We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castle Arms Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Hotel(Thurso)
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$198
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hawthorns(Thurso)
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Murray House(Thurso)
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$316
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (288)
Filter reviews
288 results
Traveller rating
127
109
27
12
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
127
109
27
12
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew ownersjohn o'groatsred wine piegills bayevening mealsmall hotellovely mealrecommend this hotel to anyonenext morningday triporkney ferrysmoked haddockmain buildinglocal producefish and chipsbooked a tablewarm welcome
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 288 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stopped here on our way to the Orkneys and what a lovely place it is. The new owners are great and you can see they really care about their business. Our room was modern, exceptionally clean and well appointed with everything you needed.
The bar is a nice resting place and the food was outstanding.
The staff are all very friendly and do everything they can to make you feel comfortable.
Very much worth staying at as it has everything you need for a relaxing stop

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PamandIain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The car park is at the rear of the hotel next to the Courtyard rooms. There is also a room available in the courtyard for Disabled Persons. The gardens in the courtyard are well maintained and look very nice.The rooms are clean very comfortable and a good size. The bathrooms are lovely and newly fitted. There are excellent choices of all meals along with a large list of gluten-free and vegetarian meals. Main meals and breakfast are very nicely presented and very enjoyable. This is a very pretty area and highly recommended.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Crapfeet2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel has a funkiness to it, but also a high quality. The staff are very professional and friendly and the food is terrific - way better than I expected (vegetarian and gluten free options). Beds were well appointed and comfortable, and the rooms very clean. The wi-fi is spotty but I didn't go to northern Scotland for their internet access.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018

We just spent a long weekend in the north of Scotland and we are so glad we decided to pick the Castle Arms Hotel to stay in. The food was excellent, so good in fact we ate there every night, didn't bother looking for anywhere else. Breakfast was spot on ( poached eggs to die for ). The room was clean, warm and comfortable. The bed was the most comfortable I've ever slept in ( room 4 ) i'm currently looking to see if i can buy the same mattress for our home. The location is ideal for exploring the beautiful scenery along the north coast of Scotland.
We were made to feel really welcome by the lovely couple who owned the hotel and we are already thinking of returning again next year.
Thank you for making my birthday weekend something special.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nathanandmichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

We stayed as part of our NC 500 trip. The Castle Arms has bright, spacious rooms which are newly refurbished. The staff were great and the food was also good. Had everything we needed and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPVLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews