We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best nights sleep and warm welcome”
Review of Castle Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Castle Arms Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Thurso
west sussex
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best nights sleep and warm welcome”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

I stayed in the newly decorated honeymoon suite and it was beautiful. The bed was extremely comfortable with crisp white bed linen, I had amazing sleeps. The bathroom is newly fitted so everything was sparkling clean with an amazing walk in shower. The food in the restaurant was plentiful and great quality. The hotel is perfectly placed to access the boat across to Orkney. Jean and Bill are both extremely welcoming and I will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissWooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    98
    27
    10
    13
See reviews for
34
168
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wick, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

After hearing good reports we thought we would take our visitors here for an evening meal. Maybe not again.

One problem was the service, not exactly professional or knowledgeable. When ordering a bitter shandy being asked what is a bitter. A number of items on a sparse menu not being available. The food when arrived was well cooked but why the rhubarb & ice cream came on separate dishes? The Lasagne, we could not make out if it was beef or quorn but not a dish to have.

Maybe we got it on a bad day but not sure we will be back to find out.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, Owner at Castle Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
We are sorry that your dining experience was not to your satisfaction and find your comments about the staff a bit unfair. We had two new waitresses who are here for the summer from the Czech Republic and they were learning and the fact is that not many Scottish people ask for bitter which is why they wouldn't understand, and in fact we do not sell bitter, so that's another reason why they wouldn't understand. We don't agree that the menu is sparse particularly for a small village hotel and with a selection of 5 starters, 8 mains, 3 vegetarian mains, 5 desserts and a cheeseboard believe that to be a resonably sized menu. We make our lasagne fresh every other day so perhaps you had the last of a batch which may not have been as good as it should have, but please feel free to try us again and perhaps our new smoked platter may help you change your mind about us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We were welcomed by the new owners, Jean and William, who were very friendly. We had a lovely little chalet which had been completely refurbished. The breakfast was delicious. Real mushroomsnot the tinned variety. The evening meal we had would not be out of place in a 5 star hotel. Compliments to the chef. We had our little dog with us and he had a ball. I wouldnt hesitate to recommend to friends

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jean b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carterton
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights recently our room was clean, comfortable, had a lovely big bath, and had lots of sunlight in the morning, the breakfast was excellent, and our hosts were very friendly and helpful, all in all a very nice experience

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welshgoldCarterton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

I arrived at the Castle Arms at the end of a long Lands End to John o' Groats cycle ride and was immediately warmly welcomed by Jean. I felt like I was walking into my local, not a place 500 miles away!
I soon met Bill and we shared a drink and a chat.

The owners are extremely friendly and it really was great to meet them. The room itself was perfect - just what I needed - large comfy bed, cosy electric blanket and nice hot shower. The room was spotless and clearly a lot of effort has been put into modernising the bathrooms.

I had a wonderful cooked breakfast in the morning and the dining room also had a very friendly atmosphere.

I'm so glad that I stopped here - thanks again for such a nice end to a long hard journey.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Johno E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013 via mobile

This hotel needs a lot of time, money and energy spent on it. I hope the owners who have been here since October will be able to do so. During our visit it felt like a down at heel B&B. It isn't in the greatest of locations, no sea views, but it is handy for John O'Groats and the Orkney Ferry. It will take a lot to bring this hotel up to the standard promised on its website. I wish the owners luck.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Soper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

When you first pull in to the castle arms you feel like you have arrived at a lovely wee place, warm interior and lovely new furnishings. Clearly undergone and undergoing investment, nicely done and in keeping with the fantastic building. Beautiful new bathroom, fantastic fluffy white bath sheets and new crisp bedding, only comment..... would benifit from a new hair dryer! Overall highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hlizd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurso
6.6 mi away
The Castletown Hotel
The Castletown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castletown
222 reviews
15.7 mi away
Forss House Hotel
Forss House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Thurso
300 reviews
10.8 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#3 of 9 in Thurso
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Northern Sands Hotel
Northern Sands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunnet
33 reviews
14.2 mi away
Norseman Hotel
Norseman Hotel
#2 of 4 in Wick
290 reviews
11.0 mi away
Pentland Hotel
Pentland Hotel
#6 of 9 in Thurso
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Arms Hotel

Property: Castle Arms Hotel
Address: Mey, Thurso KW14 8XH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Thurso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Thurso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel was originally a 19th. century coaching inn which has been updated and extended over the years. We took over the Hotel on 7th. September 2012 and have carried out extensive refurbishments over the winter months, beginning with totally new en-suites for each room which were completed by the end of February, 2013.We have added new furniture and lamps and will be redecorating every room and adding new beds and other furniture to present a higher standard than before.The exterior of the Hotel is currently being repainted and this work should be completed before the end of May, 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Castle Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Arms Hotel Thurso, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing