We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Skara
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Thurso
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Park Hotel(Thurso)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveller rating
62
12
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
12
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsorkney islandsb bwarm welcomestayed here for one nightno hesitation in recommendingcooked to perfectionexcellent breakfastgloriahostfacilitiesensuitebedroom
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 75 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Pity about the approach through a housing estate, but at the top of the hill into the country is the Skara B&B, with the most magnificent views from the bedroom of the Pentland Firth, Hoy, Orkney and interesting shipping. Very clean room and facilities, though bed was a bit saggy and the lack of sound proofing between our and the next room was evident. Excellent breakfast, adequate and pleasant and helpful owner.
Twin room does not have en-suite though double rooms do. Adequate off street parking. Only £28 per person per night! Castle of Mey only a few miles away. Empty roads.

Room Tip: Ensure that you get a sea view when booking, and check the price as it varies by the season.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Artjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We arrived this evening and it's fantastic. This wonderful view out of the room over the whole Pentland Firth and the Orkney Islands is really great.
Our host Gloria is very friendly and polite. We're convinced that the breakfast will be good too.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We found this place through a recommendation from the Tourist Information Office and I'm so glad we did. We must have been really lucky too as it seems to be vey popular.

It really is a lovely peaceful spot, with wide ranging coastal views. Gloria was wonderfully welcoming and the facilities in the room and the guest house were all first class. Great breakfast.

When a place is this good, its often more difficult to write a review. Suffice to say, that if we ever get back to the area, we would certainly stay there again and would have no hesitation in recommending to anyone.

Room Tip: The room we had faced NE and looked across to the offshore islands.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We stayed at Skara for 3 nights and it was one of the best bed and breakfast's we encountered in two months travelling around the UK. The location was excellent, just outside Thurso with fantastic views of the coast from our room and a lovely hostess in the person of Gloria. She displayed the friendliest, most welcoming hospitality. We travelled halfway round the world to see the UK and staying at Thurso was one of the highlights. It is a great location for exploring the top end of Scotland and the Orkney's. We would come back and stay at Skara in a heartbeat and recommend it to anyone who wants a quiet, peaceful retreat with lovely hosts.

Room Tip: Book early as there are only a handful of rooms.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AussieCouple_Brissie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

My wife and I stayed two nights at Skara B&B in Thurso. It is situated on a hill top about a mile out of town, We arrived without reservations and were greeted enthusiastically by the owner Gloria Swanson. Gloria is an energetic and gracious host. She has everything highly organized and had us settled in quickly.

The room was clean and neat. The view from our window was a panorama of the local countryside and the Orkney Islands in the distance. The Internet, shower and coffee/tea service worked well. And we were well fed the next two mornings. Gloria also was good at giving local travel advice.

Two improvements I would like to have had:

1. Heat in the morning. The radiator in the room did not turn on until 7:00 a.m. so it was very cold for an early riser.

2. A bigger wash basin. The one in our room was microscopic and difficult to access. It made shaving in a cold room a real challenge.

The total cost for two people for two days was 112 pounds - a reasonable value.

Room Tip: Pick the room at the end of the hall with the view of the Orkney Islands.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ancient_Mountaineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews