We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for a couple of nights.”
Review of Station Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Station Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Thurso
Redcliffe, Australia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Okay for a couple of nights.”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This is an old hotel with a couple of floors. No elevator. Quite nice reception, dining room and bar. Rooms are old but adequate and the water pressure in the shower is low but enough. Comfortable bed and the room has TV and heaters. It's about a 25 minute walk to Tesco at a leisurely pace. Dinner was basic but the breakfast was poor. It seemed that the bacon was boiled in the same water that the eggs were poached in.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wynnuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    52
    40
    16
    13
See reviews for
24
53
16
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed as a couple in April as part of a driving tour. Easy enough to find from the A9, ample parking. The guy on check in was friendly. Our room turned out to be motel-style, opening onto the car park on the ground floor. We booked through laterooms on the basis of it being a smoking room (hard to find nowadays) but it seemed that all the rooms we could see were non-smoking. Not a huge problem though as the car park was just outside the room and the weather was dry.
The room was generally clean, although with a couple of small patches the cleaners seemed to always miss.
There were 2 beds, a queen size and a single, both comfortable. The room was rather warm in the night despite it being cold outside, but the radiator was easily turned down. There was no noise to speak of. A curtain divided the room into a lounge area by the door, and the beds and bathroom at the back; which was useful to keep the bed area dark.
The bathroom was clean and well presented, though the shower head was fixed to the wall in a slightly low position for us.
Only decaffinated coffee was provided, my girlfriend had stashed some coffee from the previous night at another hotel and asked for more sugar from the front desk, which I am told was cheerfully provided.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is our third stay at this hotel, we always request a chalet room as they are peaceful, clean and the beds are the most comfiest beds we have slept on whilst travelling. Even though it was the 1st of June the heating was available if needed and the breakfast is absolutely first class and always sets us up for the travel back home. The staff have always been polite and friendly and I will have no hesitation recommending this hotel to family and friends after our location to Caithness.

Room Tip: The chalet rooms are peaceful, spacious and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eileen062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights with my small dog, and we had a great time. When we arrived, we were taken straight to our room and had help with our luggage. The room was really great - it was large, spacious & bright - there was an area for the beds (which were probably the most comfortable I have slept in in years), and then a large seating area with a sofa and coffee table etc. The bathroom was also large and had everything you would need. The location is great - just a 7 minute walk away from the seafront and just a couple of minutes walk to the shops. We absolutely loved Thurso and would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alinandempsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Had one of the chalet rooms. Good tea/coffee tray with biscuits. Freeview TV and free wifi. They had a boiler failure on my first night and promptly brought over an electric heater when I phoned to ask about the lack of heat.
Good breakfast - if you're not too hungry, remember to ask for just one egg.
Decent evening meals and its less than 10 minutes walk from the station and close to Thurso town centre and has off road parking.

Friendly, clean family run hotel, stayed there many times and will continue to do so.

Should say that Thurso goes to bed early - don't expect to be able to eat late anywhere!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

My son and I stayed here for one night including our pet collie which was no issue. We had our own very clean apartment and were very comfortable for our purpose. Arrived at about six at night with no booking but that was no issue and were accommodated with helpful friendly staff. Thankyou

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kakriska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Having arrived in Thurso late afternoon, this was the third hotel in which we tried to obtain a room - the first was undergoing refurbishment and the second fully booked.

We were directed to The Station. It was basic but very comfortable. We stayed in a chalet style room which was warm and cosy but the bathroom was cold and the radiator leaked when I switched it on. We didn't discover this until late at night so we got round it by leaving the bathroom door open overnight so the heat permeated through. The shower was nice and hot and powerful.

At dinner, the fish main course I ordered was unavailable so I plumped for something else - I can't remember what but I remember saying that it was tasty.

My partner ordered a lasagne - he didn't want veg or salad but asked for some parmesan. Apparantly the parmesan was frozen. We got several apologies for the time it took to bring it but it never materialised so he gave up waiting and just ate the lasagne as it was.

For dessert, he ordered one with cream but we were told there was very little left. However, what he had was nice.

After dinner we reitred to the bar area and I ordered a Calypso coffee. However, we were reminded that there was no cream available.

Frankly, if I'd been in charge, I'd have popped to a local shop to obtain some rather than give off such a disorganised impression.

This place was OK - but only just. To be honest, we probably won't return though.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thurso hotels
0.4 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 9 in Thurso
230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pentland Hotel
Pentland Hotel
#6 of 9 in Thurso
112 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Castletown Hotel
The Castletown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castletown
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Castle Arms Hotel
Castle Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Thurso
250 reviews
4.9 mi away
Forss House Hotel
Forss House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Thurso
293 reviews
0.1 mi away
St Clair Hotel
St Clair Hotel
#7 of 9 in Thurso
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Station Hotel

Property: Station Hotel
Address: 54 Princes Street, Thurso KW14 7DH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Thurso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Thurso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Station Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Station Hotel Thurso, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing