We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Hotel, Caithness
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Thurso
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Basic but clean”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Old hotel in refurb programme. My room was fine - though single glazing tended to steam up at times. Long walk from reception - not suitable for disabled/ wheelchair users (I'm sure that the hotel staff would provide rooms that suited) as the Hotel is built around a large square. Food was very good - both Dinner in the bar and breakfast. Friendly staff. Decent value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveS125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    58
    123
    76
    73
See reviews for
36
124
31
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford upon Avon
Level Contributor
121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Basic reasonably clean pub accommodation. However, no heating in room, bathroom radiator had a life of its own, sounded like coffee brewing! Breakfast so so but the chap running the place was nice enough and helpful.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Thurso hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

You would not stay in this place by choice. We stayed here as part of an organised cycle trip. The room was not clean. One of the party was bitten by bed bugs. Food was misnamed: not homemade nor local. Tinned potatoes and tomatoes in sloppy stuff. Breakfast eggs swimming in watery stuff had to be strained before eating. This place needs a complete makeover; the staff never smiles once.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joneep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

Room was decent but needing updated breakfast In the morning was very poor and not a lot of choice decided to go to another hotel for dinner. Women on reception was a hottie so not all bad.

Dont think we will stay here again threw choice charge enough for the rooms need to spend some on them .

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Heatpumpinstaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Stayed one night. Best part was friendly welcome by receptionist but downhill from then on. Shabby and tiny lift, smelt musty and looked dirty, old scratched graffiti on the door. Toilet in the room smelt damp, very small shower with plastic curtain that stuck to you. Dinner was a joke, immediately we sat down we were asked what we wanted, we had to point out we hadn't seen a menu yet. Asked to see the wine list and we're told they were the same as the wines in the bar, eventually got a list. Very small menu, served in such a rush, we had to ask the waiter to slow down and give us 10 minutes before third course. This didn't happen as another waiter produced our sweet within a couple of minutes. Coffee not available at the table. Whole thing completed in 40 minutes, still suffering from indigestion! Staff not at all friendly we got the impression they wanted us in and out as quickly as possible.
Check out efficient and the same young female receptionist was the only redeeming factor. Finally a very small car park, room for 6 cars, we were lucky but not sure what you do if it was full, presumably park in the street.

Room Tip: Avoid the front rooms, very noisy street until early hours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank derekandcherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I found this hotel in the centre of the town, very conveniently located.
It is an old hotel and some of it has been modernised. An on-going work. it is a clean hotel and well looked after. the rooms are clean and comfortable, tea making facilities in the rooms.
The staff were very friendly and obliging.
The only problem I encountered was if you are going out at night they lock the doors at 10.00pm and you have to phone a mobile number to get in. (Ok if you have a mobile)
The breakfast was good and plentiful.
Parking at the rear is quite good.
A lot could be done but it is a friendly clean hotel.
Would I go Back? Maybe

Room Tip: It can be noisy at the front at weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Stayed for two nights as part of a coach trip itinerary. Carpets lovely, that was their winter project. Hopefully this winter they will close again and attend to the rooms. Sash window streaming with condensation and not double glazed. Wall convector heater going back to the sixties just about turning out a therm. Furniture poor . Bed was clean. Bathroom quite good, poor shower pressure. We were on a coach trip and so had communal tables , small set menu, given meal times . Breakfast was brought on a plate, do you want one? Individual guests had a breakfast menu on their table to choose. Evening menu poor also. Coffee served in lounge that had seen better days. Lift had you wondering if you were going to make it or not. Personnel were pleasant. Basically don't go with a coach party unless you like the idea of cattle class accommodation and service

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davelytham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thurso hotels
4.7 mi away
The Castletown Hotel
The Castletown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castletown
214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pentland Hotel
Pentland Hotel
#6 of 9 in Thurso
110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 9 in Thurso
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Forss House Hotel
Forss House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Thurso
293 reviews
0.2 mi away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#8 of 9 in Thurso
164 reviews
10.9 mi away
Castle Arms Hotel
Castle Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Thurso
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel, Caithness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel, Caithness

Property: Royal Hotel, Caithness
Address: Traill Street, Thurso KW14 8EH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Thurso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Thurso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel, Caithness 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Thurso, one of the most northerly towns in Mainland Scotland, the Royal Hotel provides a perfect place for business or leisure breaks. There are 103 en-suite rooms, all offering wireless Internet access, Freeview TV and tea and coffee-making facilities. The hotel is close to the beach and guests wishing to visit the exquisite scenery of Orkney can take a short ferry journey to this captivating island. Further sightseeing opportunities can be found at John O’Groats, the Castle of Mey or Old St Peter’s Church. Guests arriving for business purposes can make use of our business centre services and conference rooms, all with Wi-Fi access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Hotel, Caithness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel, Caithness Hotel Thurso
Royal Hotel Thurso
Royal Hotel, Caithness Thurso, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing