We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Chinese in Thurso”

Empire Chinese Takeaway
Ranked #21 of 30 Restaurants in Thurso
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Fast food
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Scotland
Level Contributor
113 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Best Chinese in Thurso”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We always buy a meal for 2 deal and it's well worth it.
Been living in Thurso for 14 years now and have tried all of the Chinese but the empire is by far the best one

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank edayhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    10
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disgusting food would not buy ever again.”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Again for the small town there isn't much choice in food after hours, me and my partner stopped by to pick up some late night food, We got chicken parcels, BBQ ribs, honey chicken, egg fried rice and a curry sauce...I uploaded a photo of the "chicken" parcels, the 'meat' in those parcels was questionable...it didn't have the texture or flavour of chicken in the slightest!! Same with the honey chicken, yuk. The ribs were okay, the egg fried rice had no flavour and the curry sauce was bland as well...all in all the food was absolutely disgusting and went in the bin a waste of £20!! Do yourselves a favour and eat elsewhere, I would rather go hungry than eat there again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Sedabum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
936 reviews
535 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
“Good if merry”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Not much the choice up there so go with the hand you are dealt. Good range of hot and wholesome food for those leaving the pub across the road.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank PadiP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A sight for hungry bellies”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Open till late while all around were closed, this takeaway stopped my children from going to bed hungry after a long journey.
Food was reasonably priced and the kids enjoyed what they ordered.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Empire Chinese Takeaway also viewed

Thurso, Caithness and Sutherland
Thurso, Caithness and Sutherland
 
Thurso, Caithness and Sutherland
Thurso, Caithness and Sutherland
 
Thurso, Caithness and Sutherland
Thurso, Caithness and Sutherland
 

Been to Empire Chinese Takeaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing