We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Enough”
Review of Seaview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Seaview Hotel
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I stayed for two nights due to work. Luckily enough I was in the main hotel. The staff are friendly, rooms are clean and the showers are AWESOME! I only ate breakfast when I stayed and the choice was great.

Room Tip: A room facing the West gives you a cracking sunset!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reid A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, Manager at Seaview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thanks for your recent stay and time taken to review us, we are glad you found things comfortable during your stay and hope to see you again someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
There are newer reviews for Seaview Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed in a comfortable, clean room in the building across the road from the main hotel. The evening meal in the bar was good and the breakfast was OK. The staff were friendly and helpful. Definitely good value for money and we would return if we were ever in the area again.

Room Tip: If you would like a room with a view ask when booking
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 809kj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, Manager at Seaview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thanks for your recent stay and time taken to review us here, we are glad the you enjoyed your stay with us here in John O'Groats and hope to see you again someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We were across the road in a good quality room with a view. The service at dinner and breakfast was excellant as was the meals.However on arrival we were given our key rather hurriedly and instructions to use it but the gentleman was obviously in a hurry to go.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Su K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, Manager at Seaview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thanks for your recent stay with us at Seaview Hotel, John O'Groats, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here, thanks also for taking the time to write the review. We hope you can make it back someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Just stayed the night. Accommodation across road and good quality although we did not have a room with a view, in fact room 24 had a window but no view whatsoever. OK for a night but not for a longer stay. Quiet with no noise though. Otherwise no complaints about room. Restaurant service good and food of good quality and reasonable menu. All staff pleasant and hard working. Would certainly return.

Room Tip: Avoid room 24 if you want a view. Those on first floor as opposed to ground floor in annex appear to...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, Manager at Seaview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thanks for your recent stay with us in John O'Groats, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and food etc. Unfortunately not all the rooms have a view, but are comfortable and quiet. If you ever manage to make the journey again, be sure to request a room with a view and we will do our best to do this. Thanks for your time to review us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The Scottish Tourism Board says this is a 2 star site, we stayed last night, it was better than 2 stars. The room across the road was clean, quiet, and warm. Breakfast was good, dinner was fine, but the delay of 45 minutes from ordering, till arrival was unacceptable. When we ordered, no one told us that a party of 23 were to be served, and that they had preordered. A word at the start, would have settled us, but no one came near us, so we followed them, to the kitchen. We decided against dessert as now it was just too late, to be eating. The curtains could also do with being lined, as they don't really block out the light.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room, as the stairs are very steep.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, Manager at Seaview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thanks for your recent stay and review, it was unfortunate that you arrived just after our large pre- booked party, along with a very busy evening we were serving people as fast as possible, maybe you should have booked and we would have slotted you in to a quieter time. The curtains are black out lined, but this time of year is very light to very late and daylight comes back in early.
Anyway hopefully we can welcome you back sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

There was no 'warm welcome' or 'fond farewell' when we stayed last weekend at the Seaview, thank goodness it was only for the 1 night. The staff did nt know how to interact with their guests even on the most basic of levels !. The bedroom was well equipped, but the carpets were very dusty and dirty and they have cut back to the bare minimum on poor teabags and transparent toilet roll.
Breakfast was a cheap deep fried saver sausages affair with thin basics bread toasted, we were glad to leave. We did nt even make any comments to any staff as the faces were so glum .

They were however very hot on taking our £77. 00 .

Room Tip: Go to John O Groats and take your photos then travel back down a little for a warmer welcome!.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tania R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, Manager at Seaview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for your recent stay with us and your comments, I will investigate your comments to make sure we our staff are interacting, but I have to say this is never a problem, we employ all local staff who are all very helpful and cheery. I would also disagree with your comments on other things, as we do not use basics or saver products on those you have suggested, but anyway thanks for your review and maybe you can return in the future sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed for a night after completing the Lands End, John O Groats cycle, we arrived late and were still met with a warm and friendly welcome - our bikes were no bother and these were kept safely in a garage. We stayed "over the road" in a simple but perfectly adequate and comfortable room - our cooked breakfast was fine and the service was good. It's a shame we only stayed overnight, we would have liked to stay for longer, we'll visit again, stay here again....and stay for longer next time

Room Tip: Get a sea view.......it's well worth it
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, Manager at Seaview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thanks for your recent stay and time taken to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your time here and that you will hopefully be back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near John O'Groats
5.8 mi away
Castle Arms Hotel
Castle Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Thurso
270 reviews
13.5 mi away
Norseman Hotel
Norseman Hotel
#2 of 4 in Wick
296 reviews
10.0 mi away
Northern Sands Hotel
Northern Sands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunnet
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
The Castletown Hotel
The Castletown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castletown
227 reviews
13.7 mi away
Mackays Hotel
Mackays Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wick
452 reviews
0.4 mi away
Natural Retreats John O'Groats
Natural Retreats John O'Groats
#1 of 3 in John O'Groats
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview Hotel

Address: County Road, John O'Groats KW1 4YR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > John O'Groats
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in John O'Groats
Price Range: £74 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Seaview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family run hotel overlooking the Pentland Firth & Orkney Islands. We are only 300 yds from the Orkney ferry terminal. We offer very comfortable modern accommodation in our newly renovated deluxe rooms, also very comfortable affordable accommodation in our standard and superior rooms. We serve meals daily in our restaurant and bar, using only the best local produce, all prepared by our team of local chefs. Our bar boasts over 120 malt whiskys, local real ale, selection of Scottish beers and a personally selected wine list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Seaview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaview Hotel Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing