you so much for you lovely review of Fern Cottage. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and were lucky enough to experience the wide variety of wildlife that lives in our grounds. Hope you both are able to come able to come back and stay with us again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison-an...
Leyland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful location - light bright and comfortable”
Reviewed 4 April 2015 for a stay in November 2013

We had such a lovely week in Fern Cottage. What a fabulous peaceful location on the edge of the woods with the burn running by. We lost count of the number of birds we saw around the cottage and were thrilled to be visited by the Pine Marten! The cottage is lovely – so light and bright and comfortable, with cosy evenings in front of the log fire and Mary's hospitality was second to none. This is a fantastic base from which to explore - Glen Affric and Glen Strathfarrer were stunning in the Autumn sunshine – we walked miles! I’m sure we will be back”.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful location.
Liked least: Going home!
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2015
Thank you for your nice review. Glad you enjoyed your stay at Fern Cottage and were able to see our local Pine Marten. Hope you can make it back again. Best wishes Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tjeerd F
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
1 review
“Ferntastic!”
Reviewed 30 March 2015 for a stay in June 2014

“We really enjoyed our week at the Fern Cottage. What a nice place. Although located in a forest, the cottage is very light. It has a wood stove which contributes to a romantic atmosphere. The deer fence was hopeful, but unfortunately we have seen no red or roe deer. On the other hand, the grounds have plenty of birds and both badger and pine marten came to visit us every evening. There is a supermarket nearby in Beauly. We did some nice hikes in the vicinity (saw red deer), visited Ullapool, watched the dolphins at Fortrose and looked for the monster in Loch Ness. The location of the Fern Cottage makes it an excellent starting-point for exploring this wonderful part of Scotland. Together with John and Mary's hospitality it is highly recommendable..”

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Natural environment
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Apr 2015
Thank you for your nice review. Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in our cottage and were able to see so much of the local wildlife. Hope you are able to make it back over here again some day. Best wishes, Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie S
South Shields, United Kingdom
1 review
“This has to be one of the best holiday cottages my husband and I have stayed in.”
Reviewed 28 March 2015 for a stay in July 2013

What a fantastic week in this beautiful cottage. So much wildlife on the doorstep. We have seen the Pine Martin almost every night enjoying the peanut butter and other treats under the tree that has the fatball feeder.  The birder feeders area great addition. We needed to buy a lot of nuts/seeds. They needed topped up every day we had so many birds. We have also seen red squirrel, roe deer. It has been such a pleasure watching the wildlife from this very special cottage thank you so much. Cnoc Hotel great food, drink and friendly staff.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2015
Thank you for your nice review. The birds do indeed go through the bird food quickly and we have had to start ordering seed in bulk now! Happy to hear you had such a nice time at Fern Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lea R
Dortmund, Germany
1 review
“A very lovely spot to relax and enjoy this beautiful landscape”
Reviewed 27 March 2015 for a stay in October 2013

We have had a wonderful time here, there could not have been a better place to discover the Highlands! Fern Cottage is so lovely and we really enjoyed staying in this beautiful area. We would really love to come back as soon as possible! While Chris became a stove expert I spent my evenings listening to the deer’s mating calls. All the best, Lea & Chris from Germany

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: bright and spacious flat, cozy and modern furnished, mezzanine area, stove, quite neighbourhood, wood land nearby
Liked least: this very small baby spider visiting me once while brushing my teeth ;-)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2015
Thank you Lea, we are glad that you and Chris chose to stay at Fern Cottage for your first visit here. Hopefully you will both make it back here again soon. Best wishes, Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mattielad...
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Marvellous!”
Reviewed 25 March 2015 for a stay in July 2013

This was a brilliant holiday made by a beautiful cottage nestled on the borders of a wonderful forest. My 2 sons and I had a relaxing stay with everything we needed. We ate in most nights, including barbequeing on the patio. The shower was great as we spent a lot of time cycling and at the beach in Nairn so having 3 lads we were grateful for this.
The upstairs area was great for my lads as they were able to play their music on the music system provided whilst I was able to retreat into the huge master bedroom and read.
The cottage is well stocked for a holiday let with all the equipment needed for a weeks stay.
Mary is a great host who was on hand if we needed her.
Looking forward to returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Mary kept the cottage looking wonderful and clean
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Mar 2015
Thank you for your nice review! Glad that you and your sons have such nice memories of your stay here. You were great guests and we hope to see you again one day. Best wishes, Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland...
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced and poor facilities.”
Reviewed 22 March 2015 for a stay in June 2014

This cottage has no proper hot running water supply,small emersion heaters instead of hot tap water not really hot. Shower was broken when we arrived.Someone came to fix it with a roll of tape and a nail. Sink in kitchen very low even for us not so tall people. Car parking outside other cottage need to carry luggage up steep slope to get to cottage.
Very expensive for what it is. Stayed in much better for less. Left after one night.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Mar 2015
We could initially find no record of you staying in 2014 as stated in your review, however we do definitely remember your stay back in June 2013, even as brief and as long ago as it was. As to your comments we have addressed each one below.

"This cottage has no proper hot running water supply,small emersion heaters instead of hot tap water not really hot." - The emersion heaters do produce hot water effectively if used properly and we have had no other complaints about these, but in light of your comments we will look into putting in some step-by-step instructions just in case.


"Shower was broken when we arrived.Someone came to fix it with a roll of tape and a nail." - As we stated at the time I can only assume the shower head holder was broken by the previous guests and somehow we must have missed it during the change-over. I apologise again for this. However when you emailed us about this on a Saturday evening the local Groundsman drove out there from his home immediately (in his own time) and fixed it within the hour. His intention was always a temporary fix, as he wanted to do this as quickly as possible so as to cause minimum disruption to your stay, (and you did text us to express your gratitude for this at the time).


"Very expensive for what it is." - I guess this is all relative, but the price has increased slightly since your stay back in 2013 and Fern Cottage remains very popular and return guests are a tribute to this.


"Car parking outside other cottage need to carry luggage up steep slope to get to cottage." - The car park is a large parking area shared by both cottages and is deliberately separate from the cottages by design. It states the following on our website: "Fern Cottage is approximately 30 metres away from the private car-park and is reached by a footpath winding up the hill to the cottage's door.”


"Sink in kitchen very low even for us not so tall people." - If it is, then this is something we have never noticed when we’ve stayed at Fern Cottage ourselves, nor have any of our other guests ever mentioned it to us. We would go in and actually measure it (out of curiosity if nothing else), but we currently have guests staying in there.


"Stayed in much better for less. Left after one night." - On this last point the one thing that does mystify us even now nearly two years later - is why you simply up and left without speaking to us directly about your concerns first?? As we would have honestly done our best to address these where at all possible - An opportunity I believe you should have given us at the time…

Finally please go to the following link which will take you to a scanned in copy of the comments from our Fern Cottage guest book from our other past guests who stayed for the duration of their holiday. www.eolasholidaycottages.co.uk/Fern%20Cottage%20Comments.html
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing