We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food”
Review of Mackays Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mackays Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Wick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2014

On a rainy miserable weekend in Wick this Hotel, its staff and its food were a saviour . The food is 5 Star cuisine and the ambience is relaxed ,informal and not at all stuffy. Would most definitely recommend to anybody in Wick and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morag49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MackaysHotel, Owner at Mackays Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear Morag49

What a shame it was a rainy weekend but so glad you enjoyed your time with us.

Our chefs will be delighted with your comments on their food and the team will be glad to hear they brightened up your weekend even without the sun!

Haste ye back and we will order some sun for you!
Kind regards
Ellie Lamont

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (465)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 465 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2014

This was my husband's choice, not mine. British Rail were offering rail travel at £19 return anywhere in Scotland for the over 55 years of age.
The train journey was lovely, train staff so friendly and the scenery fabulous. We arrived late at night and the hotel was visable from the train station. The staff were so wellcoming and could not do enough for us. Our rooms were above average for the Highlands and we really enjoyed our three night stay. Beds were comfortable, lovely white cotton sheets and luxurious towels, clean carpet, good shower or bath all added up to a very relaxing break.

The restaurant in the hotel would put many to shame, it was perfect, we have never tasted fish like it. Breakfast was lovely too and the view from the breakfast room was the River Wick.

We found a local bus and visited John O Groats and Thurso. Wick is a lovely place with many fine walks and friendly locals who don't feel they have much to offer but we all had a really lovely break. I stand corrected.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MackaysHotel, Owner at Mackays Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Maureen B

How lovely to hear you found Wick an pleasurable destination and thanks to your husband for choosing it!

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Wick soon!

Kind regards and thank you for taking the time to post your feedback
Ellie Lamont

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed here for a few days in February. The room was very clean, spacious and comfortable. The service was excellent and all staff were welcoming and friendly. We had dinner in the Bistro every night during our stay and the food was amazing. We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oxfordFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MackaysHotel, Owner at Mackays Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Dear oxfordFiFe

Thank you for your kind comments. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you experienced our Mackays 'Magic' during your stay.

I hope you enjoyed some of the fantastic scenery we have in Caithness while you were here and hope to see you again soon

Kind regards
Ellie Lamont

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Ridiculously Expensive
Limited food choices. Options weren't great. Small portions for price
Old fashioned rooms
So hard to get a hold of anyone in reception. The phone rang out for 20 minutes - no apology
Wick needs a chain! Premier Inn or Holiday Inn for Wick!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrequentTraveller609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MackaysHotel, Owner at Mackays Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear FrequentTraveller609

I am very sorry you did not feel you had a good experience in our hotel, and whilst we appreciate we cannot please everyone, much as we try to, this is not the type of feedback we receive from the majority of our guests, either in the hotel or here on tripadvisor.

Without a name or date of stay I am unable to find out whether you fed your comments back to anyone in the hotel during your stay. We have no record of any of the issues you have mentioned.

If the choice of menu wasn’t to your liking our team would have easily offered you other options, had you let them know, as our talented chefs cook everything fresh to order.

We think Wick is very lucky to have all the hotels run by the owners who each add their own unique touch to their business.

I would be grateful if you would email me direct on ellie@ mackayshotel.co.uk with the details of your stay. I will then be able to trace your booking and reply to you in full.

Kind regards
Ellie Lamont

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed 14th feb for the weekend to attend family wedding in Wick. Had a excellent meal in the Bistro, the staff very friendly and welcoming all round excellent hotel had the most enjoyable stay. Will definatley be back

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lena062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MackaysHotel, Owner at Mackays Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Robertson s

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Wick soon!

Kind regards
Ellie Lamont

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Fantastic dinner, with the highlight being the broth - delicious! Some very fine wines, well matched to each course.
Very friendly, welcoming atmosphere, with attentive staff.
Very comfortable room - well appointed. Free wifi a nice touch!
Will be back if I get a chance!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schottlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MackaysHotel, Owner at Mackays Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear Schottlander

We are so glad you enjoyed the evening and thank you for your kind words. The whole team, chefs and food and beverage, certainly did us proud! We are looking forward to the next one already!

Hope you'll be back in the area to join us!
Kind regards
Ellie Lamont.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Stayed at MacKays end January. Traditional highland hotel in Caithness. What a pleasure. Great welcome, nice value for money room, nice welcoming bar, great bistro Resturant. Food was fantastic and fresh. Breakfast, great staff, table service and local produce. Room was adequate and what you would expect of a hotel of this age. Couldn't get remote for TV to work and reported this to reception. Was dealt with immediately. Turned out it was me not reading instructions! This was communicated to me in a friendly and positive manner. Well done MacKays, keep the tradition going! Great for business travellers.

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MackaysHotel, Owner at Mackays Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Dear Andrew S

Thank you for your lovely feedback, I'll pass on your comments to the team. Glad we sorted out the tv for you and we will certainly keep the tradition going!

Do come back and see us on your next trip.

Kind regards
Ellie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wick
0.1 mi away
Norseman Hotel
Norseman Hotel
#2 of 4 in Wick
311 reviews
23.1 mi away
Forss House Hotel
Forss House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Thurso
311 reviews
15.4 mi away
Northern Sands Hotel
Northern Sands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunnet
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
The Castletown Hotel
The Castletown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castletown
231 reviews
0.3 mi away
Breadalbane House Hotel
15.4 mi away
Ulbster Arms Hotel
Ulbster Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Halkirk
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mackays Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mackays Hotel

Address: Union Street, Wick KW1 5ED, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Wick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Wick
Price Range: £98 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mackays Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mackays Hotel is located in Wick, in the beautiful area of Caithness. The hotel has gained wide recognition for its high standard of award winning service and fine food. Our rooms are warm, comfortable and so welcoming, you'll find yourself relaxing from the moment you arrive. Using only the best in local produce and fish straight from the boats at Scrabster, No 1 Bistro is one of Caithness's tastiest choices for lunch and dinner, the only restaurant in Wick recognised for culinary standards of excellence with an AA Rosette. Our guests can also take advantage of free entry to the local pool and gym and free WiFi throughout the building ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mackays Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mackays Hotel Wick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing