We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, no frills”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thurso
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Waterside Guest House
Ranked #17 of 19 Thurso B&B and Inns
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good value, no frills”
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We needed a good value B&B in Thurso and Waterside Guest house fitted the bill. No frills but comfortable and friendly. Our ground floor room was refurbished recently and spotless.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank morriswoodyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    12
    7
    5
    19
See reviews for
9
17
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Don't advertise wifi if it doesn't work. Waterside is more like hostel than b&b. It was rude service.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annnsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Thurso hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012 via mobile

We went there on 6.7 and the service was horrible! Everybody were so rude and even the other customers didn't say hello to us... The beds were also wery bad... The springs pushed my back all night long ...

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThehighlanderLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

After reading reviews on trip advisor, i must admit I was pretty reluctant to book this Bnb!
However on arrival we were pleasantly surprised!
We had an en-suite double room on the ground floor, which was spacious and modernly decorated in cream/neutral tones.
The room has a nice faux leather bed and a flat screen TV.

Bathroom had been newly installed and was crisp and clean with cream/white and contrasting dark tiles. Spotlessly clean, and the shower was very powerful... we were competing in the Scottish Surfing Championships so the shower was MUCH appreciated!

Only slight change bit of feedback I could give to the owners would be that it would be great if there was a little more room for hanging clothes. But lovely room and would stay there again in an instant.

We left too early for breakfast the first morning, so were given a packed one instead, which I thought was a lovely touch!
The second morning we both had a full cooked breakfast, which was tasty, lovely and fresh and very generous in portion size. Nothing was too much trouble (we had extra toast), and had a very nice family feel to the whole bed and breakfast!

Centrally located with nice views over river... the town centre is just round the corner... and walking distance from station etc.

Yes it is a big older house, so there are a few small things in need of fixing, but the room was lovely, the breakfast great, and the welcome very warm! Would recommend!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah1980_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Lovely room, looked like it has just been refurbished all new shower room, "brill shower"
parkin just outside the door.

great value for money

Alex

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2012

i read the reviews of 2011 and was worried what i was coming to. But I shouldnt have been ! The guest house has been totally renovated - to hotel standard. all the rooms have brand new ensuite shower rooms and the bedrooms are lovely. I arrived early - around lunch time, and it was no problem checking in then. They had a garage for my bike to keep it secure and on the second day i got a packed breakfast to take on the early train with me. Really, nothing seemed to much bother. I would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: there is a Free wi-fi Hot spot for anyone to use - just ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david b b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Having booked in weeks earlier, it took only a few minutes to book out. I would rather have slept in my car. The bedroom was depressingly dark, none too clean and smelt of dogs. There was no shower mat or WiFi facilities, the one member of staff to whom I spoke was unhelpful. Tea and coffee-making facilities were minimal. My advice is to avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Area21a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thurso hotels
0.1 mi away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#7 of 9 in Thurso
3.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 9 in Thurso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
5.0 mi away
Forss House Hotel
Forss House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Thurso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pentland Hotel
Pentland Hotel
#6 of 9 in Thurso
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Y-Not Inn
Y-Not Inn
#7 of 19 in Thurso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Marine, Thurso
The Marine, Thurso
#3 of 19 in Thurso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside Guest House

Property: Waterside Guest House
Address: 3 Janet Street, Thurso KW14 7AR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Thurso
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Thurso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
REFURBISHED FOR 20115 Rooms. 4 x en-suite + 1 x with private shower room. Free internet coming soon. Free Public Gym & Swimming Pool entry to all guests. Free Breakfast. Large Guest House situated beside the beautiful River Thurso. In the heart of Thurso - well situated for Shops, Restaurants, Train station and Ferry terminals. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Waterside Guest House Thurso, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing