We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lucky with the weather” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dunnet Head

Dunnet Head
Ranked #2 of 14 things to do in Thurso
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Promoting the north of Scotland. We are the managers of the North Highland Way project, developed the Dunnet Head Educational Trust and have a wealth of knowledge about the walking, wildlife and general information about the North. Dunnet Head is the focal point of the North Highland Way.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Lucky with the weather”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We didn't have time to do the 6 mile round trip walk from dunnet village so we paid £40 for a taxi from the station. The driver was a fine person and we spent a good hour looking round. He was ex merchant Navy a great guy.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank rod002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    161
    32
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Make the detour...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Great views, worth drive out there. Nice beach on the road from Thurso to Dunnet Head called Dunnet Bay, good for a picnic.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank monmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Windy and wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

I almost fell off the edge of mainland Britain whilst checking the latitude (N 58deg. 40mins 17seconds).

This is a must see if you are in the area. Don't miss a visit to Mary Anne's cottage nearby.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tevez H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
348 reviews
174 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Memory lane”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

We came here 14 years ago and still the same. Great views of Orkney. Nice to feel far from the hussle bustle of London. About as far as it gets without a plane or boat.

Helpful?
Thank Mintyburble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Views of Orkneys and Nesting Birds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

The most northerly point of mainland Britain is totally unspoilt. The roads leading to it are narrow but, on our visit at least, there is not much traffic. Plenty of space for parking.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dunnet Head also viewed

Thurso, Caithness and Sutherland
John O'Groats, Caithness and Sutherland
 
Thurso, Caithness and Sutherland
Thurso, Caithness and Sutherland
 

Been to Dunnet Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing