We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place to explore Caithness”
other travellers have booked this property
Thrumster House, set in 20 acres of woodland
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Thrumster House, set in 20 acres of woodland
Double room with an Oak King size bed Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
Thrumster House, set in 20 acres of woodland
Double room with an Oak King size bed
Kitchen
Entrance to the Garden Apartment
Bathroom
Yarrows hillside
Wild brown trout fishing
Riess beach
Sinclair and Girnigoe Castles
The Archeological landscape of caithness
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Wick, Caithness and Sutherland, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
angeliad
glasgow
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great place to explore Caithness”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Stayed here for a week in August and found it a lovely apartment. We'll placed for travelling round the area, Wick is only 5mins up the road. Apartment was well presented and quite spacious for just the two of us. Had a DVD player and there is a selection of DVDs if you don't bring any with you. Loads of wood for building a fire, and great grounds for a walk. Catherine was very welcoming. Great wee local pub within walking distance where we were made really welcome too.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen F
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic - the perfect family hideaway for old and young.”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I stayed at the Garden Apartment with my parents and my 2 young children - so we ranged from 2 - 70! The accomodation is comfortable, clean and full of character. The house is full of history.
The wood burning stove created a wonderful bonding experience between grandfather and grandsons as they went off on their adventures to the woodshed to cut wood (optional!) and refuel the fire.
In response to the earlier review that said it might not be suitable for younger children in wet weather I can say - it is. My boys are 2 and 4 and when it rained we popped on the wellies and raincoats and went off to splash in puddles and play hide and seek in the woods. There is a large pond, but I put reins on my younger son when we were near there.
The grounds are fantastic. We could of happily spent the week just exploring the woodland and surrounding area. The area is so peaceful, beautiful and fun to explore, especially the broch and the summer house. We must have played hide and seek everywhere. The farmers wife, at the farm next door, gave us bread to feed the pigs and the boys happily chased the chickens round and round.
Thrumster is the perfect location for exploring Caithness, with so many of my favourite places on its doorstep. Camster cairns, 365 steps, Achavanich, Hill o' many stains, the list goes on and on.
I very rarely give 5 stars but this place has everything - the house is lovely, the location great and the grounds are outstanding. I would happily recommend it to anyone and will definitely being staying here on my next visit to Wick.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The woods
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon M
2 reviews
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 23 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Just back home from a lovely stay at The Garden Apartment, rooms vary spacious and very clean love the old cottage look too :) and everything else in the apartment spot on. Will definitely be coming back in the future. And Catherine couldn't have been more helpful.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin G
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great wee base to use to explore Caithness”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Just back from Thrumster, where we were made very welcome. The apartment was very clean and tidy with appropriate amenities. Unfortunately the shower broke while we were staying - I'm sure it will be up and running for the next guest! The location is perfect for young kids - there are good grounds to explore, with a well referenced broch five minutes from your door. Thereafter the Camster Cairns for tomb exploring, Archanaras Quarry for fossil hunting and some excellent beaches aren't far. We took a chance on the weather and came away lucky - a week with poor weather and young kids might be difficult.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location - central to explore areas history.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Excellent Caithness Get Away”
Reviewed 24 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We spent a very relaxing several days in mid-September, 2013 at Thrumster House, Thrumster, Caithness, a few miles south of Wick, on the eastern coast of Scotland. Our hostesses, Isla and Catherine MacLeod, were very gracious, even offering to let us use their dryer when the weather was too wet to dry clothes on the line supplied just outside our apartment door. (There is a small washing machine in the kitchen of the apartment.) There were vases of freshly picked sweet peas and lilies on the window sills in every room.

The original house was built in 1790 and, as seems to be the practice in Scotland, added on to as the estate was inherited by sons of sons of the original Lords of the estate. It is set at the end of a long wooded drive. (Please see http://www.caithness.org/atoz/countryhouses/thrumsterhouse/index.htm for more information about the history of the house and the estate.)

The Garden Apartment is on the ground level to the south side of the building and entered through the kitchen. Catherine went out of her way to make it feel cozy. In fact, on the evening we arrived, after giving us a tour of the apartment and its amenities, she walked us into the large, well appointed living room and invited us to make ourselves comfortable in front of the fire she had burning invitingly in the fireplace. There was plenty of both firewood and coal so keeping the fire blazing was no more difficult than just adding fuel. She had thoughtfully also supplied the bed in the master bedroom with an electric mattress warmer, our favorite winter "appliance" back home in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. A second, smaller bedroom and a bathroom with a large inviting tub and a shower round out the floor plan

The kitchen is bright and airy with 2 large windows facing the rear of the building, overlooking beautiful plants, including bush-sized fuchsias and mature trees, as well as four and two-legged residents of the estate, among them rabbits and Reeves Pheasants, a male, whom Catherine told us is "quite full of himself" and 4 or 5 of his current "harem" all of which made daily morning appearances, much to our anticipation and delight.

The grounds feature a walled garden, a gazebo and reflecting pond, perfect for wedding photographs, and plenty of space to wander. The estate is a hunting estate, providing services for hunting and fishing as well as, interestingly, falconry. Since we are not sports-people, we did not have any opportunity to participate in these activities, but I will definitely ask Catherine to put together a photography "hunt" the next time we stay there. (Yes, there will definitely be a next time!)

Another feature of interest to those who want to explore Scotland and its heritage, just a mile south of the Thrumster House main gate, is the 5,000-year-old Stone Age or Neolithic remains of the Yarrow Archeological Trail for brochs, round houses,long cairns and standing stones, all of which can be found within Thrumster Estate. Isla is the resident authority on the history of the house and property as well as the ancient archeological trail and will cheerfully offer to give tours of the broch found about halfway down the main drive on the south side. Since it was raining as we were leaving the estate for the last time and we wanted to see the broch, we had to visit it without Isla, relying instead on the various placards scattered around the site.

Thrumster House Garden Apartment is modern in a setting of both ancient and elegant history. Our decision to stay with Catherine and Isla in September, 2013 was a well researched experiment. Our next stay with Catherine and Isla will be a greatly anticipated "homecoming."

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: beautiful setting
Liked least: inability to easily regulate water temp & pressure, which was a problem most places in Scotland
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rjp24s
Northwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing and characterful”
Reviewed 13 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

A very relaxing place to stay in lovely surroundings. The apartment is spacious and comfortable and the sitting room is particularly pleasing - whatever the weather. We had a very friendly welcome from the owners and would happily visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and space
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CJM1964T
Muthill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing, comfortable and homely stay on peaceful rural estate”
Reviewed 8 September 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Enjoyed a relaxing, comfortable and homely stay in this beautiful setting. Very peaceful. Accomodation clean and practical, with decent size bedrooms with comfortable beds. Large sitting room with open fire, TV and wifi - able to accomodate visiting family. Made to feel very welcome, hosts could not have been more helpful, sourced great organic fresh eggs for our arrival. Stayed as a family of four (two teenagers included) and two dogs - perfect for us. Would stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: relaxing holiday
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$89
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing