We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ackergill Tower delivers a magical experience”
Review of Ackergill Tower

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ackergill Tower
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2014

If you are looking for a magical experience that delivers incredible service and experiences that are truly magical then Ackergill Tower should be your destination. We hosted a group of 50 Canadians at Ackergill in June and all of them had the most amazing time - guests did everything from fly fishing, clay pigeon shooting, archery, rib rides, hiking to castle ruins, bonfire on the beach and one of the highlights was the imperial dinner complete with a pipe band from Wick and piping in the haggis with all the men dressed in full kilt attire! I can't say enough about the GM, Craig and his amazing team who do not stop at anything to ensure your experience is nothing short of exceptional. If you go to the Highlands of Scotland it is the only place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ComLinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmaZingVenues, General Manager at Ackergill Tower, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay here at Ackergill Tower, I am delighted that the whole group had such a wonderful time and will pass your comments on to my very hard working and passionate team.
We are very much looking forward to hosting your party in 2015, where we will aim to amaze and recreate the magic of this year.

With best regards

Craig Wright

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (409)
There are newer reviews for Ackergill Tower
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 409 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

I stayed at Ackergill Tower following the sudden death of my sister.
Craig the general manager was so kind and caring and a superb host, we could not have been looked after better at Buckingham Palace! The Daffodil room where we slept was charming and beautiful, with a stunning bed, and view of the ocean.
The breakfast was fantastic, with flavors of the freshest food, and finest ingredients, it was the best Scottish Breakfast that I have ever had.Craig is extremely knowledge about the surrounding area, and his staff are lovely.
The open fires,delicious dinners, the atmosphere, the music, and all the staff make this a very special place.
Ackergill was instrumental in starting the healing process after my loss, and quite honestly it is the very best place I have ever stayed.The very elitist Skibo Castle and the Carnegie Club recommended Ackergill Tower, and it surpassed my expectations in every way. I shall definitely return.. it is truly an experience not to be missed!

Room Tip: All rooms are delightful, beautifully designed, and exquisitely comfortable.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrakeSal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
craig W, General Manager at Ackergill Tower, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Draksal

Thank you for your very positive review with regard to your stay with us here at Ackergill Tower, I am so pleased you enjoyed your few days with us so much, we do strive to match the fantastic venue with service, professionalism and a smile and it's very pleasing to note that we are the best place you ever stayed!
I will pass your lovely comments on to my team.
Hope to see you both again very soon.
With best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

A long overdue review for our Xmas break at Ackergill Tower.
We joined 5 other people who decided to stay at the tower for Christmas Eve through to Boxing Day. Right from the start the staff could not have been more friendly and accommodating, the food wad sublime and as always at Xmas there is far to much and yes we ate all of it..
The rooms were superb in the castle and from the start we were told to treat it as our home and explore..
Lovely walks along the beach on Xmas morning before opening presents and breakfast and fun with the staff playing some Highland games.
My wife and I would not hesitate to return to Ackergill at any time of year and I think we may just do that in 2014.

See you soon Ackergill.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruce170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmaZingVenues, General Manager at Ackergill Tower, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review of your Christmas visit to us here at wonderful Ackergill Tower we would be delighted to host you again in 2014, I will pass your fantastic comments onto the team.


With best wishes

Craig Wright
Ackergill Tower

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Came to Ackergill with a large group on a business trip - what a treat. I haven't stopped dreaming of Scotland since. You have to appreciate rural, isolated areas & not be bothered by a bit of rain to appreciate Northern Scotland in general, and the same goes for Ackergill - visiting with a large group as we did was possibly the best way to see it.

I can't comment on the prices as the trip was all expenses paid for, but I imagine it was decent value - being so far North, prices are nothing compared to what you would be looking at for something half as luxurious in Southern England - well worth the trip for that reason alone. Value aside, location was beautiful - only wish I'd had more time to explore. The rooms were beautiful, each one unique, and there was something to see round every corner. Rooms in the outer buildings were slightly more modern, but equally stunning. The stables in particular were excellent, and had their own lovely lounge. In the main building there was plenty to entertain, and lovely rooms to relax in - afternoon tea was served upstairs, as were drinks before dinner. The main dining room was stunning. Every minute of the trip was meticulously planned - shooting, archery & spa treatments were all on offer, in addition to a bonfire on the beach on our first night. The food was excellent both nights, and brought in with bagpipes on the second night.

Occasionally it was hard to find staff as the place was so enormous - but once located they were friendly and attentive, without exception - and went to lengths to help us out with any requests. Do be aware that phone signal here is limited - mine was nonexistent. Wifi was available in some parts but in all honesty, being cut off was part of the whole experience.

I loved it here - am desperately hoping to return someday, ideally with a large group, to make best use of their spacious rooms. Character, beauty, a luxurious feel and excellent service - Ackergill has it all.

Room Tip: Rooms in the castle vary in size enormously - not sure if price reflects this, but be aware - whilst...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmaZingVenues, General Manager at Ackergill Tower, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Thank you so much for leaving such a great review, I will pass your comments on to the team. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and if you ever get the chance to visit beautiful Caithness please don't hesitate to contact us here at Ackergill Tower and we will gladly offer you the experience all over again.

With best wishes

Craig Wright

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I visited here on a work trip in October. I could not fault the experience from start to finish. A warm Scottish welcome was complimented by consistently attentive service with a smile, nothing was ever too much. The surroundings of the tower are breathtaking and the scenery speaks for itself, there is nothing more peaceful than taking a walk down the beach. The food was fantastic and mealtimes had a fantastic ambience with candelabras and even bagpipes! The staff were just fantastic and the activities, food and accommodation are all impossible to fault. I stayed in the stables and was highly impressed by the accommodation which is finished to an impeccable standard with high quality products in the bathroom and high thread count Egyptian cotton sheets. Heaven on earth. I will return!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Irlandesaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmaZingVenues, General Manager at Ackergill Tower, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

What a great review, thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your recent stay at Ackergill Tower, I think the word paradise sums up the tower perfectly, I will make sure that the all the team are aware of yourreally positive comments.

Craig Wright

Ackergill tower

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

the place is simply gorgeous. right on the sea, in a spectacular setting, fabulous both with the rain and with the sun. very hospitable and cordial. the food is quite good. it is pricey. worthy? yes.
it is also children friendly, for good or bad.
there is no elevator, but the friendly stuff carries your luggage up for you.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmaZingVenues, General Manager at Ackergill Tower, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review, I will pass on your very positive comments on to the team.

Best Regards

Craig Wright

General Manager
Ackergill Tower

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

A wonderful Hotel right on the cliffs Even with the wind and snow gusting .Inside the open fires and true scottish fayre make it homely and warm The newly converted stables make beautiful individual and characterful rooms with their own special edginess Well worth a stay off the main track of tourist venues

Room Tip: try one of the stables rather than the main tower
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank witsend18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wick
2.5 mi away
Mackays Hotel
Mackays Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wick
454 reviews
2.3 mi away
Norseman Hotel
Norseman Hotel
#2 of 4 in Wick
296 reviews
11.9 mi away
Castle Arms Hotel
Castle Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Thurso
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Forss House Hotel
Forss House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Thurso
305 reviews
13.1 mi away
Northern Sands Hotel
Northern Sands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunnet
45 reviews
13.0 mi away
The Castletown Hotel
The Castletown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castletown
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ackergill Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ackergill Tower

Address: Ackergill Tower Ackergill Tower By Wick, Wick KW1 4RG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Wick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Wick
Price Range: £100 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ackergill Tower 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing proudly above its own private beach, at the northernmost tip of Scotland, this is one of the most atmospheric, iconic and legendary Venues imaginable. Steeped in over 500 years of fascinating history, bursting with authentic character and showded in mystery and romance, Ackergill Tower is an incomparably dramatic, luxurious and inspiring setting for events that are utterly magical and gloriously memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ackergill Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ackergill Tower Hotel Wick
Ackergill Tower Wick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing