We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
22
41
22
12
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
41
22
12
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews basic hotel kippers bus tour twin room evening meals are one night stay stayed here for two nights would stay again dining room good size b bs first class orkney
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for one night whilst passing through

Positives:
The hotel is central to the town so easy to walk to facilities

It has a lovely lounge and breakfast area - the breakfast was good and plentiful

The staff are very attentive

The hotel was very clean

Negatives:
Please remember that this is purely about the room we had and not every room in the hotel

We had a room at the back of the hotel
The noise of the extraction fan from the kitchen was hard to ignore - I completely understand it needs to be on but when you can hear it through double glazing it becomes a distraction- this obviously can't be changed nor stopped as it's needed

The room was small - very small

The bathroom was so small you couldn't open the door fully as the towel rail was there and once you had put a small bag on the floor you couldn't get in there nor move

The bed was very small - my partner and I could not fit in the bed and no sleep was had by either of us

The room is completely overlooked by the building at the back - there was a bunk bed looking straight in and could have seen me lying on my bed - there were no nets so the curtains had to be drawn at all times as we felt very overlooked

The window only opened a small amount at the top so combine this with having the shut the curtains the temperature in the room was too close for comfort

The parking is on street only

If you are considering this hotel I would definitely ask for a room at the front of the building as our experience of one at the back didn't make for a restful stay

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Dawn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018 via mobile

We chose to stay in this hotel as it was the very last room available in town! Slightly worried about what we might find, but absolutely no need to be. The hotel is perfectly situated for us, just a stone’s throw from the public library and within walking distance of the town. Staff are very friendly and helpful. We had a twin room, which was very big and spacious. Could have got a double bed between the twin beds easily. The bath/shower ensuite was a good size and I had a lovely shower in the morning. Some quality toiletries was a nice added touch.

We had a walk round town but decided the st Clair menu was the one which appealed most and were really pleased that we tried it. I had an absolutely delicious dish with long spaghetti and a courgette and lime sauce mixed through, accompanied by a slice of garlic bread and a basic side salad ( which was extra) The side salad might have benefitted from a nice dressing. The basil and lime sorbet, topped with some warm chunks of caramelised pineapple is to die for! We finished the evening with a delicious cocktail.

Breakfast was fine, with a buffet section of fruits, cereals, fruit juices and yogurts and cooked breakfasts on order. Toast as also provided

The only thing that knocked off a star in my assessment were the tiny tv on the wall in the room. Personally we didn’t need a tv, but for someone to watch it I think you’d either need to sit closer or take your binoculars!

Otherwise, I’d highly recommend this hotel. If I went back to .thurso I’d try for here first.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank cathb2364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2018

This hotel is in a tiny town. It has small rooms and smaller bathrooms. However, that being said, it is a cute place and is in the center of town. The food was good and it is not too far from the ferry to the Orkney's. The food was good and the people are nice. The beds are comfortable as well.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank movieturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

We stayed here for 2 nights. Staff are very pleasant and the hotel is clean. The room is small as is the bathroom. If you are looking for basic accommodation then stay here. If you are looking for something nicely appointed then look elsewhere. I’m not sure why people use the words gorgeous, lovely... pleasant is more accurate. When we stayed here the floorboards in the hallway creaked with people coming and going and noise from the street was easy to hear especially as we had the window open to let in fresh air on a 25 degree day and warm evening.

Room tip: The hotel has stairs and is a bit of a rabbit Warren. Try and get a room near the stairs.
Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

The staff are often what make or break a hotel and the staff here show how it should be done - welcoming, friendly and very helpful. Basic rooms but very comfy beds and breakfasts well worth getting up for. The evening meals are excellent too with a good range of choice.
First class value for money and right in the centre of town.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Charlie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews