We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recently refurbished”
Review of St Clair Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
St Clair Hotel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Thurso
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Recently refurbished”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Pleasant and helpful staff. A clean comfortable ensuite room with everything including the shower working properly. The full Scottish breakfast was very good. Some nice touches like the photographs round the dining room.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rod002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    31
    15
    11
    1
See reviews for
5
34
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Moline, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Cozy older hotel. Great staff. No wifi in room. Window didn't stay open by self. Beds were old, cheap and poor. Innersprings broken in our room. Good food. No lift. Restaurant other side of the street. Laundromat around the corner.

Room Tip: Some rooms are more difficult to get to. Wing off dining room is good for those with mobility issues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Buttle2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
argyll
Level Contributor
87 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I stayed here for 1 night during a tour of Scotland. The ownrs are friendly the hotel clean and comfortable with plenty of on road parking available outside hotel. The only downside was the cost of drinks. I paid £4.15 for a pint of lager which is more than I expect to pay in London.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
237 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

This hotel is one I know very well as I have stayed in it may nights over many years, as it was in our family a up to number of years ago. The building has not changed much over these years however modernisation has been carried out at good standards, with honest highland food and Caithness character oozing out of it. Don't expect a wide scope of food to select from what you will see is carefully selected choice of favourites - with some very nice surprises thrown in to keep you coming back for more. This is a good 'no frills' honest hotel with a good location not too far from the railway station and near to the centre of the town, Scrabster and the north at easy access, with the cinema and other night time facilities within a short walking distance. A good sleep is assured within this quiet, welcoming hotel, without any personal 'feelings' making this review biased in any way, I'd stay there again when in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Splishsplasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Stayed here while doing a tour with Insight/Trafalgar in October 2013.

The tour company selected this hotel and stayed here 2 night.

Front desk staff and porter ere great and very helpful and kind.

Bed was tiny (double bed?), especially since my partner is 6,4" but we made due and it was comfortable for the two nights.
Room was a small but clean, tidy and cozy

Walls were thin, but was stayed off season so it was pretty quite.

Bathroom was also tiny and shower stall was difficult for someone who's tall, but again, we made the best of it and it was good.

Hotel is central and easy walking distance around the lovely town of Thurso.

We had a great stay and would stay here again.
Clean, comfortable, nice room, and had a great two nights in Thurso!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bextravelingtoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed here for one night. It is very central and so you can walk from the station and to all the other parts of the town quite easily. There is nothing spectacular about the hotel. It is clean and basic and really just average all round. Breakfast was good and the staff were friendly. We had contemplated having dinner in the hotel as well but decided that the menu was just not to our taste. It was quite limited and more expensive than another similar hotel in the town. We wouldn't rush back here and if we were in town again would probably stay at another similarly rated hotel simply to make a comparison.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AaaaandEeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minehead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Stayed for two nights recently as part of a group. Our room was fairly small but clean and tidy. The shower was top class and the bed very comfortable. Meals were ok but there was some portion control. One roast potato and chicken casserole with 5 small cubes of meat! Okay for some but not really enough for the men. Breakfast good though. Nice little bar for per dinner drinks.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lel1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thurso hotels
0.0 mi away
Pentland Hotel
Pentland Hotel
#6 of 9 in Thurso
113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#8 of 9 in Thurso
165 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 9 in Thurso
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Castletown Hotel
The Castletown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castletown
214 reviews
11.0 mi away
Castle Arms Hotel
Castle Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Thurso
250 reviews
5.0 mi away
Forss House Hotel
Forss House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Thurso
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Clair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Clair Hotel

Property: St Clair Hotel
Address: Sinclair Street, Thurso KW14 7AJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Thurso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Thurso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — St Clair Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your St Clair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Clair Hotel Thurso, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing