We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“food delicious”
Review of Norseman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Norseman Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Wick
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I had a lunch here with my husband and another couple on a busy saturday. food was homemade and delicious. service was great & we all left full and happy. Hotel has been renovated and the bar area for eating in is lovely.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LarkandLilyDesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, Owner at Norseman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2015

Dear LarkandLilyDesigns,

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you all enjoyed your lunch here. It is in our best interest to ensure customers feel they are being catered by staff well and that they are comfortable no matter if they stay for a lunch or a night. We have been investing in improving the interior of the hotel. It has so far been a long project, and will continue for some time yet. We are happy that you feel that the renovations so far have been worth our investments.

Thank you again for the review,

Kind regards,
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 314 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

A rare family get together, Thought I'd gone for the healthy option of Chicken salad. Huge breast of chicken, about 2 lettuce leaves then coleslaw, potato salad, macaroni cheese and chips. Can't fault value for money and staff friendly but healthy options needed.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Petrani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, Owner at Norseman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2015

Dear Petrani,

Thank you taking the time to give us feedback. We are delighted that you found our staff to be friendly and accommodating during your visit, and that you found your meal was value for money. The salads are mostly popular as an accompaniment to a main meal, and are popular with people who enjoy fresh fruit. We appreciate your comments and I have passed them onto the chef.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind regards,
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Myself and my husband have just returned from another superb stay at this most welcoming hotel.The staff are so friendly and helpful. .The meals in The Norseman are the best we have ever had in any hotel.Their restaurant would put many a 4 star to shame.. Our room was spacious and had a nice view of the river. We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to family and friends..Their Sunday Carvery is "Simply The Best".. A pleasure to stay there from start to finish .We cannot say one negative thing about our stay ..their rooms..their staff,,..their food..Excellent across the board... .We are both looking forward to our next visit... WE WILL BE BACK..!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheardav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, Owner at Norseman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2015

Dear Sheardav,

Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted that both you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us, and that you feel our staff were friendly and helpful. It is important to us that customer values are met. We are also happy that you enjoyed our Sunday Carvery. It is very popular among customers and locals, and are glad you enjoyed it. We are looking forward to your next stay.

Thank you again for taking the time to leave us a review.

Kind regards,
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This Hotel is like the whole town of Wick: A bit worn but charming. Our room was on the small side and you could not regulate the heating. Breakfast wasn't that great either, but the friendly staff made up for it.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank terbang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, Owner at Norseman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2015

Dear terbang,

Thank you taking the time to leave feedback. We are happy that you felt comfortable and welcomed by our staff during your stay. We are currently investing in improving the hotel in both the exterior and the interior. It is a long project but hopefully future customers will see the improvement.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind regards,
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Staff at the hotel were amazing, so friendly and helpful. We had just got married and arrived for dinner to a congratulations banner and balloon, nice touch. Hotel is excellent value and ideal for touring the area and visiting John O'groats.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maxclass1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, Owner at Norseman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2015

Dear maxclass1,

Thank very much for your review. We are delighted that both you and your partner enjoyed your experience with us. It is important to the hotel that customers feel welcomed by staff and are comfortable during their stay.

Thank you again for the review, and once again congratulations on your marriage.

Kind regards,
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Please do not judge this hotel on the outside. On first sight it looks pretty bleak.
Inside you will be warmly welcomed & it has charms within.
Good value too.
breakfast wAs buffet style but we liked the porridge & berries. & fresh fruit on offer.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank morag h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, Owner at Norseman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2015

Dear Morag H,

Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us. It is very important to the hotel that our customers are welcomed warmly and they are comfortable during their stay. There are some difficulties in trying to improve our exterior as it is a 1970s building, however we are striving towards making improvements.

Thank you again for taking the time to leave feedback.

Kind regards,
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Arriving each day to a beautiful warm fresh meeting room, already set with an abundance of refreshments together with melt in your mouth shortbread. A vegan amongst us was no problem to the attentive staff, who provided a hearty lunch of home made soup and very tasty sandwiches... a local favourite for a quick lunch, allowing time for a leisurely stroll along the beautiful riverside. The carrot, ginger and honey soup was simply the BEST, with a couple of the ladies seeking the recipe!!!

I particularly valued that every element of our arrangements were met, with perfect timings for beverage replenishment, free WIFI and visual display equipment. I glanced around believing my colleague had screwed on the A1 pad, and since he hadn't, was amazed at the discreetness in this wonderful hotel, it seemed to be organised by magic!

Returning to the hotel in the evening for a post-course discussion, I glanced into 'my room', our meeting room which felt like my 2nd home after 3 busy days, to see it beautifully dressed for a wedding venue. Every member of staff had a warm and friendly smile from reception through to waiting staff throughout our event. The venue was perfect, with participants arriving by bus, car & train from all over the County.

I received a call last evening, from a business acquaintance with the suggestion of lunch... my reply 'Oh, let's go to the Norseman'. We will be back!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank auldpostoffice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, Owner at Norseman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear Auld Postoffice,

thankyou very much for the lovely comments you have fedback to us regarding your three day conference, we are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and thanks for booking us.

I have passed on your feedback to the team and they are also delighted that their enjoyment of looking after you came through during your time with us,

thanks for taking the time to review us and kind regards
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wick
0.1 mi away
Mackays Hotel
Mackays Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wick
466 reviews
14.9 mi away
The Castletown Hotel
The Castletown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castletown
233 reviews
18.7 mi away
Pentland Hotel
Pentland Hotel
#6 of 9 in Thurso
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Northern Sands Hotel
Northern Sands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunnet
57 reviews
0.4 mi away
Breadalbane House Hotel
23 mi away
Forss House Hotel
Forss House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Thurso
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norseman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norseman Hotel

Address: Riverside, Wick KW1 4NL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Wick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Wick
Price Range: £76 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Norseman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the picturesque town of Wick and overlooking the river offering comfortable accommodation, free WI-FI and on-site parking, this family-run hotel is perfect for exploring the Scottish North Coast. Ideal for both business and leisure, guests can be sure of a welcome that is imbued with all the warmth and charm of true Highland Hospitality. With scenic views of both the River Wick and the Hotel’s own private gardens it generates an ambience that is as effortlessly relaxed as it is delightfully cosy. The property itself boasts an excellent centralised location and is a great base from which to experience the glorious untamed wilds and dramatic beauty of the Caithness landscape.Each of the 48 en-suite rooms are tastefully decorated and stylishly furnished. Comfort and relaxation are very much the order of the day and as a result all of the rooms come fully equipped with all the modern conveniences and luxuries one would expect. Including: free Wi-Fi access, flat screen HD TV, hairdryer, trouser press and tea & coffee making facilities. The Hotel offers accommodation to suit all kinds of traveller, from Classic and Superior Double or Twin Rooms to Single and Family options.The on-site restaurant prides itself on its commitment to providing quality food made from the finest locally sourced produce that Scotland has to offer. Offering a true taste of the Highlands, it specialises in traditional cuisine that is both freshly prepared and undeniably delicious. For a more casual setting, the Wicker’s Bar is perfect for enjoying a light lunch or a comforting supper.The Hotel offers 3 different function rooms with capacity for anything from 6 to 200 delegates, perfect for business conferences, meetings and other corporate events. For that most special of days, the Norseman Hotel can cater for weddings of up to 200 guests and is fully licensed for Civil Ceremonies and Partnerships.Situated just off the A99 in the centre of Wick, the Hotel is both easily accessible and convenient. The nearest city is Inverness, which is a 2 hour 15 minute drive through some of the most spectacular scenery in all of Scotland. Wick train station is just a brief walk from the Hotel and offers regular services to Inverness and Fort William. There are also several bus operators which run daily services to the Highlands from Aberdeen, Glasgow and Edinburgh. For those travelling by air, Inverness Airport offers flights to a range of national and European destinations, whilst the local Wick Airport is just a 10 minute drive away and receives flights from Edinburgh, Aberdeen and Kirkwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Norseman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norseman Hotel Wick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing