We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best there is”
Review of Norseman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Norseman Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Wick
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We cannot praise this hotel highly enough, from the minute you step into reception,where you are greeted so efficiently and welcoming,,,on through to the bedrooms where you find them spotlessly clean ,fresh and fully equipped with all your needs.The restaurant menu is extensive with lots of choice all round.You could stick a pin on anything on there and it is brought to you tasting hot and delicious..top compliments to their chef!! and we are certainly looking forward to our return visit once again.This will be our fourth stay this year. Just to say that we had stayed in a 4 star hotel last week and the food in the Norseman was way above anything this 4 star could turn out!! Well done Norseman.!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheardav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
There are newer reviews for Norseman Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

Just had a Sunday carvery in the Norseman Hotel. Have tried carveries all over the country & my wife & I thought this was the best we had ever had and the choice of sweets was amazing . Price was excellent for a three course meal

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank alijack13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

lovely hotel helpfull and friendly staff .well appointed room .very good bar food and first class breakfast.i failed to see the boy racers highlighted in a previous review.bar staff very helpful when 10 of us asked for a table without booking even though they were very busy with a coach trip.

Room Tip: ask for 108
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank edward l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We arrived and had a quick and efficient check in by pleasant member of staff however when we arrived in our room it was a double as opposed to the twin we booked. Reported to reception who did manage to sort this out but did have to wait over 20mins, but the staff were very apologetic. There is nothing spectacular about the hotel but it is good value for money. The main business of the hotel seems to be coach parties and this is what it is geared up for.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Scotchick2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We visited this hotel as part of a coach tour with 33 Australians and us 2 Brits. The hotel is situated in town and has a very friendly staff. They will organise a bag wash, dry and fold for a bag the size of a pillow case, for £15. Put in in the morning and is ready for collection that evening. Our room (27) was of an adequate size if the double bed was on its own. It was accompanied by a set of bunk beds which made the available space very small. The shower over the bath was very dificult to operate and resulted in a couple of near scalds before the minute movement between cold and very hot was managed. The walls of the hotel semed on the thin side so other guests were audible. Dinner was homely, tasty and plentiful. Breakfast was plentiful with copious amounts of berries and fruits. Tea and coffee were served in the residents lounge after dinner. Overall a nice clean hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmydeeinhq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Attentive and helpfull staff. Excellent food and plenty of it. Some furnishings a bit tired but room standard very good. Some traffic noise from rooms on the front at weekends. Have stayed twice and the rooms at the back didn't hear a thing as not on the main road. Would definitely stay again

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back away from the road
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Staff pleasant. Food school dinner quality , dried up . Broccoli stone cold sorry. The interior of the hotel varies from freshly refurbished to having a TV Lounge with the tattles furniture I have ever seen in a hotel lounge. Another example of many , the flooring in front of the check in desk is dirty and covered by three equally dirty door mats . Shame on the management of this hotel. Signs on doors hung crooked !!!! needless sloppiness. Get a grip of the details managers , and sort out the food.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Blueskies B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, Owner at Norseman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

Dear Blueskies B,

thanks for posting your feedback to us, we are very sorry you did not enjoy your visit. We are in the process of repairing our lounge furniture and our entrance carpet is going to be replaced, apologies that these impacted your experience of the Norseman negatively. I couldn't find any crooked signs so hopefully they have been returned to a level equilibrium.

We are sorry that you were disappointed and hope you would return to the Norseman where I am confident you would be able to experience us in a truer light, please contact me direct at the hotel and I would be happy to organise this,

kind regards
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wick
0.1 mi away
Mackays Hotel
Mackays Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wick
452 reviews
14.9 mi away
The Castletown Hotel
The Castletown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castletown
227 reviews
0.4 mi away
Breadalbane House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#4 of 9 in Thurso
246 reviews
15.3 mi away
Northern Sands Hotel
Northern Sands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunnet
44 reviews
14.2 mi away
Castle Arms Hotel
Castle Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Thurso
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norseman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norseman Hotel

Address: Riverside, Wick KW1 4NL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Wick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Wick
Price Range: £78 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Norseman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the picturesque town of Wick and overlooking the river offering comfortable accommodation, free WI-FI and on-site parking, this family-run hotel is perfect for exploring the Scottish North Coast. Ideal for both business and leisure, guests can be sure of a welcome that is imbued with all the warmth and charm of true Highland Hospitality. With scenic views of both the River Wick and the Hotel’s own private gardens it generates an ambience that is as effortlessly relaxed as it is delightfully cosy. The property itself boasts an excellent centralised location and is a great base from which to experience the glorious untamed wilds and dramatic beauty of the Caithness landscape.Each of the 48 en-suite rooms are tastefully decorated and stylishly furnished. Comfort and relaxation are very much the order of the day and as a result all of the rooms come fully equipped with all the modern conveniences and luxuries one would expect. Including: free Wi-Fi access, flat screen HD TV, hairdryer, trouser press and tea & coffee making facilities. The Hotel offers accommodation to suit all kinds of traveller, from Classic and Superior Double or Twin Rooms to Single and Family options.The on-site restaurant prides itself on its commitment to providing quality food made from the finest locally sourced produce that Scotland has to offer. Offering a true taste of the Highlands, it specialises in traditional cuisine that is both freshly prepared and undeniably delicious. For a more casual setting, the Wicker’s Bar is perfect for enjoying a light lunch or a comforting supper.The Hotel offers 3 different function rooms with capacity for anything from 6 to 200 delegates, perfect for business conferences, meetings and other corporate events. For that most special of days, the Norseman Hotel can cater for weddings of up to 200 guests and is fully licensed for Civil Ceremonies and Partnerships.Situated just off the A99 in the centre of Wick, the Hotel is both easily accessible and convenient. The nearest city is Inverness, which is a 2 hour 15 minute drive through some of the most spectacular scenery in all of Scotland. Wick train station is just a brief walk from the Hotel and offers regular services to Inverness and Fort William. There are also several bus operators which run daily services to the Highlands from Aberdeen, Glasgow and Edinburgh. For those travelling by air, Inverness Airport offers flights to a range of national and European destinations, whilst the local Wick Airport is just a 10 minute drive away and receives flights from Edinburgh, Aberdeen and Kirkwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Norseman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norseman Hotel Wick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing