We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Bistro

Le Bistro
Ranked #5 of 30 Restaurants in Thurso
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$13
Cuisines: British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A quaint bistro style restaurant located in the heart of Thurso serving locally sourced produce and home baking.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Friendly Welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Jenny took our booking and then suggested the historical walk before our booking time. What a lovely welcome to Thurso! The service is efficient, non flustered and friendly. The battered fish has a delightful thin crispy batter. There is a fine selection of wine. Thank you Jenny for your friendly welcome to the Aussies!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brisbanites_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    106
    35
    17
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Intimate setting, quality food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Really enjoyed my meal in this quiet intimate family run restaurant. Laid back and relaxed atmosphere. Excellent.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thurso, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Less than satisfied”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Having read some of the reviews of this restaurant we were looking forward to the experience. We'd booked earlier in the day for 7pm but on our arrival there seemed to be some confusion as to where we were going to sit, They eventually decided on a small table near the door/window. I ordered a tomato soup starter which was tasty and piping hot (my partner passed on the starter). Despite advertising sirloin steak on the specials board they'd run out by 7pm on a Friday evening (also out of lamb chops).
I settled on the "haggis stuffed chicken fillet served on a bed of mash with veg" and my partner had chicken & bacon pancake type of thing in a sauce, served with chips & salad. The mains arrived about 15/20 minutes after the starter. Whilst my partner's dish looked and tasted ok, mine can best be described as a small piece of stuffed chicken on a spoonful of mash served with one & a half baby potatoes and two mouthfuls of veg. Whilst the chicken tasted ok on top, I would have needed a hacksaw to cut through the base. At £15 I was less than impressed! We declined the the sweet menu which at £5.95 would have made it the most expensive pudding I'd ever paid for. Altogether including a bottle of house wine the bill was just short of £50. Poor value indeed for what could have been rustled up for a fiver at the most.
The experience was disappointing to say the least and whilst the waitress said she'd pass on my thoughts to the manager, I'll take some persuading to make a return visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank NEIL S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp Province, Belgium
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Small and beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Le Bistro is a small restaurant. Unpretentious, but a friendly staffs serves an a fair price the best local food, especially fish dishes.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Raybel2390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“A bright place in a grey town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We were recommended this establishment by the proprieter or the B&B we stayed at. The restaurant was spotlessly clean, deceptively spacious and the staff very pleasant and welcoming.The Cullen Skink was probably the best I have ever had followed by Salmon, the food was cooked to perfection and served on hot plates, much appreciated. The portions were generous and the veg fresh. Prices we thought were a little high but quality was excellent. We would certainly recomend this establishment for any visitors to the town or area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pastelman10Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Bistro also viewed

Thurso, Caithness and Sutherland
Thurso, Caithness and Sutherland
 
Thurso, Caithness and Sutherland
Thurso, Caithness and Sutherland
 
Thurso, Caithness and Sutherland
Thurso, Caithness and Sutherland
 

Been to Le Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing