We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Melvich Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Melvich Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Thurso
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
70 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“A very pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

A colleague booked me a room for a one night stay while working locally. We were greeted and escorted to our room by somebody in chef's whites who went out of his way to welcome us and tell us about the facilities. The room was big, simply furnished and tastefully decorated; it had everything we needed. We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner which was taken from a simple menu with a couple of daily specials added; it was well cooked and used fresh, high quality local ingredients. Similarly breakfast met our all needs, except for merely warm coffee. On checkout staff were friendly and cheerful.
This isn't a flash, pretentious hotel. It does things simply and does them well. I hope I get a chance to stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    64
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
12
103
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

A clean and tastefully decorated hotel with very comfortable beds.
If you are a fan of single malt whisky the bar has a plentiful selection to choose from.

We were travelling with a baby, the staff were very attentive making sure we had everything we need.

Will stay again when we return to the area.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andyr72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
300 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 410 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

The owner greeted us and organised a continental breakfast as we were off to orkney on the 08:45. As you have to be scrabster 30 mins before and the drive was 30 mins we could not make cooled breakfast which starts at 08:00. Anyway food was good, rooms clean and comfy. The guests lounge was cost and spent a jive time drinking coffee and reading the register for the war years. Public bar is closed mon/ tue. Evening meal was good. Didn't try the whisky but can confirm there is a good range.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank plaistowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

There's so much to like about this hotel. We felt valued as guests and thought the tour on arrival and being shown to our room added a welcome personal touch. The room itself was exceptional - large, comfortable and tastefully decorated in neutral colours and with a spacious, modern bathroom and spectacular views. I've sometimes paid twice as much for far less.

We had both dinner and breakfast in the dining room. Drinkers will appreciate the vast selection of wines and spirits behind the bar. I felt a little more choice of food might have been welcome although it is genuinely home cooked and refreshingly different.

I remembered visiting the Melvich Hotel about a decade earlier and it's clear that the current owners have put a lot of thought into making it what it is today without depriving it of any of its character. We felt this was by far the best hotel of our short break on Scotland's north coast and would have no hesitation whatsoever in returning or recommending.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Had another great visit to the Melvich Hotel whilst working in the area. This place is getting to feel like home from home as I would have no hesitation staying here again and again and again. Good food, local ales, fantastic seascapes and brilliant surroundings. I think one of the things that I like about this Hotel is its a nice change for all "the plastic" hotels within cities. Good menu, freshly cooked - food you can taste

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We loved the Melvich Hotel and Rob, the owner, has worked wonders on the fabric of this beautiful old Victorian building.; so we had a warm comfortable and very spacious double room facing south (Room 10). The dining room, too, has had a makeover and offers crisp and clear lines, gorgeous windows and a view to die for! It is also the quietest dining room I have been in for as long as I can remember - and it was full every night. The public bar was "good craic" and the whisky/lounge bar had an excellent array of whiskies - all itemised on the menu so you could order from your table when you'd had too many to stand up! Dinner and breakfast were good, the atmosphere laid back and the residents lounge really comfortable and quiet with free wi-fi.
We did fun stuff in the local area, walked along at least three massive beaches and generally listened to the silence.
We will be back.

Room Tip: We only stayed in room 10 but it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed at the Melvich Hotel for two days to explore the North Coast. The location is ideal for John O Groats to the East and Cape Wrath to the West and all the places in between.
The rooms are clean and tidy, with ours overlooking the Bay. The food is excellent, myself having fish each night that was fresh and delicious.
There is a residents lounge where you can enjoy a quiet drink, alternatively you can join the locals in the bar which is a bit Spartan.
All in all a great venue, which I would thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the bay. Eat the fish it is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOHN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurso
9.8 mi away
Forss House Hotel
Forss House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Thurso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
25.5 mi away
Castle Arms Hotel
Castle Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Thurso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
14.8 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 9 in Thurso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Bettyhill Hotel
Bettyhill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bettyhill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
19.2 mi away
The Castletown Hotel
The Castletown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castletown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
18.8 mi away
The Tongue Hotel
The Tongue Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tongue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melvich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melvich Hotel

Property: Melvich Hotel
Address: Melvich by Thurso, Thurso KW14 7YJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Thurso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Thurso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Melvich Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melvich Hotel changed ownership in October 2007 and after a lengthy six month refurbishment is now open for business again in 2008. With 14 bedrooms, a bar & restaurant, outdoor terrace and beautiful gardens overlooking Melvich Bay, it is the ideal location for anyone travelling through the North of Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Melvich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melvich Hotel Thurso, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing