We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 Star B & B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Clachan

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Clachan
Ranked #1 of 22 Wick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“5 Star B & B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

We have not stayed in a B & B for some 15 years, how pleased we were when the lovely Elspeth answered the door and showed us to our FAB room. Elspeth provides a great breakfast with the choice of a very good standard hotel. Our host also gives lots of Info on places to vist and eat. The Clachan added to a great trip to Scotland which was cut sort due to a call to return home. We spoke to Elspeth just after 7am to say we have to leave asap,she said she would do me and the wife a cooked breakfast immediately but we had'nt time so Elspeth put together 2 bacon & sausage sandwiches which turned out to be the only food we had for some 30 hours. Thanx Elspeth we will be back to continue our trip around Scotland.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A2D4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
146
11
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rockland, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

Wonderful B&B, immaculate modern rooms & bathrooms, nicely decorated, excellent breakfast. Absolutely 5-stars standard. Parking freely available on the street just outside the house. Our hostess Elspeth couldn't have been more helpful from providing information about restaurants to calling the ferry terminal to make sure that the ferry to Orkney would be sailing despite the weather.
Not a fan of B&Bs generally but the Clachan has changed my opinion. Would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliette1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

The Rooms are decorated to a high standard all ensuite, very clean and modern with good facilities, flatscreen tvs,wireless, and comfy beds, easily as good as any 5 star hotels I've stayed in which you might not expect from a b&b. The breakfast was amazing from fresh fruit to a full cooked breakfast as well as a few traditional dishes. To top it all off the owner elspeth is as nice as anyone you could ever wish to meet, welcoming, attentive, very knowledgable about attractions in the area and a genuinely nice person, don't hesitate in booking the clachan.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grandon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

From the genuinely warm welcome from Elspeth to her parting gift of fudge, this is an outstanding B&B in every way which far exceeded our expectations. Immaculately clean, very good quality matching furniture, beatiful decorated, lovely bathroom and excellent breakfast (with good choice and on this ocassion Elspeth was very happy to make me something that wasn't even on her menu!). This B&B puts many of the chain hotels we have stayed in to shame. And what value for money................. Can't recommend The Clachan highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank darnickfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Tis place is immaculate and elspeth is very warm and friendly. The decor is very nice and everything is so clean and new. And breakfast was also lovely. Thanks

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BluskyCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

Perfect place: warm reception (thank you Elspeth!), beautiful room, very confortable and very nicely decorated, modern elegant bathroom, excellent breakfast. The standards are those of a 5-star hotel at a very reasonable rate. Higly recommended if travelling to the far north of Scotland. Furthermore we had no difficulty in booking just for one night even in the peak of high season (august)
The B&B is close (walking distance) to city center and parking is freely available right in front of the house.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Giambattista-Carlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

We stayed at the Clachan B+B in Wick for an overnight stop and was so impressed with the warm reception we received - the lady who owns and runs this B+B should train some of the sour faced receptions you get at hotels. First impressions count! This B+B has a 4 star rating and it is deserved - lovely room, great breakfast and lovely host - this is scottish hospitality at its very best!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wick
0.5 mi away
Mackays Hotel
Mackays Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.6 mi away
Norseman Hotel
Norseman Hotel
#2 of 4 in Wick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
23.3 mi away
Forss House Hotel
Forss House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Thurso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Breadalbane House Hotel
14.8 mi away
Castle Arms Hotel
Castle Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Thurso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ackergill Tower
Ackergill Tower
#1 of 6 in Wick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clachan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clachan

Property: The Clachan
Address: 13 Randolph Place, Wick KW1 5NJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Wick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Wick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clachan 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm Highland welcome awaits you at "The Clachan” where we have been welcoming guests for nearly three decades and have recently undergone a total refurbishment. Come and discover John o' Groats, Castle of Mey, Dunnet Head or why not visit Wick Heritage Centre. You can enjoy a trip with the Seacoast Tours around the coastline of Caithness or take a trip over to the Orkney Islands, you won’t be disappointed. We are approximately a ten-minute walk from the centre of town where you will find a range of restaurants, pubs and hotels to cater for your meals. We are proud to have achieved 4 Gold Stars with the S.T.B. and 4 Gold Stars with the A..A.. and are a founder member of Scotland’s Best B&B’s. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Clachan Wick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing