We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The only haven for the weary traveller”
Review of Seaview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Seaview Hotel
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The only haven for the weary traveller”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Prebooked here to pick up a couple of end to end cyclists. The welcome was efficient but not over friendly; was shown the room over the road in the annex which proved very clean and comfortable. Ate evening meal in the bar - good selection of 'pub' standard. Excellent real ale - Scapa, I think it was called! Shower in room was also excellent. As our departure was necessarily before breakfast (5am) we requested a 'breakfast bag'. This contained a boxed drink of apple juice, an orange, a small roll with butter and a packet of jam, and an Alpen cereal bar. I think this was a little light on content and could be improved.

Room Tip: Rooms in the annex seem really good, and are away from any noise that may emanate from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnWSedgley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
digital02, Manager at Seaview Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us here in John O'Groats, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time here. We also note your comments and take things on board as we strive to improve things as we go along.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    99
    49
    22
    10
See reviews for
27
116
30
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

The Sea view Hotel was my final destination after 10 1/2 days of cycling a 970 mile route from Lands End.
Despite all that I had been told about this part of Caithness being bleak I rolled into JO'G in blazing sunshine on 27th June. The Seaview was easy to spot. I was promptly greeted at reception by one of the young and cheery staff who showed me to a room bathed in sunshine.
The room was clean, The ensuite shower/toilet was compact but perfectly adequate a generous supply of towels was laid out , tea and coffee facilities were to hand so, no complaints.
I was told where I could leave my bike, in a lock up garage unit adjoining the Hotel. This was also where my bike was to be collected from by John O Groats Bike Transport so this was doubly useful.
I booked a table in the restaurant for 7.00PM and duly sat down just before a large party of German visitors also took their places. I was initially concerned thatthe service level might be slow because of the need to cater for this large party of guests but ,in fact, the service was excellent.
After a Guiness served at a sensible temperature so that it could actually be savoured, I sampled the scotch broth....hot and reviving, followed by Beef and Ale Pie and Chips with veg. Very wholesome, well cooked , thoroughly enjoyable. I forget which dessert i opted for other than that it was delicious. All topped off with a Gaelic Coffee ,the meal was a great way to celebrate the culmination of a hard but satisfying cycling experience.
I slept very well and enjoyed an excellent breakfast before checking out and seeking out the Inverness coach.
The Bed & Breakfast charge was £50 and the dinner cost £31.00 including two Guiness and a Gaelic Cofee. For me ...great value for money. The obvious place for "End To Enders" to Aim for.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cycleman010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
digital02, Manager at Seaview Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us in John O'Groats and taking time to write a review. We are very glad to hear that you really enjoyed your time here and thought everything was great value. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2nights,as went on maxi tour to Orkneys. Read reviews, so thought had a bit of idea what was going to. No! Nothing could prepare for what was ahead. Walked into reception area ( a hall ), could hear a lively bar going, at 2pm! After several rings on a bell, booked in, was taken across road to our room. (In what looked like a ex residential home.)Which was very small, bathroom, was a cupboard! One small window, which looked onto a wall!And smelt of urine and seemed fusty. Went straight back to ring the bell again, said you got to be joking, you must have a better room. Asked for one with a sea view, was told none avaible.He took me to see another room, again over the road. This was a family room, double bed and bunk beds in. With a proper bathroom, 3 small windows. Felt had no choice to take it, due to trip on following day. Decided not to eat in hotel, as did not feel comfortable going over. At this point felt truly disappointed with hotel. If trip was not booked, would have gone home. Went over for breakfast, service ok, breakfast mediocre. Felt there was a fusty smell to hotel, which is non to pleasant! Glad did not choose to eat there. Um, good points, brilliant views, (for us, once outside room,) well heated, (great, as weather cold.) Great power shower. (Take own towels, as very ruff. )Tesco's, 15minutes down road, (great for air freshener, food).Car park had a lot of what appeared to be contractor vans in, they must have been the people in the bar. This was quite off putting. When you go on holiday, didn't expect to be sharing hotel with contractors.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarkylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
digital02, Manager at Seaview Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Although we welcome constructive comments we feel that your review is very much unjust and unfitting to our business. The annex building that you were staying in has been recently and completely refurbished to a high standard with around a £600,000 investment made to it. The rooms are cleaned and checked on a daily basis and I can assure you that there is no smell of urine or anything else. A lively bar is what most businesses strive for. We would have been much happier if you had asked to speak with someone here, who would have been able to address any problems before your departure, which is the most commonly done thing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

We were very disappointed. Our main upset was the food quality and portion sizes. It was fairly expensive and when it arrived we genuinely thought they'd bought 3 children's dinners. After a long ride on our bikes across the UK this was the worst memory!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gadgetlegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
digital02, Manager at Seaview Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your stay in John O'Groats. I am very sorry to hear that it was not up to your satisfaction I can only apolpgise, but would have been much happier if you had brought any complaint up when you were actually here so that we could have sorted it out for you. Maybe in the future you could do this thus making it easier for management to deal with it efficiently at the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonnybridge, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I have stayed at Seaview twice this year whilst in Caithness on Business and find the room perfect for doing work in evening.
Found the staff friendly and helpful evening meal and breakfast superb.
If on business or Holiday in Caithness I will always stay at the Seaview.
Relaxed atmosphere in bar with locals and staff friendly

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
digital02, Manager at Seaview Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here in John O'Groats and hope we can welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ledbury
Level Contributor
139 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

On my "places to visit" list has been John O'Groats and we arrived at the Seaview hotel in the late afternoon in bright sunshine - who said it alwasy rains in Scotland?. The hotel, a large building painted white and looking very like seaside hotels typical of the south East coast of England, it was to find and stands at the cross roads . There is ample parking and a warm welcome by the staff who made check in easy and seamless. We had lovely spacious room and wonderful large windows giving great views. After unpacking and reading the literature we set off to visit Ducansby Head Lighthouse and the famous "Stacks" which are amazing stone structures, set in the sea. Friendly sheep dotted the walk around the headland, along with huge numbers of seabirds flying and shrieking, and to decorate the whole place weregorgeous wild flowers overhanging the steep cliffs. Supper was eaten at the harbour and a simple meal of fish and chips, quite delicious after a strenuous walk. We saw the Orkney Ferry returning, disgourging its many passengers from different parts of the globe, groups of keen cyclists (perhaps they should have the Tour De France in Scotalnd). Then it was back to our cosy room with power shower and a great night's sleep. We breakfasted on "the full English - or Scottish which was delicious setting us up for the day as our next stop was through the great mountains of the Cairngorms. A wonderful stay and thoroughly reocommended.

Room Tip: There is no lift so be prepared to climb stairs - worth it for the views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanLedbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
digital02, Manager at Seaview Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thank you very much for your recent stay and taking time to review us here.
We are glad that you enjoyed your time in John O'Groats and hope that you will come back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights on our Scotland journey. Our room was in the annexe over the road, good sized room, comfy bed , fab shower room. We had a 'sea view' from our room which was nice but the road was also right in front of the window so a bit noisy at times. Food ok, we had our evening meal here to, like other comments menu a bit boring and some of the specials not on both nights. Price wise would have preferred to pay a bit less as this was one of the most expensive stays we had.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneMickderby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
digital02, Manager at Seaview Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Thanks very much for taking the time to review us here, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope we can welcome you back sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near John O'Groats
5.8 mi away
Castle Arms Hotel
Castle Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Thurso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Castletown Hotel
The Castletown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castletown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
21.5 mi away
Forss House Hotel
Forss House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Thurso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Norseman Hotel
Norseman Hotel
#2 of 4 in Wick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hamnavoe B&B
Hamnavoe B&B
#2 of 6 in John O'Groats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.4 mi away
Natural Retreats John O'Groats
Natural Retreats John O'Groats
#1 of 3 in John O'Groats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview Hotel

Property: Seaview Hotel
Address: County Road, John O'Groats KW1 4YR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > John O'Groats
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in John O'Groats
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Seaview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family run hotel overlooking the Pentland Firth & Orkney Islands. We are only 300 yds from the Orkney ferry terminal. We offer very comfortable modern accommodation in our newly renovated deluxe rooms, also very comfortable affordable accommodation in our standard and superior rooms. We serve meals daily in our restaurant and bar, using only the best local produce, all prepared by our team of local chefs. Our bar boasts over 120 malt whiskys, local real ale, selection of Scottish beers and a personally selected wine list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Seaview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaview Hotel Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing