We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First impressions don't always last.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Breadalbane House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Wick
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“First impressions don't always last.”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

On arrival our first thoughts were, a bit run down. However when we went inside there was a warm welcome, the room was nice with a comfortable bed and a nice big bathroom.
The lass on reception reccommended a nice Indian restaurant called Spice Tandoori which was down by the harbour where we had a beautiful dinner. We slept well and got up to a smashing full Scottish breakfast that set us up for the long drive home.
In summary this hotel needs a fair bit of maintenance as others have commented. Refurbishment costs lots of money, and the only way to get that money is to have paying guests so please, give them a hand and stay there and concentrate on the good points. :)

Room Tip: I'm sure that all of the rooms are comfortable and clean. Two * so don't expect the Ritz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breadalbane, Owner at Breadalbane House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for your recent review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    28
    13
    3
    5
See reviews for
6
22
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights. Was greeted by very smiley and helpful staff. Our room was large modern and spacious. Great bathroom. We ate in the restaurant twice as it was a a really smart place and the food was delicious. We understand it has just been refurbished and we must say it looks the business. Breakfast was also served in here and it was a good selection and the full Scottish was so tasty and plentiful! Staff were extremely friendly and helpful and helped us to organise our trip to Orkney Islands and our accommodation there.Will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneDooley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breadalbane, Owner at Breadalbane House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
We are glad you like our new lounge & restaurant, it has made a great difference to the hotel. We hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013 via mobile

Went up to Wick on the train. Overnight stay here. Nice little hotel. Being slowly refurbished and I'm sure when it is finished it'll be a grand place, but for now it's good but clearly a "work in progress". Will I stay here again? Yes.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roose_Rambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breadalbane, Owner at Breadalbane House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happy trails
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

stayed overnight in this hotel 26th march 2013,looked a bit rough from the outside.inside being refurbished.the good news was the bar was shut and as scotland were in action that night i was more than glad.staff were very friendly nothing was too much bothered.i asked for a double room ensuite to myself and ended up on the top floor in room number 9.it was very cosy with the heating on when i went to bed (midnight) and was on or still on when i surfaced at 07.35.great !!!!!!, the bed was so comfy i would have tried to drag it onto the train if they'd let me.great view of the harbour..full scottish breakfast was very good with every everything nice and hot.i'll certainly be back.

Room Tip: try and get room 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank citsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breadalbane, Manager at Breadalbane House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Many Thanks for your kind words, he hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
1 review
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Nice family run hotel. I was in Wick for Business and stayed for 1 night in March. Very welcoming staff, large clean room. Did not have an evening meal but breakfast was great. Was unable to hve a drink in the bar as it was being refitted but that was not a real issue.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breadalbane, Owner at Breadalbane House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us , the bar refit went well and is now in full operation. Hopefully if you are in the area again you can enjoy a cocktail in the new lounge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gullane
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Perhaps early February is not the best time to visit Wick but business is business. Hotel has seen better days and is currently being renovated. The owner/manager/waiter could not be more pleasant and explained that due to the kitchens being refurbished only a very limited dinner menu was available which I did not partake of. The bedroom was very spacious, old fashioned but very clean with very comfortable beds. A nice touch was Tunnocks caramel wafers and teacakes on the tea tray. I think that I was the only person staying the night and was certainly on my own at breakfast which was average and I suspect was cooked by the owner/manager/waiter

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dibblegullane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breadalbane, Owner at Breadalbane House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Many thanks for your review. There was an ongoing refurbishment when you stayed with us which is almost complete now. We hope to have you stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We stayed at Breadalbane on our honeymoon and enjoyed it very much. The staff was extremely helpful, breakfast was delicious and filling (full Scottish for hubby, lighter fare for me), and our room was spacious, clean, and cozy warm. They also prepared us a wonderful picnic lunch for our visit to Castle Sinclair. We were very pleased with the location, as we were able to walk to the train station, around town, and across a neighborhood bridge during sunset to a super romantic French restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmiliaSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breadalbane, Owner at Breadalbane House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Many Thanks for your kind words, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wick
0.4 mi away
Norseman Hotel
Norseman Hotel
#2 of 4 in Wick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mackays Hotel
Mackays Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
14.6 mi away
Castle Arms Hotel
Castle Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Thurso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Forss House Hotel
Forss House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Thurso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ackergill Tower
Ackergill Tower
#1 of 6 in Wick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bank Guesthouse
Bank Guesthouse
#3 of 19 in Wick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breadalbane House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breadalbane House Hotel

Property: Breadalbane House Hotel
Address: 20 Breadalbane Crescent, Wick KW1 5AQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Wick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Wick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Breadalbane House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Breadalbane House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breadalbane Hotel Wick
Breadalbane House Hotel Wick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing