We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Believe the reviews this one is really good”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thurso
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pennyland House B&B
Ranked #1 of 19 Thurso B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
OZ
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Believe the reviews this one is really good”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We have been staying in B&B for the last 2 weeks while driving around Scotland and Pennyland House far surpasses anywhere else. The hosts were very friendly, the service was next to none and the room was great. This is the first B&B we have stayed in where the ensuite was a full sized bathroom. Home made shortbread in the room on arrival was the final touch.
They even done our washing!!!

Room Tip: Royal Dornach is a large room with big ensuite and lovely views of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tannedoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
206
14
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucks
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Ray is a brilliant host and this is reflected in the high standards encountered at Pennylands.

We stayed for one night, calling on the off chance- what a find - a large house converted to a very high standard. Really the accolades written by others are true, I can really only say 'Thanks' Ray for helping me out of a tight spot, pleasure meeting both you and Carol,

Good Luck in the future..

MJG123

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This is one of the best B&Bs I have ever been in. It is an eighteenth century B listed building where the founder of the Boy's Brigade was born. The current owner's, Raymond and Carol, just cannot do enough for you. Provide information on areas of local interest including marking it all on a map. The rooms are spotless, furnished to a very high standard and extremely comfortable. The breakfast provided was excellent including fresh fruit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We arrived, with friends, for a three night stay to find excellent accommodation and a warm friendly welcome. Carol and Raymond say the best compliment to be paid is for guests to return ... and we will!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scmorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
227 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed here in May for three nights and it was the best B & B we have encountered for a long time and the standard had been high in Scotland, we'd had some great stays.

Excellent shower, room and breakfast with very friendly hosts, Raymond and Carole. We loved the homemade shortbread, which I thought were fish shaped but were actually thistles...! Doh!

Delicious breakfasts filled us up for the day, excellent quality. We will definitely be going back. Fantastic.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JemimaLollipop11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borders, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This is a superb B&B which attains excellence in all aspects and is very reasonably priced.

The hosts, Raymond and Carole, with the support of others at Pennyland obviously work very hard to achieve and then maintain these very high standards. The B&B is furnished to very high standards, the bed was very comfortable, towels great quality and the breakfasts superb especially the local black pudding.

Raymond's passion for the area comes shinning through and his tip for local indian restaurant turned out to be first class as well.

Looking for somewhere to stay in Thurso, look no further than Pennyland.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honestview23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stromness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Pennyland House lived up to its reputation from the moment we entered the door and met the hospitable owners Ray and Carol Taylor. Their obvious enthusiasm for running such an establishment and for making people feel very welcome as soon as they arrived, was obvious.

Our room was spacious, comfortable and airy. So often one finds that although well appointed, quite often a miner's helmet light is needed to peer through the gloom of one room! Not so at Pennyland House where a light touch has been applied to the decor and careful thought given to the furniture and fittings. The use of real wood in the furniture and flooring added an element of solidity to the overall ambience and the result is luxurious, airy and light.

The themed rooms mirror golf courses as golf is clearly a passion of the owner. Our room Royal Dornoch, had a series of beautifully framed prints taken from antique glass photographic plate depicting the Royal Dornoch golf course of yesteryears. This made a welcome change from the mainstream "off the shelf" hotel art that is so popular these days. Our en suite bathroom was well appointed and we were provided with all our washing needs from towels and flannels through to very pleasant soaps and shower gels.

The guest information was well presented and included a printed dossier of up to date menus from all the main restaurants and bistros in the Thurso area. A most useful guide when one is looking for an evening meal in the vicinity.

Our stay was capped off with a delicious breakfast which commenced with a small plate of fresh fruits. Just the thing for getting the appetite sharpened for a good range of cereals, porridge and a wide ranging Scottish breakfast which was tailored to our personal needs via a well constructed menu card that was placed in our room to be filled out the previous evening. Such attention to detail thus smoothed the way to our cooked breakfasts being ready to eat without a long delay while we fussed over a menu at the breakfast table as our orders were already in the kitchen along with the time when we requested breakfast.

We have often travelled through Thurso to the Port of Scrabster to take the ferry to and from Orkney where we live. As a result of staying at Pennyland House I think we will be breaking our journey and staying over in Thurso on future crossings in order that we can further enjoy Ray and Carol's hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony_Barthorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thurso hotels
4.6 mi away
Forss House Hotel
Forss House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Thurso
293 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Castletown Hotel
The Castletown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castletown
214 reviews
11.3 mi away
Castle Arms Hotel
Castle Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Thurso
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 9 in Thurso
230 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pentland Hotel
Pentland Hotel
#6 of 9 in Thurso
110 reviews
14.2 mi away
Melvich Hotel
Melvich Hotel
#4 of 9 in Thurso
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pennyland House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pennyland House B&B

Property: Pennyland House B&B
Address: Pennyland House Pennyland House, Thurso KW14 7JU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Thurso
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Thurso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pennyland House is located on the edge of Thurso in a quiet, but convenient location and boasts wonderful views of the Orkney Islands, Dunnet Head, Scrabster and Thurso Bay. It is a three story building dating back over two hundred years. Built in 1780 it is historically noted for being the birthplace of Sir William Alexander Smith, the founder of the Boys Brigade. Over the past few years we have sympathetically renovated this historic building and turned it into a comfortable and interesting bed and breakfast for our guests. Although not yet rated, we are confident that you will not be disappointed with the quality and service during your stay with us. We have enjoyed putting our personal stamp on Pennyland House and have tried to reflect what we believe people want in a 'home from home'. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pennyland House B&B Thurso, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing