We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (253)
Filter reviews
253 results
Traveller rating
125
97
23
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
125
97
23
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews residents lounge cosy lounge overlooking the bay lovely hotel north coast of scotland venison high standard dining room enjoyed our stay good size short stay evening meal first class local area room was spacious stayed for one night breakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 253 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped a night on the NC500 trip. Hotel was alright. The pizza was nice and the waitress were very friendly with good views from the restraint. A lounge area was very comfortable to relax in. Nice car park with the view onto the loch and beyond was gorgeous. WiFi was good. The room was very nice with an L shaped bathroom. Only negatives were beds springs had gone and got minimal sleep. Very uncomfortable. A staff member also walked into our room without knocking.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank stuart_haynes11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018

It feels like we must have been staying in an entirely different hotel to the previous reviewers as we found nothing about this hotel deserving of any merit apart from the young friendly staff. Do not be fulled by the website imagery which is 'creative' with the truth to say the least! The building you will be sleeping in is not the characterful Scottish lodge portrayed in the photos, but the 1960s/70s addition to the side of it, and it very much feels like the dated rooms and dark corridors have not been updated since. The overall musty damp smell of the building and rooms is overpowering, leaving you
wondering when it was last aired. While the waiting staff were friendly, they were also young and inexperienced and there seemed to be no one in charge. The pizza was ok, the white wine warm.
Sadly this hotel is cashing in on its fortunate location on the NC500 and, knowing many
of its visitors are on tour, makes little attempt at creating a hotel that you'd want to return
to.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank c D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018

The small team of young staff clearly worked hard to meet the demands of their visitors. A friendly welcome and a quick tour of the hotel to help me get my bearings en route to being shown my room. The room was large with spacious bathroom, comfortable bed and tea making facilities. Evening meal in the restaurant was tasty home made pizza with dessert featuring delicious Orkney ice cream, always a winner. Breakfast was good although choice of eggs limited for some reason. As a solo traveller I appreciated the reduced rate for single occupancy, not something offered by all hotels. Beautiful setting with gardens overlooking the bay.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scotslady2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018

We only stayed for one night, as part of our highlands tour. I was slightly apprehensive looking at the outside but the rooms were clean, comfortable and nice to have a bath. Our meal in the restaurant was very nice and the staff friendly and helpful.

Stayed: July 2018
1  Thank Geraldine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2018

Chose this hotel, due to location on the NC500, and couldn’t have chosen better, lovely greeting, staff so friendly, room excellent, with a great view, had an evening meal, and very much enjoyed the food.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Alison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews