We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Hotel, Caithness
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Thurso
Conon Bridge, Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Good value for money stay”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Can't see what all the moaning on here is all about, I enjoyed the place. A spacious twin-bedded room for myself, comfy bed, good tv and an awesome hot and powerful shower. All the staff were friendly and did an efficient job, food was good and all for £30 a night B&B. What's not to like there? My only gripe? Why no baked beans with the cooked breakfast? That's all nothing else. I'd go back for sure.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor on main street as it could be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    58
    133
    80
    84
See reviews for
39
136
31
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

This hotel was a mixed bag.
The hotel was clean and pleasant, the room was nice and the food was good, however there were things that let it down. Mainly the service. The receptionist that checked us whilst quick and efficient it was hardly service with a smile nor friendly for that matter. Breakfast as much the same. While I compliment the chef on a great breakfast, the waiter appeared to be still a sleep when we were the first people to get there at 8am. Looking scruffy with his top button not done up he looked like he may in fact have just gotten out of bed. A smile and a bit on conversation would have gone a long way. The restaurant seemed dark and empty and did not feel welcoming for first thing in the morning.
Check out was excellent the receptionist (Cashier: RF) was very friendly and helpful with information and she left a positive impression when leaving the hotel.
Whilst the stay was a mixed bag, we might possibly consider returning,

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street as noise from cars can be quite loud at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattStrat29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The Royal wants tour groups but can't handle them very well. They have a small staff and most have to do double duty: running bags up to rooms and waiting on tables in the dining room. Even though the staff was under a lot of stress trying to do so much for so many in a short amount of time, all remained pleasant and accommodating. My room was very, very small but I enjoyed the view overlooking the main street. I had had large, tall tubs up until the Royal so it was quite a pleasure to finally have a shower. The food was bland and average. We did find that if we took the coffee packet from our room and added it to the coffee in our cup in the dining room, it made for a much better taste. Without it the coffee tasted like hot water with a hint of coffee flavor. I noticed that each room's door had a plate with MacAllan on it and I forgot to ask why. Since this is the name of my favorite Scotch, I knew I would probably like the place.

Room Tip: Before making a definite reservation, ask for a room on the lower floor if you have any walking prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cruiseaddict97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Can't knock it. Room was cozy and warm. Bed was comfortable. Private parking. Hotel is obviously going through a refurbishment program but surely that can only be a good thing. Breakfast was superb with a good choice. Cooked Scottish breakfast was delicious. Ignore all the moaners and complainers. You get what you pay for and I think in this case, you actually get more than you pay for. It's a big hotel with lots of rooms. Friendly and helpful staff. Will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nodsieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Old hotel in refurb programme. My room was fine - though single glazing tended to steam up at times. Long walk from reception - not suitable for disabled/ wheelchair users (I'm sure that the hotel staff would provide rooms that suited) as the Hotel is built around a large square. Food was very good - both Dinner in the bar and breakfast. Friendly staff. Decent value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveS125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford upon Avon
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Basic reasonably clean pub accommodation. However, no heating in room, bathroom radiator had a life of its own, sounded like coffee brewing! Breakfast so so but the chap running the place was nice enough and helpful.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Thurso hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

You would not stay in this place by choice. We stayed here as part of an organised cycle trip. The room was not clean. One of the party was bitten by bed bugs. Food was misnamed: not homemade nor local. Tinned potatoes and tomatoes in sloppy stuff. Breakfast eggs swimming in watery stuff had to be strained before eating. This place needs a complete makeover; the staff never smiles once.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joneep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurso
4.7 mi away
The Castletown Hotel
The Castletown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castletown
219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pentland Hotel
Pentland Hotel
#7 of 9 in Thurso
122 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#4 of 9 in Thurso
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Forss House Hotel
Forss House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Thurso
296 reviews
10.9 mi away
Castle Arms Hotel
Castle Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Thurso
253 reviews
18.6 mi away
Norseman Hotel
Norseman Hotel
#2 of 4 in Wick
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel, Caithness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel, Caithness

Property: Royal Hotel, Caithness
Address: Traill Street, Thurso KW14 8EH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Thurso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Thurso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel, Caithness 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Thurso, one of the most northerly towns in Mainland Scotland, the Royal Hotel provides a perfect place for business or leisure breaks. There are 103 en-suite rooms, all offering wireless Internet access, Freeview TV and tea and coffee-making facilities. The hotel is close to the beach and guests wishing to visit the exquisite scenery of Orkney can take a short ferry journey to this captivating island. Further sightseeing opportunities can be found at John O’Groats, the Castle of Mey or Old St Peter’s Church. Guests arriving for business purposes can make use of our business centre services and conference rooms, all with Wi-Fi access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Hotel, Caithness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel, Caithness Hotel Thurso
Royal Hotel Thurso
Royal Hotel, Caithness Thurso, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing