We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice short break”
Review of St Clair Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
St Clair Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Thurso
Minehead, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice short break”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Stayed for two nights recently as part of a group. Our room was fairly small but clean and tidy. The shower was top class and the bed very comfortable. Meals were ok but there was some portion control. One roast potato and chicken casserole with 5 small cubes of meat! Okay for some but not really enough for the men. Breakfast good though. Nice little bar for per dinner drinks.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lel1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    32
    17
    11
    1
See reviews for
6
36
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the St Clair Hotel as part of a coach trip. While the room was small, it was clean and adequate for our needs. It was also very quiet at night allowing for a nice restful sleep. The staff was welcoming and very friendly making sure all our needs were met. We had 2 breakfasts and 2 dinners as part of our tour. The food was delicious and there was a lovely pub.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank murphyteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, AZ
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

This hotel is located right in town. Very friendly, helpful staff. My room was very basic but clean but I didn't travel to the end of the Earth to just sit in my room. Nice pub attached to the hotel. I slipped in a mud puddle while touring one of the sights. The staff was most helpful in getting my clothing cleaned

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AZ PAUL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Thurso is located far from anywhere - it's why I wanted to go. Upon arrival at reception, I received the warmest of welcomes, and this continued throughout the stay. The staff are excellent. My room was basic, and the tv tiny, but I didn't care. I spent the evening walking along the beach and coastline. This area has great nature and the hotel was a welcome place to return to for a nightcap. Food - good. Service - excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lewisstruppi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
827 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 382 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

The hotel is in the centre of Thurso and being an older style building the rooms are quite small but extremely comfortable with good bedding and amenities including modern ensuite fittings. The hotel is very clean and well maintained. The staff were very friendly and efficient and meals were most enjoyable.
Thurso is a delightful town and there are many interseting places to visit in the surrounding area [see photos] including sandy beaches, John O'Groats, Dunnet Head which is the most northerly point of the mainland, historical Wick which has a most interesting museum and the wonderful Mey Castle which was the only residence that Elizabeth the late Queen Mother actually owned.[Her well used blue coat and wellington boots are still just inside the front door!]

Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Betula103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012 via mobile

We have just spent 4 nights at the St. Clair as part of a coach party. All the staff were very pleasant & helpful. The rooms, although basic had everything you would need. The toiletries were good quality & plentiful. The food was good and there was a choice of three dishes for each course. Thurso is a small but pleasant country town. We would recommend a trip to the excellent museum.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank mandjmcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

A nice tiny hotel near the downtown area. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room,although small, was very clean . The dining room was off the lobby and was adequate.
My husband is of the Sinclair family so this trip to Thurso was very special.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wonderlust458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thurso hotels
0.0 mi away
Pentland Hotel
Pentland Hotel
#7 of 9 in Thurso
120 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Castletown Hotel
The Castletown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castletown
218 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#4 of 9 in Thurso
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Castle Arms Hotel
Castle Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Thurso
253 reviews
5.0 mi away
Forss House Hotel
Forss House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Thurso
296 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Y-Not
The Inn at Y-Not
#7 of 19 in Thurso
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Clair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Clair Hotel

Property: St Clair Hotel
Address: Sinclair Street, Thurso KW14 7AJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Thurso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Thurso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — St Clair Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your St Clair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Clair Hotel Thurso, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing