We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Did the Job.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seaview Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Seaview Hotel
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Did the Job.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed in the annexe over the road and the room was clean but small, it served its purpose at the end of Lands End to John O Groats cycle ride, the rooms in the hotel itself were older and tired.

It isn't great but the room was clean and staff helpful. Wifi was £2 per day.

The food on the evening was acceptable and enjoyable, cant comment on breakfast as only had toast.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jigglywuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
digital02, Manager at Seaview Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us in John O'Groats and for taking time to review us here. We will take your comments on board as we strive to make things better all the time. Hoprfully we can welcome you back sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    94
    49
    22
    10
See reviews for
27
110
29
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on our return from a day trip to Orkney. We would have stayed the night before but at the time of booking it was said to be fully booked, so it was rather odd to discover that it was advertising vacancies when we got up there - possibly they had acquired the annex subsequent to our booking. The annex where we were situated was new and well-appointed, though the cleaning left a little to be desired as there were grape stalks on the window sill and a label from clothing on the floor. Arriving off the ferry at 7.45 we were first told that meal service ended at 8.30, but that we would have to wait while they cleared some tables. The only reason there was a shortage of tables was that half the restaurant was set up for breakfast, which seemed reasonable except that the following morning there was only one or two other couples breakfasting! Having said all this, once we were seated service and food were both excellent.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
digital02, Manager at Seaview Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
Thank you for your recent stay here with us in John O'Groats. We are glad to hear that you largly enjoyed your stay, but dissapointed to hear that not everything was up to standard, we will take your comments on board as we move forward. Hopefully we can welcome you back sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galicia, Spain
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

CONTEXT
Stayed here for one night before starting the John O’Groats to Land’s end route by bicycle.

PROS
Friendly staff.

Comfortable room in annexe building. Clean, modern, good size.

CONS
They charge £2 for WIFI. In 2013, that is disgraceful. I saw one of the staff members also disclose the WIFI code for free to a guest.

Food is overpriced and unimaginative for what you get on the plate.

No great views if you are in the annexe building.

CONCLUSION
The Seaview Hotel benefits greatly from being the only hotel in town. They charge more than what they should do or is fair for accommodation, food and other services. I would advise staying somewhere nearby, such as Thurso or Wick, to get a more competitive rate and better conditions for your money.

Room Tip: Rooms in the annexe are good quality but have no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glevum777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
digital02, Manager at Seaview Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thank you for your recent stay and your time taken to review us. We are sorry to hear that you are not completely satisfied with your experience and will take your comments on board. I would like though to point out that all our food is as far as possible sourced and bought locally and we strive to promote good wholesome home cooked meals using the best there is available locally. Also our annex has many rooms with stunning views overlooking the Pentland Firth, Stroma and the Orkney Isles.
Hopefully we can welcome you back sometime in the future and give you a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

Booked hotel in advance with my wife, wanted to recce area for next year as will be doing the end to end finishing in JOG.
Staff were all friendly and polite, our room was perfect in the accommodation over the road with a beautiful view from our room over to the Orkney's. We booked for two nights as we did the maxi tour of the Orkneys with JOG ferries which is a must to do.
Meals were great plenty of choice and breakfast was lovely aswell.
Thank you and see you next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
digital02, Manager at Seaview Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us at Seaview Hotel, we are glad you enjoyed your time here with us. Thanks for taking time to review us here and we hope we can welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringwood, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

Lovely hotel at the top of the UK and well worth a visit. The room was excellent but there was no Wi Fi available in the room due to problems with the network signal. The restaurant offered a great selection and well enjoyed as was breakfast. The price was reasonable and the sleep quality would have been good if it was not for the fact that at the time of year that we visited it is daylight nearly all night.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
digital02, Manager at Seaview Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thank you for your recent stay and your time to review us here, we are glad you enjoyed your time here and hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Prebooked here to pick up a couple of end to end cyclists. The welcome was efficient but not over friendly; was shown the room over the road in the annex which proved very clean and comfortable. Ate evening meal in the bar - good selection of 'pub' standard. Excellent real ale - Scapa, I think it was called! Shower in room was also excellent. As our departure was necessarily before breakfast (5am) we requested a 'breakfast bag'. This contained a boxed drink of apple juice, an orange, a small roll with butter and a packet of jam, and an Alpen cereal bar. I think this was a little light on content and could be improved.

Room Tip: Rooms in the annex seem really good, and are away from any noise that may emanate from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnWSedgley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
digital02, Manager at Seaview Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us here in John O'Groats, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time here. We also note your comments and take things on board as we strive to improve things as we go along.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

The Sea view Hotel was my final destination after 10 1/2 days of cycling a 970 mile route from Lands End.
Despite all that I had been told about this part of Caithness being bleak I rolled into JO'G in blazing sunshine on 27th June. The Seaview was easy to spot. I was promptly greeted at reception by one of the young and cheery staff who showed me to a room bathed in sunshine.
The room was clean, The ensuite shower/toilet was compact but perfectly adequate a generous supply of towels was laid out , tea and coffee facilities were to hand so, no complaints.
I was told where I could leave my bike, in a lock up garage unit adjoining the Hotel. This was also where my bike was to be collected from by John O Groats Bike Transport so this was doubly useful.
I booked a table in the restaurant for 7.00PM and duly sat down just before a large party of German visitors also took their places. I was initially concerned thatthe service level might be slow because of the need to cater for this large party of guests but ,in fact, the service was excellent.
After a Guiness served at a sensible temperature so that it could actually be savoured, I sampled the scotch broth....hot and reviving, followed by Beef and Ale Pie and Chips with veg. Very wholesome, well cooked , thoroughly enjoyable. I forget which dessert i opted for other than that it was delicious. All topped off with a Gaelic Coffee ,the meal was a great way to celebrate the culmination of a hard but satisfying cycling experience.
I slept very well and enjoyed an excellent breakfast before checking out and seeking out the Inverness coach.
The Bed & Breakfast charge was £50 and the dinner cost £31.00 including two Guiness and a Gaelic Cofee. For me ...great value for money. The obvious place for "End To Enders" to Aim for.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cycleman010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
digital02, Manager at Seaview Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us in John O'Groats and taking time to write a review. We are very glad to hear that you really enjoyed your time here and thought everything was great value. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near John O'Groats
5.8 mi away
Castle Arms Hotel
Castle Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Thurso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
21.5 mi away
Forss House Hotel
Forss House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Thurso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Castletown Hotel
The Castletown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castletown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Norseman Hotel
Norseman Hotel
#2 of 4 in Wick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
13.7 mi away
Mackays Hotel
Mackays Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hamnavoe B&B
Hamnavoe B&B
#2 of 6 in John O'Groats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview Hotel

Property: Seaview Hotel
Address: County Road, John O'Groats KW1 4YR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > John O'Groats
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in John O'Groats
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Seaview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family run hotel overlooking the Pentland Firth & Orkney Islands. We are only 300 yds from the Orkney ferry terminal. We offer very comfortable modern accommodation in our newly renovated deluxe rooms, also very comfortable affordable accommodation in our standard and superior rooms. We serve meals daily in our restaurant and bar, using only the best local produce, all prepared by our team of local chefs. Our bar boasts over 120 malt whiskys, local real ale, selection of Scottish beers and a personally selected wine list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Seaview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaview Hotel Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing