We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Good value for money”

Review of Sea View Lodge

Lodge exterior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lodge exterior
Lodge exterior
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
Lodge exterior
Lodge exterior
Floor to ceiling sliding doors
Open plan kitchen, dining and living area
Stunning fully equipped kitchen
Open plan living area
Bedroom
Main Bathroom
En-suite bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
John O'Groats, Caithness and Sutherland, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
paulcoope...
Bury St Edmunds, UK
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in a sea-view lodge for 5 nights in August. We really enjoyed our stay for a number of reasons but mainly because we were really lucky with the weather. The lodges are very nice but I would recommend a sea-view over a standard lodge as some sit in the middle of the site and face the carpark! The lodges are nicely finished but I'm not sure I would agree with describing them as 'luxury' - some finishes are very cheap such as bedside tables which kept collapsing, floorboards which creak and squeak and our master bedroom suite only had a double bed despite adequate space for a king or superking. The rooms are only just off the main living area and this can be awkward when others retire to bed and people remain watching TV.
The lodge has an apple TV but the WIFI speed is borderline to allow streaming and we sat with a 3hr download message a few times.
If youve stayed at another Natural Retreats lodge then this is much of the same, although we found the on-site service to be very poor. There is information online and even in the room about talking to the Outfitters/concierge to discuss things to do in the area. We walked about the John O Groats site and couldnt find this building, so went to the hotel and were told where to go, only to walk to the building to find a craft fair and were then told that the outfitters section had closed due to lack of interest!
The Storehouse is a nice new cafe and serves Starbucks coffee. The prices in there were very reasonable too.
There is a good sized Tesco Superstore in Wick which is a 15min drive away.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Open plan
Liked least: some cheap furniture (bedside tables were chipped and kept collapsing)
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra...
Chandlers Ford
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fabulous stay and very relaxing.”
Reviewed 14 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We stayed the end of October beginning of November, half term, it was a fantastic place to stay and we both were impressed with the quality of the lodge. The onsite 'Storehouse' was a lovely place to sit with a warm drink and people watch. Lots of people coming to have their photos taken and then go. The food from the 'Storehouse' was also very good quality and huge portions, especially the sandwiches.

We were visiting JOG for family reasons as my father used to stay on a croft, just up the road from the lodge, during his summer holidays and we needed some photos for him of the places he visited. He is unfortunately suffering from dementia and we are putting together a photo album for him. As it was the end of October beginning of November unfortunately some of the activities we had planned were closed for the season, rib boat ride, ferry from JOG to Orkney. Even with these closures we found plenty to do. The Stacks at Duncasby Head were an impressive site and we could see a seal colony with their pups from the top of the hill. Dunnet Head, which is actually the most northerly point of mainland Britain. Whaligoe Steps, 365 steps down the cliff side to a small harbour. I stayed at the top in a lovely cafe, with a hot chocolate, whilst my husband climbed the steps. Caithness Horizons, in Thurso, a museum which gives the history of Caithness, was very interesting and well presented. It also has the story of Douneray. We also had a trip to Wick and the Old Pulteney distillery and they do a very interesting tour plus a great tasting session. So our long journey from Southampton was worth it and I would certainly recommend it to anyone.

The Lodge provided us with some fantastic views in the morning and evening across to Stroma and the Orkney's. Sitting in the lodge and having breakfast with those views was incredible. Watching seals bobbing up and down by the harbour. A very peaceful and relaxing holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views from the lodge, booked a lodge with sea views.
Liked least: Not quite enough cooking equipment as eating out is not easy as there are not many places nearby!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Mar 2014
Thanks so much for your review. We are really happy to hear that you had such a fantastic time. We would love to welcome you at one of our other Natural Retreats locations please contact our concierge team for more information and the best rates. Thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ftunen
Heemskerk
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“You could stay here forever”
Reviewed 2 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

After a long trip by motorbike from Aberfeldy we arrived at our holiday home from Natural Retreats. What a wonderful house it was. A spacious living room with a very well equipped luxuary kitchen, including coffe machine for Illy pads etc. The view was beautiful, we saw the Orkney's, a great sea etc. The bedrooms were great with fine beds. We cooked breakfast ourselves and rented the Zodiac for a trip on the sea to watch seals, birds ands other isles. This is absolutely a great place to be.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location and the view
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2013
Thans very much for taking the time to post your review. We are always happy to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay and we hope to be able to welcome you to one of our other Natural Retreats locations soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T70PPO
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A stunning place to completely relax and unwind”
Reviewed 2 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

The accommodation is first class and immaculate. We have used this company before and know that it has very high standards. On arrival, the place was spotless with not even a water mark evident. The onsite staff looked after our every need, including organising a Doctor's appointment extremely promptly (thanks Janette). We took advantage of the company's wildlife spotting trip on the 'rib' craft, a large inflatable type boat. This was fantastic and well worth the cost. We saw seals, puffins and guillimots on a trip that lasted at least and hour and a half. The company also has a cafe at the site and an outfitters type shop just in case you forget anything or want to treat yourself.
My wife also had some of the Spa beauty treatments which are also on offer through this company. She enjoyed this tremendously and would certainly recommend it to others.
Natural Retreats are also renovating the John O'Groats Hotel to their usual high standards and we were lucky enough to get a look at the work so far and the usual quality of finish (thanks Adam). Last year we went to Land's End - I much preferred John O'Groats which is far less commercialised, restrictive or otherwise inhibiting. At Land's End, everything was either out of bounds or attracted a fee of some sort.
The area is quite stark and barren but is also stunning. It is impressive on a big scale rather than beautiful (like the Lakes for example). For us, a place to chill out for a week with a few activities taken in. We would certainly do this again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stunning view across to Stroma island and watching the ships go by
Liked least: Hard to say. Clearly, the weather can go either way this far North
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2013
Thanks very much for taking the time to post your feedback. We are always happy to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us and we do hope that you will continue to holiday with Natural Retreats and explore some of our other locations. Thanks again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing