We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”
Review of Castle Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Castle Arms Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Thurso
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Just a short review to say how pleased we were with our stay there. The accommodation was excellent as were the very attentive owners. Nice dinner bettered by an excellent breakfast. A special mention for the waitresses who were polite,respectful and unobtrusive. Two young ladies who deserve success.
All in all a good stay.
John and Sonia

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jon h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    91
    26
    10
    11
See reviews for
33
159
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The rooms were modern and well equipped, menu offered a good range of choices. Our request for an early breakfast in order to catch the ferry to Orkney was fully met. Hotel is approx. 10 to 15 minutes drive from John o' Groats making it a good place to stop if you are booked on the day trip ferry. Shame the WIFI was only available in the public areas.

Every thing was fine

Room Tip: Depending on taste you may wish to be in the main building or the courtyard rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 757ChrisS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, Owner at Castle Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thanks very much for your kind words.

We have recently had installed two wi-fi repeaters which provide w-fi into every room, although there do appear to be teething problems with these and they will only work if people take care around the equipment. We have a repeat visit from the computer expert in the very near future to install another repeater and hopefully he can iron out the teething snags.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

A delightful place to stay, especially if you are catching the ferry to Orkney. Bob and Jean are super hosts. They have made a great atmosphere and bend over backwards to please their visitors. Food and staff are excellent. Great decor.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosemary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Lovely to find somewhere in this beautiful part of the world offering wheelchair accessible accommodation. Friendly staff, lovely food. Value for money compared to other places we considered in Thurso / John O'Groats; apart from which Castle Arms is in a lovely setting anway, well placed for castle of Mey. Hope to return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eleanor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glos, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Initial impressions were good - smart looking and well placed for ferry to Orkney. The welcome from Jean was warm as she showed us to our smart room - recently refurbished. The 2 young Czech girls were charming if, understandably, slightly nervous as they had only been there for 3 weeks - their English will improve during their stay there and Jean is a very supportive 'mother hen' to them. Food was very good and excellent value. After dinner Jean and her staff joined us in the bar for a good natter - can't fault the place!

Room Tip: We were in the Orkney room - excellent but above the bar so a little noise at closing time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
124 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Very small room, no where to place suitcases, mattress on double bed was hard, doona cover wasn't big enough to prevent cold air coming in from the sides and end, doona was lumpy as were pillows, bathroom minute (1.5 x 1.5 metres), tiny corner shower hardly big enough to turn around in (glad I didn't drop the soap), no where to place the soap, poor hot water pressure ( it was just a dribble), light above bathroom mirror didn't work, one of the recessed globes in the bathroom ceiling had blown and the management had no spares to replace it with, free wifi only worked (for us) in one corner of the lounge, cereal boxes at breakfast past their use by date, fresh fruit at breakfast was at some time in its life but not now and all of this for more per night than a modern, clean, comfortable, new B&B we stayed in the previous night at Pitlochry - no thanks

Room Tip: If there are larger rooms as for one but only with caution
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Warooka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, Owner at Castle Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Sorry to hear your complaints but as you stayed for two nights and we spoke frequently to you why did you fail to mention any problems then as they could easily have been dealt with there and then? For a start the room is a perfectly normal double size and your suitcases could easily have been placed in the large wardrobe or under the shelf in the room. Hardness of bed is a subjective issue but nobody else has ever mad that complaint before and again the "doona" which I presume is duvet is normal size for a double bed so perhaps you just wriggled about too much.
The bathroom is a decent size and the shower new and the base is 750 by 750. Some showers are smaller at 600 by 600. Our chef uses that room sometimes when she stays over for cooking breakfasts and by her own admission is larger than you and even she says the shower is a fine size even for her.
Even in the most modern hotel if several rooms use the shower at the same time water pressure will be affected and again nobody has complained before about this in your room. If you had mentioned the lights when we spoke to you they would have been replaced as I do carry spares - you just didn't bother asking. The wi-fi works perfectly well in all public areas of the Hotel and even when you were here has been extended to cover all inside rooms with outside rooms being connected very soon when we receive some new equipment.
The cereals are not out of date as you suggest, but each box has two dates - one the date of production and showing as 03.03.14, then below this the use by date 03.03.15. Our fresh fruit is bought daily so is fresh.
As far as cost is concerned we are a proper limited company and have to charge VAT at 20% on our room rates while a small b and b in Pitlochry will not be VAT registered and in many cases small b and b owners don't even declare income for tax. That's why they can charge less. Our Hotel may not be modern, originating in the 1850's as a coaching inn, but we do provide cleanliness and comfort as previous reviews will testify.
We provide a quality service and if things do go wrong we admit our faults and try to remedy them, but you are sadly mistaken in your comments and we resent that as we work very hard to provide good service and only buy quality products and produce.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Jean and Bill made us most welcome the accommodation was very good and food terrific.

I can highly recommend this hotel unfortunately we could only stay one night but if we tour again I will try to arrange a longer stay.

Pam and Alan Weston

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Westno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurso
6.6 mi away
The Castletown Hotel
The Castletown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castletown
214 reviews
15.7 mi away
Forss House Hotel
Forss House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Thurso
293 reviews
10.8 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 9 in Thurso
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.5 mi away
Melvich Hotel
Melvich Hotel
#4 of 9 in Thurso
176 reviews
11.0 mi away
Pentland Hotel
Pentland Hotel
#6 of 9 in Thurso
110 reviews
14.2 mi away
Norseman Hotel
Norseman Hotel
#2 of 4 in Wick
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Arms Hotel

Property: Castle Arms Hotel
Address: Mey, Thurso KW14 8XH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Thurso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Thurso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel was originally a 19th. century coaching inn which has been updated and extended over the years. We took over the Hotel on 7th. September 2012 and have carried out extensive refurbishments over the winter months, beginning with totally new en-suites for each room which were completed by the end of February, 2013.We have added new furniture and lamps and will be redecorating every room and adding new beds and other furniture to present a higher standard than before.The exterior of the Hotel is currently being repainted and this work should be completed before the end of May, 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Castle Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Arms Hotel Thurso, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing