We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Place to Stay”
Review of Skara

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thurso
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Skara
Ranked #8 of 19 Thurso B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
138 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A Nice Place to Stay”
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Skara B&B has great views of the ferry boats arriving or leaving to/from the Orkney Islands. Gloria was very accommodating. She made breakfast for us before we catch the early morning ferry to the Orkney Islands.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ganderandgoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
53
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Archiestown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We had a very warm welcome. The room was extremely nice, the view was excellent looking out on the Pentland firth, Dunnet head and hoy. Gloria was extremely helpfull on places to visit, and restaurants use. The breakfast plenty of choice and excellent. There was ample parking. Gloria was the perfect hostess. We are looking forward to returning. Thoroughly recommend .

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RRR54_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

This is one of the best B & Bs we have ever used. The views are stunning matched by the service & quality. Decor and facilities top notch. Although located on the outskirts of Thurso it is certainly worth the short trip up past the co-op to this first class accommodation. Very friendly and polite service. Will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jselbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

I found the place through TripAdvisor's page and relied on the reviews the B&B had received. I phoned Skara on the day of stay asking about a twin room. That late booking was not a problem for the owner at all. As she was away at that moment, we arranged for coming to the place in the early evening. The only issue we found with this B&B was its location - as the house number is not given, we followed the owner's advice and asked people in town for directions (we came by car but relied on a map, not GPS). However, if you can print out
the map available on the Skara's website before you set off, I am sure you will have no problems getting there. Also, 'Skara' name on the property's fence will tell you you have arrived at the right place.

The owner greeted us the moment she spotted us parking the car on the car park in front of the house. It is big enough for two cars. After we entered the house, our hostess showed us around and explained where all the things were. The place itself is well maintained, well-equipped and boasts with wonderful views all around. On a fine night with clear skies you can even admire the Northers Lights there. The twin room we occupied along with the bathroom next door for our exclusive use were warm, clean and tidy. The room had two comfortable beds with spare duvets in case of extremely cold nights, two chairs, two mirrors, a TV set, a hairdrier, an electric kettle with a tea set, and wi-fi access. The bathroom was spacious, with a shower cabin, a bath, fresh towels and a variety of cosmetics (shower gels, shampoos, handwashes and balms) for our use. Next morning we were served full Scottish breakfast preceded by a selection of yoghurts and fruits. The hostess also advised us on the places of interest and explained how to reach them. Overall, an A+ experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kinga K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Pity about the approach through a housing estate, but at the top of the hill into the country is the Skara B&B, with the most magnificent views from the bedroom of the Pentland Firth, Hoy, Orkney and interesting shipping. Very clean room and facilities, though bed was a bit saggy and the lack of sound proofing between our and the next room was evident. Excellent breakfast, adequate and pleasant and helpful owner.
Twin room does not have en-suite though double rooms do. Adequate off street parking. Only £28 per person per night! Castle of Mey only a few miles away. Empty roads.

Room Tip: Ensure that you get a sea view when booking, and check the price as it varies by the season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Artjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minga, null, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We arrived this evening and it's fantastic. This wonderful view out of the room over the whole Pentland Firth and the Orkney Islands is really great.
Our host Gloria is very friendly and polite. We're convinced that the breakfast will be good too.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromwell, New Zealand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We found this place through a recommendation from the Tourist Information Office and I'm so glad we did. We must have been really lucky too as it seems to be vey popular.

It really is a lovely peaceful spot, with wide ranging coastal views. Gloria was wonderfully welcoming and the facilities in the room and the guest house were all first class. Great breakfast.

When a place is this good, its often more difficult to write a review. Suffice to say, that if we ever get back to the area, we would certainly stay there again and would have no hesitation in recommending to anyone.

Room Tip: The room we had faced NE and looked across to the offshore islands.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thurso hotels
3.6 mi away
The Castletown Hotel
The Castletown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castletown
214 reviews
1.0 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 9 in Thurso
230 reviews
10.0 mi away
Castle Arms Hotel
Castle Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Thurso
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Forss House Hotel
Forss House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Thurso
293 reviews
1.3 mi away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#8 of 9 in Thurso
165 reviews
1.2 mi away
Y-Not Inn
Y-Not Inn
#7 of 19 in Thurso
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skara

Property: Skara
Address: Dixonfield, Thurso KW14 8YN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Thurso
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Thurso
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Skara Thurso, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing