We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another year another visit...says it all”
Review of Melvich Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Melvich Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Thurso
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Had another great visit to the Melvich Hotel whilst working in the area. This place is getting to feel like home from home as I would have no hesitation staying here again and again and again. Good food, local ales, fantastic seascapes and brilliant surroundings. I think one of the things that I like about this Hotel is its a nice change for all "the plastic" hotels within cities. Good menu, freshly cooked - food you can taste

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
There are newer reviews for Melvich Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

We loved the Melvich Hotel and Rob, the owner, has worked wonders on the fabric of this beautiful old Victorian building.; so we had a warm comfortable and very spacious double room facing south (Room 10). The dining room, too, has had a makeover and offers crisp and clear lines, gorgeous windows and a view to die for! It is also the quietest dining room I have been in for as long as I can remember - and it was full every night. The public bar was "good craic" and the whisky/lounge bar had an excellent array of whiskies - all itemised on the menu so you could order from your table when you'd had too many to stand up! Dinner and breakfast were good, the atmosphere laid back and the residents lounge really comfortable and quiet with free wi-fi.
We did fun stuff in the local area, walked along at least three massive beaches and generally listened to the silence.
We will be back.

Room Tip: We only stayed in room 10 but it was great.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed at the Melvich Hotel for two days to explore the North Coast. The location is ideal for John O Groats to the East and Cape Wrath to the West and all the places in between.
The rooms are clean and tidy, with ours overlooking the Bay. The food is excellent, myself having fish each night that was fresh and delicious.
There is a residents lounge where you can enjoy a quiet drink, alternatively you can join the locals in the bar which is a bit Spartan.
All in all a great venue, which I would thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the bay. Eat the fish it is excellent
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JOHN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We booked here having visited the Castle of Mey earlier in the day. The welcome was warm and our room was very comfortable with an excellent bathroom with bath and separate shower. The room was spacious and had a great view. We had high expectations of the food but found the wait rather long and the main course could have been hotter. The portions were quite small. Breakfast was OK but the choice was quite limited. It was annoying on check out to find items on the restaurant bill that we had not had. They were deducted when this was pointed out.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the bay
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AngelaMC009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

I know this hotel intimately as a young child - my grandmother was the Hotel Manager and we went there every year. Fond memories from my childhood were brought back as I walked through the entrance door, many things had changed for the better but the warm character of the hotel remains - and probably always will. This is a cosy Highland hotel, which has been extended and improved to cater for modern travellers, without loosing that warm wholesome welcome unique to many hotels along the north coast close to the Pentland Firth. The food was good highland food, with great flavours and quality oozing out with each mouthful. The locally caught fish is superb. the rooms are comfortable and clean with all that you need, and the public bar is a must to visit - a 'no frills' highland bar. Fond memories aside this is a very capable hotel with friendly staff catering for every patrons need. The walks along the local roads and to The Bighouse and the sands are breath taking as are the stunning views over the Pentland Firth looking on to Orkney. This management team have managed to keep the memories of a small child 'sweet' by the good food, service and modern facilities. I still love the sounds of the cows nearby being led to be milked.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Splishsplasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This is a nice enough hotel, well decked out with updated comfortable rooms overlooking bay or gardens. Good residents lounge but disappointed no fire blazing late September.
Evening meal was a very nice experience, well presented and interesting thoughtful dishes.
Breakfast, however, was rather poor. Not because of the quality of food but simply the portion size and options. Porridge is normally an option before any cooked breakfast I've ever had anywhere but here it was an alternative to anything else. One of the party asked for scrambled egg and got exactly that, the tiniest scrambled egg looking pitiful in the centre of a large plate. The waitress apologised! We all left hungry. For £140 per room b&b, I'd expect more. Owners and staff very pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fernlea64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

Most expensive accommodation during our 10 day motorbike tour in the Highlands. Performance low: tv no signal, shower nozzle defect, several lights in the room defect. Fawlty Towers would be the heaven.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JosLamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurso
10.8 mi away
Bettyhill Hotel
Bettyhill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bettyhill
338 reviews
10.1 mi away
Forss House Hotel
Forss House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Thurso
304 reviews
25.8 mi away
Castle Arms Hotel
Castle Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Thurso
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
The Tongue Hotel
The Tongue Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tongue
356 reviews
19.6 mi away
The Castletown Hotel
The Castletown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castletown
227 reviews
15.1 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#4 of 9 in Thurso
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melvich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melvich Hotel

Address: Melvich by Thurso, Thurso KW14 7YJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Thurso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Thurso
Price Range: £76 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Melvich Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melvich Hotel changed ownership in October 2007 and after a lengthy six month refurbishment is now open for business again in 2008. With 14 bedrooms, a bar & restaurant, outdoor terrace and beautiful gardens overlooking Melvich Bay, it is the ideal location for anyone travelling through the North of Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Melvich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melvich Hotel Thurso, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing