We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Attitude”
Review of St Clair Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
St Clair Hotel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Thurso
West Linton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great Attitude”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I took a party of 36 people to this hotel.

They were met by Bev and her team who were really on the ball and worked tirelessly to meet demands and requests with a great attitude. I could find minor faults but for me the service provided and attention to detail was first class.

This is an old building -but clearly a lot of thought and money has gone into modernising the building and rooms-everything worked well and the service provided by all staff was good and with a smile -that in itself is quite unique.

The fire system was activated by a guest and this again was handled smoothly and without a big drama

I enjoyed my two night stay -the food was freshly prepared using local produce and I could not find fault with this in any way.

Keep up the good work -a credit to all involved as team work pays-thank you Bev

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Jack K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    31
    15
    11
    1
See reviews for
5
34
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights while visiting the nearby Orkney Isles and found St Clare Hotel to be a friendly inviting and homely welcoming reception and staff , rooms clean although dim lighting in bathroom made things 4/5. Food 4/5 Service and overall 5/5

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GTHEFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Stayed here in July for 1 night,we found the room was clean and modern after recent refurbishment.Staff were friendly and helpful,room had low ceiling nearest to window so a tall person might want to sleep on other side,this area was good for side trips to John O'Groats and along the northern coastline,meals here are cheap enough but small portions.We did enjoy the stay here in saying all that and parking is just out the front on most days

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bacup, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We had dinner here 2 weeks ago when we had just arrived in the town. The staff were very friendly but the food was a step back to the 1970's. Small portions of very average food and not particularly average prices. A very dull starter of a small bowl of melon balls and pineapple pieces. Too tired to complain after long journey but given the excellent food in other eateries sin the town it was poor. A very bog standard restaurant diner that takes its diners for granted.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Thurso hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in older building. Nothing wrong with that though, the rooms are clean and tidy. And the en suite is very good. It has a cracking restaurant too. I would stay here again. I was due to leave for a boat at 1500 hrs and they allowed me to remain in the lounge, which was very nice of them.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Pleasant and helpful staff. A clean comfortable ensuite room with everything including the shower working properly. The full Scottish breakfast was very good. Some nice touches like the photographs round the dining room.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rod002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moline, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Cozy older hotel. Great staff. No wifi in room. Window didn't stay open by self. Beds were old, cheap and poor. Innersprings broken in our room. Good food. No lift. Restaurant other side of the street. Laundromat around the corner.

Room Tip: Some rooms are more difficult to get to. Wing off dining room is good for those with mobility issues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Buttle2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thurso hotels
0.0 mi away
Pentland Hotel
Pentland Hotel
#6 of 9 in Thurso
113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#8 of 9 in Thurso
165 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 9 in Thurso
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Castletown Hotel
The Castletown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castletown
214 reviews
11.0 mi away
Castle Arms Hotel
Castle Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Thurso
250 reviews
5.0 mi away
Forss House Hotel
Forss House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Thurso
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Clair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Clair Hotel

Property: St Clair Hotel
Address: Sinclair Street, Thurso KW14 7AJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Thurso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Thurso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — St Clair Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your St Clair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Clair Hotel Thurso, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing