We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room, newly refurb'd bathroom - amazing shower!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thurso
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Waterside Guest House
Ranked #18 of 19 Thurso B&B and Inns
Aberdeen
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely room, newly refurb'd bathroom - amazing shower!”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

After reading reviews on trip advisor, i must admit I was pretty reluctant to book this Bnb!
However on arrival we were pleasantly surprised!
We had an en-suite double room on the ground floor, which was spacious and modernly decorated in cream/neutral tones.
The room has a nice faux leather bed and a flat screen TV.

Bathroom had been newly installed and was crisp and clean with cream/white and contrasting dark tiles. Spotlessly clean, and the shower was very powerful... we were competing in the Scottish Surfing Championships so the shower was MUCH appreciated!

Only slight change bit of feedback I could give to the owners would be that it would be great if there was a little more room for hanging clothes. But lovely room and would stay there again in an instant.

We left too early for breakfast the first morning, so were given a packed one instead, which I thought was a lovely touch!
The second morning we both had a full cooked breakfast, which was tasty, lovely and fresh and very generous in portion size. Nothing was too much trouble (we had extra toast), and had a very nice family feel to the whole bed and breakfast!

Centrally located with nice views over river... the town centre is just round the corner... and walking distance from station etc.

Yes it is a big older house, so there are a few small things in need of fixing, but the room was lovely, the breakfast great, and the welcome very warm! Would recommend!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah1980_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    14
    7
    5
    19
See reviews for
9
19
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Lovely room, looked like it has just been refurbished all new shower room, "brill shower"
parkin just outside the door.

great value for money

Alex

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2012

i read the reviews of 2011 and was worried what i was coming to. But I shouldnt have been ! The guest house has been totally renovated - to hotel standard. all the rooms have brand new ensuite shower rooms and the bedrooms are lovely. I arrived early - around lunch time, and it was no problem checking in then. They had a garage for my bike to keep it secure and on the second day i got a packed breakfast to take on the early train with me. Really, nothing seemed to much bother. I would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: there is a Free wi-fi Hot spot for anyone to use - just ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david b b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Having booked in weeks earlier, it took only a few minutes to book out. I would rather have slept in my car. The bedroom was depressingly dark, none too clean and smelt of dogs. There was no shower mat or WiFi facilities, the one member of staff to whom I spoke was unhelpful. Tea and coffee-making facilities were minimal. My advice is to avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Area21a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Thurso hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

This hotel, if that's an accurate description was more like a bad youth hostel, the room looked clean on the surface in much the same way a child cleans their bedroom, everything electrical was powered using bright orange extension cables from one socket. This hotel was notified weeks before arrival that we secure (off road) motorcycle parking which was agreed upon booking, on arrival we were directed a gate at the side which was barely wide enough for a push bike, the staffs attitude was if they couldn't care less and were told to park them on a busy main road. In summary there are plenty of hotels in Thurso, so avoid this one.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ukmisterm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheenaghc, Owner at Waterside Guest House, responded to this review, 14 August 2011
Brand New Refurbishment May 2011 - check out the photos and make an informed decision.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2010

Entry hall and Lounge very damp smelling. Rooms were old fashioned but comfortable enough. Breakfast was good but our party was disappointed with the accommodation.
Was in a very nice area beside the river and near to the centre of the Town.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

I stayed here with friends whilst on a tour of Scotland as the prices looked reasonable.
However this is without doubt the worst place I have ever stayed in.
It was more like a very poor youth hostel than a B & B with old tired beds and furniture, no private parking.
Upon arrival the staff were unhelpful and there appeared to be only one bathroom between all the rooms and to top it all off one of our parties bed broke during the night !!

Never again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EBUman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thurso hotels
0.1 mi away
Pentland Hotel
Pentland Hotel
#7 of 9 in Thurso
122 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Castletown Hotel
The Castletown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castletown
219 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#4 of 9 in Thurso
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Castle Arms Hotel
Castle Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Thurso
253 reviews
5.0 mi away
Forss House Hotel
Forss House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Thurso
296 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Y-Not
The Inn at Y-Not
#7 of 19 in Thurso
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside Guest House

Property: Waterside Guest House
Address: 3 Janet Street, Thurso KW14 7AR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Thurso
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Thurso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guest House is situated beside the beautiful River Thurso and is well situated for shops, restaurants, train station and bus stops. Ensuite and standard rooms available - twin and double rooms Breakfast included in prices. Free internet available. Under new management since 2016 - upgrading in progress. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Waterside Guest House Thurso, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing