We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly satisfactory”
Review of Bencorragh House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bencorragh House
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Providing you're not allergic to cats and don't have an aversion to Teddy Bears - be warned there is a plethora of both - this a perfectly satisfactory overnight stop. Breakfast was good and served speedily. Oddly for this day and age there was no TV in the room. Unlike some other reviewers we found both owners friendly and forthcoming. Satnav users should note that it is better to arrive from the Thurso - John O' Groats road (A836). We aproached from the south via minor roads and though the SatNav brought us very close, you couldn't actually recognise the B&B.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2013

We stayed here in June 2013. The directions were not clear and required several phone calls. Sandi was helpful but not around much. Husband verged on the unpleasant and seemed to resent our picnic in the sitting area one night and hustled the cats out saying they were not used to visitors being in the room at night. No recommendations as to where to eat so ate from the scabby chippie at John O'Groats one night and a picnic the second night. The room was tired, lumpy duvet or bed covering, shower dial just turned round and round, lavatory handle needed a good yank to flush and all in all not comfortable accommodation. Rather like the rip off merchants in Leicester Square, we were caught once, and that is fine for the owners so this review will not change anything. One wonders why they are in the B&B business as they seem not to enjoy it. As for the cats and the toys...! Oh, and the unemptied waste bin on arrival did not impress.

Room Tip: Check the reviews first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mousiechan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Host was helpful and charming. Breakfast was fresh and lovely. Accommodation though roomy (far too many beds, however for our purposes) was a bit tired and not quite up to standard.It is important to note that this is very much a working farm. Their are animals not just around the outside, but also very very many cats inside! I would not have booked here if I had known this as I am allergic to cats.Having said that, I was reassured they never enter the guest areas and I did not suffer an asthma attack, so this must have been so.I was looking for something a bit different and the Highlan' Coo outside our bedroom window was certainly that and very amusing!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Comfortable house, big rooms, clean, beautiful views, but very unfriendly welcome...We've come 2 families with 4 kids, and when we've asked to heat our baby food, he's told us that he doesn't know how it works, because he has choosed have animals instead of children....Afterwards I've asked to go and see the farm with the children and he has answered me "of course, not!!!, you can see the animals from the row".....
There is free wi-fi service, but only available in the common aereas, not inside the rooms, and doesn't work very fast
A little bit freaky the house, but clean....Would'nt return

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank draventolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We recently stayed 2 nights at this B&B. It is a working farm complete with highland cows and sheep, dogs and cats. We enjoyed our stay very much. Our room was clean and comfortable and our breakfast was very good. We wish the internet signal had been stronger, but it is a remote area. Inn-keeper, Sandi, was the shining star for us. She's a hoot! She also gave us good directions and dinner suggestions. We would absolutely recommend this B&B and would use it again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed here before crossing to Orkney, and whilst I like some individuality, the standard of the furnishings was not up to standard expected of a three star establishment. The cats in the lounge were fine but surely the litter tray could have been in the owners own accommodation. Our towels were thin, ragged and of indistinguishable colour. I am very glad there were no foreign visitors as I would have been embarrassed 'for Scotland'. Fortunately my faith was restored by a fabulous stay in Orkney at Buxa Farm.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

The husband is aloof and curt and seems to resent you being in his home. There are 5 cats in the guest area of the home as well as dozens of stuffed teddy bears and other animals. There were at least 100 stuffed animals on a shelf in our room. Dust collectors! like cats and have no allergies but I was not expecting to find so many and there was the unmistakable, lingering odour of cat urine in the house. Sandy herself is pleasant and accomodating.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank macKay201158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near John O'Groats
320.1 mi away
Castle Arms Hotel
Castle Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Thurso
276 reviews
6.3 mi away
Northern Sands Hotel
Northern Sands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunnet
51 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Castletown Hotel
The Castletown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castletown
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Seaview Hotel
Seaview Hotel
#3 of 6 in John O'Groats
309 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hamnavoe B&B
Hamnavoe B&B
#2 of 6 in John O'Groats
57 reviews
3.7 mi away
Natural Retreats John O'Groats
Natural Retreats John O'Groats
#1 of 3 in John O'Groats
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bencorragh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bencorragh House

Address: Upper Gills, Canisbay, John O'Groats KW1 4YD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > John O'Groats
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in John O'Groats
Price Range: £65 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bencorragh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bencorragh House Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing